We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly Adequate”
Review of Arenal Volcano Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arenal Volcano Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2010

Straightforward functional place, pleasant and spacious grounds with own restaurant. Obviously a tourist hotel but okay. Nothing spectacular about it, but then nothing bad either.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PPET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (916)
There are newer reviews for Arenal Volcano Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

527 - 531 of 916 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2010

I stayed here for two nights and everyone was super friendly. We actually got deep tissue massages at the garden spa for 50% off and it was a very good value. The rooms were clean and basic but that was really all we needed. We were fortunate to have the pool and hot tub all to ourselves when we arrived and we saw the volcano very clearly. Overall a spectacular experience. However, if you dont have a car, you are a bit far from downtown and cabs can be pricey for the short distance. So I decided to stay our first night downtown where we experience the restaurants and karaoke before coming to the more secluded Arenal Volcano Inn. We are quite close to the hotsprings so that was nice.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alau824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2010

We really enjoyed this hotel. It was beautifully landscaped and well maintained and ther perfect blend of resort feel in our limited price range but not over the top. The hotel rooms were modest in decor but spacious and clean, though the tv didn't work very well.
It felt very private on the grounds and even in the pool area since there were lush tropical plants every where. The pool was small but clean and warm and I love the gradual slope that let you just wade in. We tried the hot tub but it wasn't very warm and it smelled so we stuck with the pool. The restaurant was very nice and had a good selection with typical local food and Italian choices and at the end of the meal they brought us little shots of Golden Cream (Cafe Rica, coffee liquor mixture) which we fell in love with. There was wifi but it didn't always work in the room, but there were computers available in the lobby. The hotel was driving distance away from the down town, but we had a car and it was only a few minuted drive. Seeing the other hotels in the area we were very happy with the one we chose because of location and setting. The staff was very nice, even helping us open a store bought bottle of wine when we didn't have a cork screw. There is a little nature trail that loops through the back of the cabins and while there we saw a few creatures; large green lizzard, racoon family, beautiful yellow birds. Overall it was a great place to stay for the price and I would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maemoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2010

The staff of the Inn bent over backwards to make our visit one of my favorite experiences. I recomend this Inn because it is central to most of the attractions. Get up early to see the unforgetable views.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GSBlair66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Arenal for a few nights in December of 2009. We found the location to be amazing, with a view of the Volcano and situated on the edge of the forest it was very peaceful and beautiful. The staff was helpful giving us advice and assistance when needed. They had a nice little pool as well as a decent breakfast. I think this is a great option for couples to relax and a great base for checking out the forest and volcano.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikewiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.4 km away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,929 reviews
4.3 km away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,528 reviews
0.9 km away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#11 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,344 reviews
1.4 km away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,882 reviews
1.2 km away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Volcano Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Volcano Inn

Address: 6.5 KM North West of The catholic church of La Fortuna, San Carlos. | 6.5 km NW of the Catholic church, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#14 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $99 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arenal Volcano Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Volcano Inn is a 25 room hotel surrounded by exotic gardens that can be admired from the tranquility of your room or by taking a small walk on its natural gardens and trails. Every guest may enjoy the view of the Arenal Volcano from its own terrace. Come visit us and make Arenal Volcano Inn your home while vacationing in Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Arenal Volcano Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Volcano Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Hotel Arenal Volcano
Arenal Volcano Inn Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing