We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great location, gardens and pool” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mountain Paradise

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great location, gardens and pool”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

Our room had a magnificent view of the Arenal volcano and was surrounded by lush planting which houses many birds. The room was a little OTT, in my opinion - two huge beds (very comfortable), two showers incoduinga somehwat ludicrous 'rock; shower which did, however give a good shower, and a less successful 'jet shower', and an outdoor jacuzzi which we didn't use.

The pool was good and a large green iguana there kept us entertained, as did the wet bar. The breakfasts were good (buffet style but fresh omelettes to choice etc) - we did not eat in the hotel but took the free shuttle bus to La Fortuna where we dined well twice.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank westminster2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    731
    302
    121
    37
    33
See reviews for
302
649
21
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

Loved this place. The hotel pool is my idea of bliss. It has an amazing view of the volcano, is heated to about 90 degrees, surrounded by tripical plants and has a great swim up bar. Fantastic! But the beautiful outdoor covered restaurant is also fantastic, and has a great volcano view, too. The rooms are all separate villas, with funky tropical decor and a rock shower, which was more fun to use than I thought it would be. And the Arenal area has so much to do that I wish we had stayed more than three nights.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FloridaLinda67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

Thiis was not our first choice but we were very satisfied with this resort. Our junior suite was enormous and we had a great view of the volcano from or back patio. Since it is close to town - breakfast was our only meal at the restaurant. It was very good ( buffet...something for everyone). All in all - a very good value when compared to the pricier neighboring resorts.

Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank NancyFCharlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lenoir City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
310 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

We stayed two nights at the Hotel Mountain Paradise and enoyed our visit very much. After checking in, we were escorted to our "room". Room 202 turned out to be a villa with our own private swimming pool! The villa had a master suite with a king-sized bed, big screen TV and remote controlled lights and air conditioning. The master bathroom was huge with a multi-head walk-in stone shower and a jacuzzi with a rock wall waterfall. It also had another bedroom with it's own bathroom and walk-in shower. There was a small kitchenette with microwave and refrigerator. We had a veranda with rocking chairs and a nice view of the Arenal Volcano. There were beautiful flowers everywhere! There was a nice public pool with a bar which we didn't get to enjoy since we were sightseeing. The restaurant onsite was also very good - great breakfast buffet.

Room Tip: Ask for 202. Although according to everyone else that stayed there, all the other rooms and villas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota USA
Level Contributor
193 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

On a clear day ,which can't be guaranteed, you can have an amazing view of the volcano from you room and from the dining room. The beds looked like they belonged in a rustic lodge and the slats fell out when we sat on one. The bathroom was..... odd. There are two showers - side by side. One is supposed to be a waterfall and the other is a shower with many jets. To me, the bathroom was tacky. The room had a tiny Jacuzzi outside the room. Our did not work. Others traveling with our group had the same complaint. Our jacuzzi had an open view of the sidewalk. It offered no privacy. I believe that all shrubbery was trimmed or taken out to allow a better volcano view. The restaurant had an excellent orange chicken, but the service was extremely slow.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mlovett88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
5.2 km away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
0.6 km away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,630 reviews
0.9 km away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 km away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
2.3 km away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,060 reviews
2.2 km away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#3 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mountain Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mountain Paradise

Property: Hotel Mountain Paradise
Address: La Palma De La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 183-4400, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#19 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price range (per night): $130 - $487
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mountain Paradise 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home away from Home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Mountain Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Paradise Hotel
Hotel Mountain Paradise Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing