We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,058)
Filter reviews
2,058 results
Traveller rating
1,683
319
45
6
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,683
319
45
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free facial hot springs small farm costa rica milk the cows collect eggs individual cabins grounds are beautiful fresh fruit arenal area hot pools the cottages front porch every morning spring pools zip lining regular pool
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 2,058 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2018 via mobile

Our family-grandparents, parents, 2 year old and 12 year old boys, stayed at El Silencio for two full days in the latter part of July. Despite daily rains, which we were expecting, we were able to do every activity that we had planned. And when there were real downpours, we all retreated to the beautiful warm spring pools at El Silencio, where we sipped on fruity drinks and watched an iguana solemnly patrol. There is a small petting farm with a sweet donkey and a spa which we didn’t have time to take advantage of. Food was excellent and rooms were very comfortable. There is reliable and easy access to La Fortuna, but the hotel is ,thankfully ,located well outside the busy adventure tourist area.

Stayed: July 2018
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuisDiego Z, Propietario at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Dear Chris

Thank you for your review! Its awesome to hear the entire family enjoyed the stay, we try to offer services that all ages can enjoy!
Sorry that the wheater wasn´t as great but luckily the hot springs feel even better when it´s raining! We hope you all come visit sometime soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2018 via mobile

I’ll start off by saying that out of the three places I stayed in Costa Rica, this hotel was by far the best. The grounds are absolutely stunning and covered with beautiful plants, landscaping, and wild life. The hot springs were the best part, and were so clean, relaxing, and gorgeous. They also have a cute little farm with some animals you can visit. The staff was so friendly during our stay, and they even gave us a complimentary facial at the spa. Breakfast every morning was absolutely delicious, best juevos rancheros I’ve ever eaten and the sweetest pineapple in all of Costa Rica. Bar drinks were delicious and the bar tenders were so nice. The chicken fajitas were the best I’ve ever eaten. The dining room dinner was delicious as well. The rooms were very spacious and had great storage. No problems with AC, hot water, or anything. Rooms come with a nice safe too which is a plus. Theres also this lotion in the rooms that is a natural bug repellent. This is the best bug repellent I’ve ever used, and even a bigger plus because since it’s lotion, your skin doesn’t feel gross while wearing it. So nice of the hotel to provide guests with this in the rooms! There’s truly nothing bad to say about this place, I could not have had a more perfect stay!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Cayley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuisDiego Z, Propietario at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Dear Cayley

You are very kind! Thank you for your lovely words about our hotel! We are so happy that you had a great time during your visit.
It´s great to hear you loved the restaurant, we will make sure to let the restaurant staff know that! It´s amazing to hear someone appreciate the little details that our hotel has to offer! Come visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2018

We stayed at Silencio del Campo for several nights in June. Each family has their own cozy cabin with a nice front porch to relax on. We thoroughly enjoyed the hot springs on site, soaking in them at least once each day of our stay. It was a fun game to try and spy all of the iguanas hanging out in the trees above us as we soaked. The food in the restaurant was tasty, especially the breakfasts. The grounds were absolutely beautiful with many amazing plants and very serene, never feeling overcrowded. There is a little farm on the grounds as well and our teen daughters enjoyed milking the cows and seeing all of the baby animals. Near the end of our stay, the front desk helped us call our next two hotels to make a change in our reservations. It was a huge help that we much appreciated. We will definitely stay at Silencio del Campo if we return to Costa Rica some day.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Povtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuisDiego Z, Propietario at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Dear guest

It´s great to know your stay with us was such a succes, we love to hear that our guest appreciate the services we provide, such as the hot spings and well kept gardens, our staff works hard to mantain them looking beautiful, it´s also great to hear that your daughters enjoyed the farm, we made it with kids in mind. Thank you for your lovely review! See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2018 via mobile

We were greeted with a cool drink and the girls were treated to a certificate for a free facial upon checkin. Our suitcases were delivered to our cabana and we found the accommodations to be spacious and delightful. Large bedroom, spacious bathroom and a front porch with a table and chairs where you can eat or just relax. The grounds are immaculately groomed with tons of flowers, trees and birds. The girls made a spa appointment and enjoyed their facials. Afterward we changed into our swimsuits and had dinner by the hot springs. The food and drinks were great and the bar staff brought everything to us in our private pool. Breakfast each morning was included and was delicious. This is a fantastic place to stay. We highly recommend a visit to Silencio del Campo. You will enjoy your stay.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank DHT22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuisDiego Z, Propietario at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Dear guest!

Thank you so much for that amazing review, we appreciate it very much. We are so glad to know that our accommodations were up to your expectations and that you and your family were able to enjoy everything our hotel has to offer, the spa and hot spings are always a hit with our costumers. Come back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2018 via mobile

My family and I stayed at Hotel Silencio del Campo for 4 nights. The staff was so friendly and willing to help with any question or issue which was a great comfort for a family who had never been to Costa Rica. The villas are very roomy, the grounds are covered with gorgeous flowers, plants, trees, with beautiful birds all over the grounds. Stunning view of the Arena volcano when the clouds clear. Food and service at the restaurant was great. Start off with a nice breakfast at the restaurant and then relax in the hot springs after a day of exploration.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Bill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuisDiego Z, Propietario at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2018

Dear Bill.

We are honored to receive such a good review and lovely comment! It always brings us joy to hear that our staff is doing a great job, it is a daily mission for us to give our guest the best experience in La Fortuna! We are very happy that you enjoyed the beauty of the nature surrounding our hotel! Thank you for staying with us, we hope you come back sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews