We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A night in August”
Review of Hotel La Fortuna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel La Fortuna
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

Nice small hotel for one night in Arenal area. We had a volcano view room. Great view but it is a bit noisy because of the proximity of the street. The offer great price for Baldi Hot Spring and Spa at the front desk.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank tommy202020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (523)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 523 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2017

I booked this hotel after a last minute decision to go to La Fortuna without knowing much about the town. The staff was really great explaining all the different tours they offer and what one would fit best with your interested.

They also advised on places locals hang out rather than tourist spots. All the staff was very helpful and attentive, but Manrique went above and beyond every time.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to La Fortuna. Rooms were clean and had AC and hot water! I also paid extra for the volcano room. 100% worth it. When the clouds move, the view is stunning.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KJOYL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017

This hotel is located in La Fortuna city center, so it's very easy to find nice restaurants and bars close by. The staff is friendly and helpful.

The rooms and bathrooms are of a good size. The breakfast served is basic but good.

My only issues with this hotel are the uncomfortable beds (they need new mattresses and pillows), as well as, the noise level. Since this is an atrium / courtyard type building, all noise from the reception and bar travels up to the rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank alo6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017 via mobile

Some hotels greet you with a smile and a welcome drink - this one gave us a briefing as if we were a school group (we were a party of 5, 2 of us are over 60!). We had to wear coloured armbands all the time we were staying there, though not sure anyone even looked up when we came in. Room was clean with wifi, good air conditioning and a great shower.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank Heather G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017

Clean, comfy and quiet. My room was up 4 flights of stairs but there's an elevator. A/C and wifi in the rooms. Just a standard hotel really. Good location in town. Cheap laundromat across the street. Stayed here 2 nights while on a tour.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.3 km away
San Bosco Inn
San Bosco Inn
#16 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
651 reviews
3.1 km away
Hotel Jardines Arenal
Hotel Jardines Arenal
#37 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
160 reviews
0.5 km away
Regina Hotel
Regina Hotel
#30 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Hotel Arenal Rossi
Hotel Arenal Rossi
#40 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
117 reviews
2.0 km away
Hotel Vista del Cerro
Hotel Vista del Cerro
#35 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
244 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Monte Real
Hotel Monte Real
#22 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Fortuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Fortuna

Address: 1 block south and 1 block east from La Fortuna Park, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 59 Hotels in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $54 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Fortuna 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A uniquely designed building and an excellent location, make our hotel stands out in La Fortuna downtown. We have a central area extending up all five floors, with interior balconies looking down to the lobby, creating a sense of openness and freshness. Our lobby area provides computers with free Internet and wireless. Ample and comfortable seating is perfect to relax while you enjoy our well-stocked English books exchange.Just a couple of blocks away, you can find supermarkets, drugstores, restaurants, bars, souvenir shops and everything you need for having a good vacation.And if you are looking for more relaxation or adventure, we offer you a tourist information desk inside the hotel with convenient prices for the guests. Parking lot is free and exclusive for our visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel La Fortuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Fortuna Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing