We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (433)
Filter reviews
433 results
Traveller rating
170
193
50
13
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
170
193
50
13
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot tub costa rica pool area standard room beautiful view souvenir shop busy road hotel is located enjoyed our stay yogurt stayed nights hotel staff the hotel offers buffet breakfast every morning horseback riding hanging bridges
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 433 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2018 via mobile

There are some good things about this hotel, but much work is needed to improve it. There is an excellent view of the volcano from the pleasant terraces of many rooms. The reception staff is efficient and helpful. The smallish pool is adequate , and the bathroom and shower is good. The room has TV, a fridge, a safe and a coffee machine with coffee supplied.
But - the only clothes hanging space is in the bathroom (!), and there is no cupboard or chest of drawers so nowhere else to put one's clothes apart from leaving them in the suitcase they were brought in. The quality of food for dinner, judging by our one experience, was neither good nor very fresh , and although eggs could be cooked to order for breakfast the rest of the meal was not of a very good standard. Worst of all, the entire open-sided restaurant/bar area, which dominates the centre of the property and merges with the pool area, gave off, during the 4 days we were there a very strong and nauseating smell of insecticide / air freshener / stale cooking oil (???) which took away any appetite one might have had. The waiting staff, while seemingly numerous, didn't serve us quickly. An enormous souvenir shop dominates the frontage of the hotel, which is a good 30 minutes' walk from the village centre along a busy road

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank damaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2018

We stayed at this place from 12/13/2017 thru 12/16/2017 and really enjoyed the stay. Hotel staff members are nice and very friendly. We requested for a free upgrade and more scenic view of our cottage and they gave us very good room. Housekeeping staff really decorated our room and that was a real surprise. This place has a small swimming pool and a hot tub. Really enjoyed the roosters waking us up before the alarm. There are lots of hummingbirds to watch. Landscape is very good. A walk to the Arenal town is about 1.5 KM ( 15-20 minutes) and you will get to see the leaf cutting ants busy with their jobs on the side walk. Hotel staff helped us for a horseback riding/La Fortuna waterfall trip and that was really a good experience.

I will recommend this place to everyone.

Room tip: Ask for a view to mountain
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ajay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2018

This was a stepping off point for us on a journey all around Costa Rica. The hotel is located below the Arenal volcano in a lush area. Accommodations were very pleasant, neat and clean cabinas surrounded by lovely gardens and all the associated birds and fauna. The beds were typical of Costa Rica: one notch below concrete. They were by no means any worse than any others we encountered in numerous locations, just be on a first name basis with your chiropractor.

The facilities were nice with a large buffet style dining room with a very nice breakfast included. Dinner was likewise quite good, although we tendered to eat in town when we were there.

There is a vey nice swimming pool on site, as well as a hot tub.

Massive souvenir shop on premises with the bog standard selection of trinkets, carvings and t shirts found in any one of many located all over the country.

We had our own vehicle so I cannot comment on getting to local attractions, but there is nothing within walking distance so keep that in mind. The resort is close to the hanging bridges (my favourite Costa Rican spot) with is a 2 mile hike through amazing forests, and dotted with very high suspension bridges. Not for the completely unfit or infirm. The Tabicon hot springs are also fairly close by. All in all I thoroughly enjoyed the two days we were there.

Staff were very nice, and the price was phenomenally good! We stopped in without booking ahead and in spite of all the travel websites saying there was no room left, we got two rooms no problem (a theme to be repeated often... raising many doubts about using travel websites versus contacting hotels directly)

Room tip: No bad rooms
Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank loakinbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2018 via mobile

We got one of the mountain view rooms. Room was just okay. No place to put cloths. We lived out of our suitcases until I brought all the patio furniture in and set cloths on that. There was plenty of room in the room for a shelf or something?!?! Bed was not the best. Room was dusty. Had a great trip to Arenal anyway.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Marc M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2018

I stayed at LaPradera in January 2018. What a great experience. Great view of Arenal Volcano right across the road. LaFortuna is only 2km away. Tour operators picked me up here for each tour . Excellent restaurant,and bar with very good food. My room was excellent. The hot tube and pool was good . All of the staff was very polite, friendly and helpful. I want to say a special thanks to Jonathan, for taking the time to help me with infomation about the area. Thanks Jonathan for making my stay so special.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Terry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews