We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute, Clean and in the Jungle”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cerro Chato Eco Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
burnsville, nc
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cute, Clean and in the Jungle”
Reviewed 25 February 2012

After driving about a half mile bumpy rocky road, you come to Cerro Chato eco lodge among the other little eco lodges. Cute little bungalows are scattered among the plant lined paths. A small pool is very refreshing and attractive. The owner is very helpful with information and directions. It was a great way to spend our first night in CR. We thought we heard mice in our rooom, but, surprise to us, it was the geckos! Same sound as mice, but no holes in the snack bag! We ate at the small soda on the highway near the entrance road - very good. And shopped at the wood carving shop across the street - amazing carvings and lots of crafts from the area. We purchase most of our gifts for home there. Next morning, just down the road is the waterfall. And just down 480 steps is the most beautiful waterfall you will ever swim in! After that, a dip in the Los Laureles Eco Termales hot spring pools ($8 pp) was in order. Very relaxing, not overpriced and met some very nice native CR's in the pools.

Room Tip: All are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    69
    24
    8
    8
See reviews for
23
129
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Very nice stay, clean lodges. Miguel and Carmen are very friendly and willing to help. Breakfast is typical Costarican and nice. Place is quiet and has a good view on the volcano.
If you are lucky, Miguel will push the button for you and make the volcano explode ;-)

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimVerw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
little pine lake minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

I have stayed at Cerro Chato with Miguel and Carmen for the past 6 annual trips to La Fortuna. I keep returning because of the service, cleaniless, Carmens Concina and the super service offered by Miguel in arranging everything from trekking,wildlife trips , hot springs and my favorite white water rafting. They make me feel that Cerro Chato Lodge is my home away from home. Try them out you won"t be disappointed. Mr.Marko

Room Tip: Each room is its own hut and there are a couple of attached huts for bigger groups or families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrmarko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uetikon am See, Switzerland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

The lodge is situated a little bit outside of the city. The bungalows are functional and clean and the hosts are very friendly and had given great insider tips. In the morning they served a typical costa rican breakfast which was very good. The only disappointing point was that the volcano was not active anymore and we have never read about this but there are great hot springs and many thing more to explore.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andi und Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canmore, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2012

My family and I stayed at the Cerro Chato for 2 fantastic nights. The rooms were clean and had everything we needed. The grounds are beautiful with little hedges to guide you, and beautiful and unique trees. Miguel, the owner was so helpful in booking excursions and so down to earth. I really appreciated his perspective on "pura vida" as well (pure life, the Costa Rican slogan). Carmencita cooked us a delicious breakfast every morning. When I go back to Costa Rica, I will definately be staying there again!

Room Tip: Room 5 was excellent with a double bed and a single.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
1.5 km away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,439 reviews
5.5 km away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,822 reviews
0.6 km away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#10 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#6 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
555 reviews
0.3 km away
Arenal Oasis Eco Lodge & Wildlife Refuge
Arenal Oasis Eco Lodge & Wildlif...
#2 of 68 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
235 reviews
5.9 km away
Arenal Observatory Lodge & Spa
Arenal Observatory Lodge & Spa
#1 of 68 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cerro Chato Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cerro Chato Eco Lodge

Property: Cerro Chato Eco Lodge
Address: Road to Rio Fortuna' waterfall | 3 kms southwest from La Fortuna, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 4417-75, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 68 Speciality Lodging in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price range (per night): $58 - $78
Hotel Class:3 star — Cerro Chato Eco Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the base of the Arenal Volcano, Costa Rica (2.5 kms. from La Fortuna, on the road to Catarata Rio's Fortuna and only 15minutes by car from Tabacon's Hot Springs) with a spectacular view of the southeast side of the volcano, we have the advantage of being at a slightly higher altitude than La Fortuna, thus cooler. Also, we are off the main road enough to avoid the sound of grinding gears that are audible from almost all other hotels. The rooms are very spacious (32m2) with 1 double and 1 single bed, a large private bath with hot water, screened windows, ceiling fans, verandas with table and chairs, and landscaped grounds abundant with tropical flowers and birds. Full breakfast, available lunches, horse rental, laundry, internet service and secure parking lot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Cerro Chato Eco Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cerro Chato Eco Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Cerro Chato Eco Lodge Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing