We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

This is a lovely hotel. The rooms are clean,the service is excellent and the food very good. At $100 per night it was great value. Each room has a volcano view and the garden is magnificant.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,744 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,582
    950
    165
    34
    13
See reviews for
703
1,367
68
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (468)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights. This was a great hotel - clean rooms, awesome service, nice gardens (with tons of birds!), very helpful people at the front desk. I would definitely recommend this place to friends.

Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank anthony b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

My wife and I stayed 3 nights at this lodge, and it was excellent. The grounds are beautiful, the people are helpful and friendly, and the drinks were delicious :) nice pool, with swim up bar, and a great jacuzzi for the evenings. The location was perfect, righ in the middle of all the Arenal activities, and only 10 minutes from La Fortuna.
We had prebooked a couples massage, which was great. However a tip, if you are ok with risking availability, booking at check in will get you a discount. We also booked a horseback ride to the waterfall through the front desk (planned to go with Alberto's which was recommended on tripadvisor, but could not get ahold of them). The group the hotel recommended was excellent. Good mix of slow riding, along with freedom to gallop across the fields if wanted. Much better than the usual restrictive rides. Horses were in good shape as well.
Overall this was an excellent property, with the best value for dollar we found. We were woken up each morning by a donkey on a neighboring property, but it was quite neat and meant no alarm was needed!

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent, but some have a clear volcano view. Ask, and they will do their best to acc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadianFerret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

We stayed at the Volcano Lodge and Gardens for 4 nights. We arrived in the dark and almost missed the location! But we are very happy we found it, as it was a good place to be located. It's just west of LaFortuna which is a busy Costa Rican village. The Volcano Lodge is in a peaceful garden setting with wonderful flowers, trees, birds and butterflies. Maid service was great, food was good (we had breakfast every day and paid for 2 dinners,) and the view from our patio was spectacular as it looked directly on the volcano. Our only complaint had to do with noise. First, it's right on the main road and there was some road noise, but that died down to almost nothing at night. But more troublesome was the noise that came from other rooms. We were in a small building with 3 rooms connected end to end, and we were kept up 2 nights with noise from neighbors. The first group was noisy only when they came in, but we could hear everything they said. The second group was 2 rooms away but they were up all night, playing cards, we think. The noise carried terribly. We called the desk, but they didn't speak English so we were unable to get our message across.

But other than this, the place is very nice. I would stay there again, but ask for a room in the back of the property.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room as far from the main road as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

I visited this hotel December of 2011 with my girlfriend. I wanted to come to Costa Rica for about a year and we finally made the trip, and I was not disappointed with this hotel.

First, the grounds of the hotel are magnificent. Its almost like the hotel is inside of its own little rainforest. The whole atmosphere was just wonderful.

The rooms themselves are pretty good. Not the best rooms I've stayed in (compared to a luxury hotel), but they are decorated very nicely and are very clean. What sets the rooms a part are the back porch, which at least in our room, had a direct view of the volcano.

The hotel provides free breakfast daily. Decent food but nothing special. But, its free.

Last, for the price of this hotel, I think you will be hard pressed to find something better. I just can not believe I found such a wonderful hotel at this price point. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Fantastic place and great customer service.

One thing I would highly recommend if you are coming to Arenal, rent a car...everything is so spaced out.

Room Tip: Room in the 200s
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dshu007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
1.2 km away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,765 reviews
1.8 km away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,179 reviews
4.7 km away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,304 reviews
1.8 km away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,799 reviews
0.5 km away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcano Lodge & Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Lodge & Springs

Property: Volcano Lodge & Springs
Address: La Fortuna de San Carlos-Arenal Lake road | 7 Km West from Downtown, Road To Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly Volcano Lodge & Gardens)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#12 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#13 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price range (per night): $165 - $403
Hotel Class:4 star — Volcano Lodge & Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At VOLCANO LODGE AND SPRINGS, located in La Palma, La Fortuna de San Carlos, at the foot of the majestic Arenal Volcano, our hot springs and lush tropical garden gives you joy and relaxation to our guests and companions. Undoubtedly, our location allows you to witness the imposing Arenal Volcano from a vantage point. QUALITY SERVICE: Knowing that service is the main reason of hospitality, the Volcano Lodge & Gardens’ team, will do our best to make your stay a very fond memory to take home. FACILITIES: All our 66 rooms are Superior and non smoking, have deluxe finishes, 2 comfortable full size beds or 1 king size bed, TV/cable, telephone, air-conditioned, coffee maker, hot water shower, hairdryer and a nice terrace facing the Volcano. We also offer 4 rooms for handicap. RESTAURANT:Sura Restaurant, capacity: 120 people, we’ll be offering you our traditional local and international food, while you enjoy the majestic view of the volcano, birds surrounded nature. You can ask for room service too. OTHER FACILITIES: *Two swimming pools for adults, two swimming pools for children and two Jacuzzis, all of them with view to the Volcano.*Laundry service, Private parking, Internet Access / Wireless Free, Tours information, nature trail, Playground.* Massages Service from 9 am to 9 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au and HotelQuickly so you can book your Volcano Lodge & Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volcano Lodge And Gardens
Volcano Lodge & Gardens Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Volcano Hotel
Volcano Lodge & Springs Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing