We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Certificate of Excellence
Bethesda Maryland
Level Contributor
146 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Super Stay”
Reviewed 14 February 2012

2 nights here on a Caravan tour. My wife was sick. Hotel staff were wonderful. What could she eat, how could they help etc. Rooms (actually bungalows) were perfect, well equipped and showers were huge and hot. (you are on the slopes of a volcano). Buffet meals very nice.

Standing joke was that the machine for blowing away the clouds from the volcano were broken and they were waiting for parts.

did not use the pool.

Comment(not a negative) It is about a $8 cab from the center of town.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emeritus24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    960
    382
    64
    7
    16
See reviews for
320
788
33
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sanjoseca
Level Contributor
45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

We spent 3 nights here after reading Trip Adviser reviews. We had a large room with a patio facing the volcano; room had ac, tv, safety deposit box. We could sit on the patio and look at the volcano, sometimes see almost nothing, one time we saw the top. The buffet breakfast was excellent (included with cost of room). The front desk staff were friendly and helpful. We considered the buffet dinner, but with large tour groups always there, unless you were eating early, the selection did not look that good, and it was expensive ($25/person) compared to restaurants in La Fortuna. People without reservations who drove the 1+ km unpaved road to it were unhappy to find that no rooms were available even though the sign along the main road said "vacancy".

Room Tip: Make reservations
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank by_ourselves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Our cabin was #400 and right off the pool. Keeping our mini fridge stocked and being able to walk to the cabin and back to the pool was awesome. The cabins aren't air tight but bugs weren't a problem, probably because each room comes with a complementary trained gecko. The jungle was right off our back porch and we enjoyed watching the birds. The breakfast buffet was above and beyond for a complimentary service although dinner left a lot to be desired. We would eat breakfast here and venture out for lunch and dinner. The road to the hotel is a bumpy dead end but there are no cars racing up and down the street at night, I slept like a rock both nights! The pool was small and the water a little chilly but it was immaculate.

Besides the dinner buffet the only negative thing I can come up with is I couldn't figure out the safe. Why have a keypad if the key always unlocks it? We skipped it and carried our money with us rather than tempt fate.

The pictures on the website don't do the cabins justice.

Room Tip: 400 is right off the pool but you can hear the waterfall till they turn it off at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank milkovich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford,Pa
Level Contributor
355 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

We stayed here during our recent trip to Costa Rico on a Caravan Tour. The view of the volcano was fantastic. While there we saw hummingbirds and other birds. Our room had a balcony with a view of the volcano. The food was good and the staff was friendly. My wife and I can't wait to go back on our own

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Milford_PaMooseman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

We stayed here just before New Year..
The grounds are impeccable maintained really beautiful full of birds and beautiful plants!
This is in a good location very close to the Baldi hot springs, but the approach to the hotel is quite difficult and the road non-existent,
The rooms were well maintained but not luxurious, very basic,
But the food in the restaurant was excellent and service was great,
We would definitely go back again just for the place its located and the view it provides.

Room Tip: Get one of the individual bungalows
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rao_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
4.7 km away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,789 reviews
4.7 km away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,788 reviews
2.1 km away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#10 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,813 reviews
4.8 km away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,341 reviews
2.9 km away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lomas del Volcan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lomas del Volcan

Property: Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Address: PO Box 4-4417, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price range (per night): $125 - $268
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lomas del Volcan 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lomas del Volcán Hotel is a warm mountain hotel that maintains it's rustic style with wood cabins, each one with 2 decks that invites you to enjoy nature, one with a view to the Arenal Volcano and the other with a view to the tropical forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Lomas del Volcan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lomas Del Volcan Hotel
Hotel Lomas Del Volcan Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing