We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Neat experience, hated the bathroom” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arenal Springs Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Neat experience, hated the bathroom”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

We stayed here for two nights and liked it for the most part. Awesome view of the volcano, and great hot springs pool with a bar. I just didn't care for the bathroom, as there was no air-conditioning, the hot water in the shower lasted only about a minute (and that's being generous), and it had a sort of opening at the top of the shower which allowed for bugs to get in there. We had a lot of ants and a gecko sharing ours. Ew.

Room Tip: Get a room close to the restaurant/pool if you don't want to have to walk. Some rooms are pretty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea_says
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
hello friends, I'm sorry for not having served as you would expect and I hope someday give us another chance, to give the best service possible.
my apology and God bless
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,399
    699
    131
    24
    11
See reviews for
705
1,047
38
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (527)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bretagne
Level Contributor
559 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

The hot springs are beautiful in a very nice setting looking at the volcano and in wonderful gardens. To bad staff is not more helpful. This could be a five star experience but falls short of expectations as lighting very bad and staff not very helpful.
The buffet dinner is awful

Room Tip: Did not stay at hotel but went to the hot springs and for dinner
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristineBindert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
hello friends, I'm sorry for not having served as you would expect and I hope someday give us another chance, to give the best service possible.
my apology and God bless
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

There are many places to choose from in this area, and initally choosing one out of the many seemed difficult and slightly daunting. However, I was very pleased that we decided ultimately to stay at this resort! The rooms were splendid, and very clean, with amazing views of the volcano from our personal front porch. The hot springs proved to be very relaxing and never over populated. There are multiple locations around the hot springs to relax and get sun, so never once did I feel as though we were encroached upon by the other guests; in fact, at times we felt as though we were in a very excluive, private resort. Our tour guide for our horse back riding trip was not only very knowlegdable but went above and beyond to make sure we enjoyed our adventure while with him. We spent a good deal of time with Manuel who was the main bartender. Not only did he make a perfect cocktail, he also kept us laughing with jokes and taught us many pieces of information about the area that only a local could know. I felt much more informed about the volcano, the area, and its' history after just one conversation with him. He was truly a wonderful addition to our already amazing experience in Arenal, and a gem to have at Arenal Springs Resort! If I could say anything negative, it would be that the volcano tour is a paid excurision that we could have done on our own for 1/2 the price. Our tour guide was more involved with orchids than any other plant, or the volcano itself. Next time we will take the nature walk and the horse back riding tour again instead of the volcano tour. But, if you are looking for a place with beautiful grounds, fantastic hot springs, and the best staff I have ever encountered I would certainly choose to come here! Enjoy your trip and Pura Vida!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Asmith298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
thanks dear friend, for us to see your comments is very rewarding, because you took your valuable time to remind us, and we can see that you had a good time with us, we'll always be waiting for you with our open arms and we will serve as your he deserve, we want to always improve ourselves so your comments about us help us be better every day.
hope to see you back soon, thanks and God bless you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

This is our second time in Arenal and we chose to stay here because from our previous experience, almost every hotel has a "volcano view". We stayed closer to the entrance of the volcano park last time and it really wasn't worth it as the road was 9kms of gravel and bumps. At Arenal Springs, it's right in the middle of La Fortuna town and the entrance to the Volcano. You have an amazing view from every single room.
Many tourists also visit the highly marketed hot springs like Tabicon or Baldi. I'm sure everyone needs to experience these places at least once but if you're looking for quiet, peaceful, less crowded time relaxing in natural hot springs, I'd recommend staying here rather than paying extra to go elsewhere.

They have 2 natural pools including a regular swimming pool. The grounds are immaculate, the service is great, the breakfast had variety - made to order omelettes, fresh tortillas, hashbrowns, banana bread, fruit, sausauges etc.

The rooms are mini bungalows with your own rocking chairs outfront. It's a mix of modern conveniences (hot showers, AC, mini fridge with free coke, water, beers) and natural charm.

Room Tip: The higher the # the farther your room is from the restaurant and reception area though the walk is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gizmoVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 18 February 2012
My friend, thank you very much for your lovely comments always help us to continue working in the best way possible, our ultimate dream is that 100% of our guests always feel at home, and thanks to your comments we can see that things are doing well and things are going wrong, for us to have been a pleasure having you as guests, and our embers are always open waiting for you to return.
thank you very much again and God bless you always
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubuque, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

My fiance and I spent two days here as part of our honeymoon. It was the nicest place we stayed in CR. We had a clear view of the volcano both days in the morning and sometimes afternoon. Beautiful place. Friendly staff. The grounds are well cared for. The food was very good. When we arrived in our cabin we thought we had a visitor in our bathroom but soon realized that it was just that there is a space where the shower is open to the outside and birds would come up and perch and it sounded like they were in our room =). As others have commented: the pool area is great: you can choose from several hot springs fed pools or a regular "cold" pool to swim in. The largest hot springs pool has a wet bar. One suggestion: as with many touristy areas in CR: bring as much as you can with you ... IE alcohol/sunscreen/food etc. I got hungry for a snack one night: they had those little snack cans of pringles for like $4 ... not cheap. Also my fiance wanted to buy a memory card for our camera ... 1 Gig was like $40. The 8Gig ones on Amazon sell for like $10.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Takilla27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 18 February 2012
My friend, thank you very much for your lovely comments always help us to continue working in the best way possible, our ultimate dream is that 100% of our guests always feel at home, and thanks to your comments we can see that things are doing well and things are going wrong, for us to have been a pleasure having you as guests, and our embers are always open waiting for you to return.
thank you very much again and God bless you always
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
0.8 km away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,692 reviews
2.0 km away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 65 in Arenal Volcano National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,268 reviews
0.5 km away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,120 reviews
1.9 km away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,781 reviews
0.6 km away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Springs Resort and Spa

Property: Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Address: 5 Miles West of Catholic Church of la Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#7 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#12 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price range (per night): $180 - $881
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Springs Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Arenal Springs is located just 5 miles away from la Fortuna town toward the Arenal Volcano or National Park. We are located between La Fortuna town and the Arenal Lake.The Hotel count with 87 Junior Suites and 3 Master Suites King and 3 Master Suites Queen with direct view to the Arenal Volcano. Each room are surrounding with exotic gardens, beautiful flowers and many species of birds. These rooms offer either a king size bed or two double beds. Also we provide rooms with handicap access and adjoining rooms for families who want stay together.Our hotel offers you 2 swimming pools and a Thermal river.Hotel Arenal Springs Resort offers on each Junior Suite the best amenities for your comfort. King Bed or Two queen beds, Hair dryer, Cable TV, Mini bar, Free Wi-Fi Internet access, Air Conditioning, Ceiling fan, Laundry Bag, Telephone, Safe deposit box, Coffee Maker free coffee and tea), Bath amenities, Private bath with tropical garden, hot water, Private terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Arenal Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Springs Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Hotel Arenal Springs
Arenal Springs Resort And Spa Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing