We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay but not stellar”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 February 2012

This is a not bad accommodation (bungalow style rooms) and very handy to most attractions.

While it is about 10 miles outside La Fortuna there is a free shuttle in and out of town. NOTE: the last shuttle back to the hotel is at about 5:00pm so if you want to eat at one of the several restaurants in town you will need to take a $7.00 USA taxi back to the hotel.

The one restaurant at the hotel leaves a lot to be desired. Several of the things on the menu are not available and all the great pictures of dishes are of things they do not make. They told us the pictures were there to make the menu look good. NOTE: the pool bar has a separate menu with a few choices that are better than the supper menu (pizza, quesadilla hamburger etc). You may be able to get the waiter to let you order off the pool bar menu.

The included breakfast is good. NOTE: It runs from 7:00am to 9:00am which means at 8:00am they stop replenishing what is offered so by 8:30am you may have little to choose from.

The staff is amazingly helpful and can arrange trips/tours to almost everything including transportation to and from the hotel.

The small pool with the swim up bar is heated to simulate the hot springs in the area. I recommend using it early while it is still clear. The people who sit in it all day at the bar tend not to leave for bathroom breaks.

I suggest that a max of 3 nights would do the La Fortuna area for most travellers. Do not miss the Hot Springs at Tabacon which is first rate and worth spending most of a day ($85 per person per day including lunch or supper and transportation). Also I highly recommend the Sky Tram/ Zip Line combination for amazing views and great fun. This is a very safe professional operation. No worries!

Room Tip: All rooms have a view of the volcano if the sky is clear
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,318)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

687 - 691 of 1,318 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2012

The room is large, the shower fun and interesting. Our room was set way back in the property, and the lighting on the paths leading to the room was poor. The room smelt musty all the time, I suppose it is to be expected when it rains almost every day, and it did while we were there, although beginning of the dry season. Since it was overcast, could not see the top of the Volcano, and although we had planned to take the hiking tour, cancelled it due to the excessive rain that day. Took the hotel tour to the Baldi & dinner. I would not recomment this to anyone, as it is a series of man made baths, packed with people and very commercialized. Not what we expected at all. very disappointing. We were also over charged ( credit card statement reflected an inflated price). .

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lala975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Just got back and the resort was wonderful, beautiful rooms a bit on the dark side, but spacious, well appointed, and the rainfall shower was a highlight, the grounds well maintained. The biggest plus for us was the heated 24/7 pool. Great way to kick back and have a drink at the pool side bar. Very convenient location. Breakfast each morning was excellent and filling. Take advantage of the $5 flat rate plan unlimited calls internationally for the day. The hotel is also situated near town w/ a free shuttle so it makes it easy to grab a meal outside the hotel.
If you need a good guide to arrange for excursions I suggest Goevany Bogarin he can be found at Cafe Viena just on the outskirts going in to La fortuna or his cell 86269348 he was able negotiate amazing deals for us with local outfitters and he is an avid conservationist with a small tract of land in town where he does tours. He was a warm and amazing person.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nyalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

I took my niece to Costa Rica as a high school graduation gift. We enjoyed this hotel more than anywhere else we stayed. The property was beautiful, the staff friendly, and the rooms large and nice. My niece said it was where she wanted to stay on her honeymoon someday. I especially want to compliment the restaurant. The traditional Costa Rican fare was delicious every day. The restaurant manager even gave us complimentary dessert one night and we agreed that it was the best brownie sunday we'd ever had. I would definitely return to this property. My only complaint was that the wireless internet service was so weak that we could only access it in certain spots on the property.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KT142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Rooms in separate buildings covering a few acres, paths lined with flowering plants and colorful palms, this is a breathtaking property. Each building is painted a different color, which sounds garish but truly enhances the ambience and becomes a photographers paradise. Our room was on a hillside with a perfect view of Arenal Volcano and was further enhanced by an indoor jaccusi and outdoor plunge pool. The food was so-so compared to other lodging we had on this trip, but overall okay. Stay away from the vegetable lasagna (!) but in fairness, the restaurant manager graciously comp'd our entire meal when I sent it back to the kitchen uneaten.

Room Tip: I don't think there's a bad location on this property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynettelemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.7 km away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,964 reviews
5.2 km away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,562 reviews
0.5 km away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,862 reviews
2.4 km away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,322 reviews
6.5 km away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#11 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mountain Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mountain Paradise

Address: La Palma De La Fortuna | 7 km del centro de la Fortuna ,carretera al Volcán Arenal , La Palma de la Fortuna, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 183-4400, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#19 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $112 - $428 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mountain Paradise 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home away from Home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Mountain Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Paradise Hotel
Hotel Mountain Paradise Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing