We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Kokoro Arenal
Nearby Hotels
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
USD 187
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel El Silencio del Campo(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
USD 203
USD 195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
USD 234
USD 220
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
USD 378
USD 368
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Magic Mountain(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
USD 172
USD 166
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Mountain Paradise(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
USD 142
USD 136
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
USD 331
USD 290
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Volcano Lodge & Springs(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
USD 435
USD 177
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
USD 441
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nayara Springs(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
USD 848
USD 720
Relais & Châteaux
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (763)
Filter reviews
763 results
Traveller rating
427
221
69
28
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
427
221
69
28
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot springscosta ricareception areagrounds are beautifulbreakfast was deliciousfried plantainsopen airevery morninggreat view of the volcanoreception desknice poolpura vidarooms are largefront porchshort drivetown of la fortunarainy season
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 763 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2018

Beautiful grounds, friendly and accommodating staff, welcoming and comfortable front lobby with interesting imported furniture and even a guitar for the guests’ use, large private individual bungalows with high ceilings and good air conditioning, ideal location, great views, lots of wild life within the property, nice pool, unique areas to discover throughout the gardens, peaceful open-air restaurant, and even a hiking path within the property. My family and I loved coming back to Kokoro at the end of a long day of adventure (all of which were within a short drive) and soak in the hot springs and wonder in the beautifully landscaped and decorated property and watch the wild life.
The only thing they can improve on which I think would drastically increase the value of this amazing property is to keep all the many well-designed hot spring pools spread artfully throughout the property working at least for a few hours a day (like from 4-9p.m.). We were there during the high season and only 1 out of 7 pools was functional and it wasn’t always hot. I realize it’s expensive to do this but it’s the only thing that would make this property perfect and it would attract many more customer. They already have the pools; just have to make sure they are operational!

Room Tip: Ask about the trail within the property
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Hydrokarbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YLPeggy, General Manager at Hotel Kokoro Arenal, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your kinds words and for the time you took to share with us. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Also, we wanted to thank you for your comments about the hot spring. The new machince for our 3 hot spring pool will be reinstalled soon. Therefore, we already closed all the hot springs service since abril for maintenance reason.

Hope the new installation and reconstruction can bring more fun and leisure time for all our huspedes again.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2018 via mobile

Hotel Kokoro is in an ideal location, outside of La Fortuna and on the edge of rainforest. Peggy and the staff are lovely, and very welcoming.

Wildlife: a lot of people come to Costa Rica to see it. At Kokoro, we woke up on the first day to the howler monkeys before going outside and seeing them in a tree! Sometimes you can see sloths and toucans(but we didn't), and leaf cutter ants will cross your path. There were so many birds right outside!

The hotel is great, and my child loved the pool and Hot springs. Great handy location, easy drive to the many attractions of Arenal, Peggy gave us great tips on best places to go.

Highly recommend Kokoro.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank FarmerParma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YLPeggy, General Manager at Hotel Kokoro Arenal, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your opinions, it is a great motivation for our staffs. Welcome back to our hotel any time.

Blessings,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018

I couldn’t wait to get to Kokoro as the reviews of the place and owner were excellent. But....not so much. Word of advise if you book here go for the least expensive room. We went with 2 superior bungalows which were suppose to have 2 queen beds. There was one and a hard, very hard, twin bed in both bungalows. When I spoke to the owner she said she would check my reservation and credit me if it was due. Yes, $10 per bungalow for 2 nights. Really?? We paid almost $800 at the end of March. Granted it was Holy Week but I believe it was rip-off week. Many bungalows were unoccupied and they all seemed to be about the same.
The hot springs didn’t exist. The young man at the desk told me in lieu of they’d pay for us to go to Eco Termales. We walked over to find empty tub-like areas dry as a bone with lots of leaves in them. So when I asked the next day about going to Eco Termales they said they got it working. I walked up the next morning it was not on, nor even luke warm and only one filled with water. So is asked again and she said it’s only turned on for 4 hours at night. So much for “natural” hot springs.
We, 6 of us, were up at 2:30am to catch flights from the east coast then drive 3 hours to Arenal and not only no hot springs, very bad bed but when we went to the “restaurant” it was going to be delayed another hour because the owner decided to do a buffet rather than order from a menu. At that point I was exhausted and not even hungry to wait.
Three positive points, there’s a nice easy trail to take on the property, nice well maintained grounds and tons of leaf cutter ants everywhere. They were interesting to watch, as they’re blind, and don’t come into the cabins so they weren’t a bother. The view of Arenal was great also and a big selling point, but then again you can see it from everywhere you go in the area.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank MaryAliceS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

This place is amazing, so warm and inviting. We were welcomed and introduced to our room w all the amenities explained. The pool and the surrounding area is so tranquil and inviting. We had a lovely dinner, buffet style for our group in the back dining area. The atmosphere is tranquil with a tropical theme. A theme that says relax leave your cares behind.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Chila O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YLPeggy, General Manager at Hotel Kokoro Arenal, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your opinions and great to hear your enjoyed the stayed in our hotel especial in the restaurante. . Welcome back to our hotel any time.

Blessings,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Hotel is Kokoro is the type of hotel that I would come back to over and over again.
Not only is the setting gorgeous, with several cabins overlooking the Arenal Volcano and an amazing garden filled with tropical birds and flowers - but the staff is super friendly.
The restaurant/breakfast area is beautifully located in an open-air pavilion and the rooms are spread out throughout the gardens. You definitely feel like you are in a tropical paradise. A separate open air yoga pavilion and on ground mineral baths ( in the afternoon) make you want to spend more time in the gardens.
The fact that the Hotel isn’t very large adds to the cozy and personal experience.
Having a car or other transportation possibilities is a must, but it is well worth the 10 minute drive from La Fortuna to escape to this lush beautiful place.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Marcelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews