We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (386)
Filter reviews
386 results
Traveller rating
192
162
23
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
192
162
23
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews frog garden small pool la fortuna g adventures tour breakfast is served balcony overlooking poison dart resident sloth town centre ground floor costa rica hour walk basic hotel stayed nights here patio doors air con laundry service
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 386 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2017

The staff here was so hospitable and helpful. Our room was basic but comfortable and clean. We had a view of the volcano through our 1st floor glass front door so that was a major plus! The pool was perfect for what we needed...a place to cool off after a long day (it is not too big). Breakfast was nice...great patio to enjoy the view. And price was right. Overall, loved our stay here!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Darrell D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

We stayed at this beautiful hotel in August, and thoroughly enjoyed our time there. The rooms were attractive but small with excellent AC, TV, comfortable beds. What was the most outstanding were the beautiful grounds, with exotic flowers and plants, and riverside walk. My husband and I have been to Costa Rica 8 times, but have never seen the famous poison dart frogs, despite visiting various areas of CR. Within 2 days we had all (6 of us) seen the red and blue frogs, and on our last day, the green and black frog. Breakfast was served next door, eggs with rice and beans and small peices of waffle with instructions to only take 2 pieces - this was our only complaint - it felt like we weren't allowed what we would like, and closely watched. The pool was small but clean, and much enjoyed by our 13 and 14 year old granddaughters. Restaraunts and shops were a close walk as well as nearby attractions, such as La Fortuna waterfall. Overall we were very pleased there and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Valerie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017 via mobile

What a beautiful place! Our room was large, with lovely views on to gardens via doors on to a porch/outdoor area. Small fridge and coffee making facilities in room. There's a smallish pool on site, and a new restaurant. There's also a lovely jungle area by a stream down the back. Easy walk in to town. Very friendly and helpful staff.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Samantha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2017

We stayed at the Hotel Monte Real for 4 nights whilst in Arenal. Overall the rooms are pretty decent – they are spacious and clean, have a working TV, wifi, fridge and aircon. Unfortunately it rained a lot whilst we were there so didn’t make use of the outdoor pool, but it looked clean and maintained. The grounds are spotless – the groundskeeper was the staff member we saw the most!
The only downside to our stay was the hairdryer not working and our shower handle being broken – we asked for these to be fixed but didn’t see any result other than the staff unplugging the hairdryer.
I’m not sure what the difference is between the standard and the upgraded rooms – to be honest I’m not sure they are worth the extra, they all seemed the same!
A decent place to stay though, and very close to the town centre to walk in and explore.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2017

If you want to stay in the town centre, this is a great choice. We stayed with our 2 children and they loved the swimming pool and the frog garden. Easy to get to the bus station and all the cafes in town. The staff were all extremely pleasant and helpful, and the breakfast (served in a café close by) was fantastic. Thanks very much.

Room Tip: superior rooms have good views of the volcano
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews