We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful, but disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa
Allegan, Michigan
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“beautiful, but disappointing”
Reviewed 9 February 2012

A beautiful setting, nicely landscaped and laid-out. The restaurant is sub-standard and extremely expensive for the food and service. Breakfast is mediocre, at best. A taxi to town costs $10 each way, and this hotel behaves like they have a captive audience. However, the zip line experience is fantastic and very well done! Next time in this area, we'll look for a different place to stay.

Room Tip: Some cabinas are very far from the lobby and restaurant. When it rains here (almost daily), it rains...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LakeLady49010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arenalparaiso, Director of Sales at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Dear LakeLady49010

Thank you very much for sharing your experience. We really appreciate your effort and the opportunity to know about your comments.

Your comments will be very useful for improving our service.

Certainly we are not a downtown hotel, but we are located at only 7 Kms. from La Fortuna downtown. This allows us to have an spectacular view to the volcano and enjoy the forest behind the hotel (which is our own private reserve).

Our breakfast and restaurant meals and service have always being well reccomended. Meals prices may vary from prices starting at $14,05 for a dinner with salad, amin dish, deserve and a natural beverage. We are sorry we did not fullfill your expectations and we hope to have a chance to serve you in a near future and share with you many improvements on this earthly paradise.

Greetings,

Marco Cañizales
Marketing Manager
marketing@arenalparaiso.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    466
    271
    91
    75
See reviews for
291
487
28
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Palmer Lake, Colorado
Level Contributor
172 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

We had a good time at Paraiso. The on-ground hots springs were relaxing and numerous enough that we weren't crowded at any of our daily visits, they were also a great place to meet other visitors. The front reception staff, especially Stephanie were helpful and friendly every time we were there. Great food with good service and patient staff with our Spanish attempts. Nice pools, good hike to the valley behind, good tour offerings. The rooms were good and view of the Arenal Volcano was great when its wasn't in the clouds. La Fortuna didn't have too much to offer in the way of culture but there were lots of eating and shopping options. A hotel shuttle into town would have been a nice service. No fitness center.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ReidArnold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arenalparaiso, Director of Sales at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Dear Mr. Richard,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience. We really appreciate your effort and the opportunity to know about your comments.

Certainly we are not a downtown hotel, but we are located at only 7 Kms. from La Fortuna downtown. This allows us to have an spectacular view to the volcano and enjoy the forest behind the hotel (which is our own private reserve).


Thank you for all your comments about our staff, it is a pleasure for us to serve you and we hope we will have the chace to serve you again in a near future.

Greetings,

Marco Cañizales
Marketing Manager
marketing@arenalparaiso.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Don't know how old the mattresses are but they got to be at least 30 years old. Time for an update. Very uncomfortable sleep. The hot springs were suppose to get hotter as you went higher, but they all seemed to be the same temperature (Cool) until you get to the last one which was hot. The restaurant was just average. Would not recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Pick a cabin that's on it's own. Some are connected and you can hear everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gksmith31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels

Scotland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

I would say the main advantage of staying at this hotel is the wonderful views of the Arenal volcano. Each of the chalets has a porch with panoramic windows that look toward the volcano. Unfortunately the rooms are dated and tired. Contrary to another report there was a working safe in our room and when we accidentally locked it before resetting the code, reception sent someone very quickly to fix it. The starters and main courses in the restaurant were excellent. The grilled sea bass was particularly delicious. However the desserts were a disappointment. If you are going to try zip lining, then you may want to check that a double cable is used for safety. Our guide recommended a nearby facility rather than the one at the hotel but I don't know whether or not it was for this reason.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Qwerty2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arenalparaiso, Director of Sales at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience. We really appreciate your effort and the opportunity to know about your comments. Your comments will be very useful for improving our service.

Thank you for all your words, we are glad we had the chance to serve you.

About the renewing, we are actually running a process to renew the rooms. By now we are working one room at a time. About your concern on the Canopy Tour, our zip lines tour is abolutely totally safety. We hope you have the chance to try it on a next time.

We hope to have a chance to serve you in a near future and share with you many improvements on this earthly paradise.

Greetings,

Marco Cañizales
Marketing Manager
marketing@arenalparaiso.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

This property is just plain tired! Needs complete renovation. Our room was tiny and you could just about turn around in the small, outdated bathroom. There is no safe in the room and our patio door wouldn't close! The dinner service in the restaurant was slow and food was over-priced and just so-so; the buffet breakfast needs major improvement! The pool was clean and had enough lounge chairs. The scenery and the hot springs were probably the highlight. On the plus side, the housekeeping and front desk staff were excellent and the hotel has free internet. But that's all I can say. Would not stay there again nor recommend it to others.

Room Tip: If you're not into walking, ask for a room closer to the restaurant. Otherwise, you'll be w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilthd2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arenalparaiso, Director of Sales at Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience. We really appreciate your effort and the opportunity to know about your comments.

Your comments will be very useful for improving our service.

About safety box, superior rooms and suites offer a safety box, however stardard rooms do not. In any case, we have a free safety deposit box in our frot desk for any person who may need this service.

Regarding the distance from rooms to restaurante, we have a free transportation service with our own van into our property.

We are running a program to renew the rooms. In fact may of them have a new look now. We are really sorry that we did not fullfill yor expectations. We hope to have a chance to serve you in a near future and share with you many improvements on this earthly paradise.

Greetings,

Marco Cañizales
Marketing Manager
marketing@arenalparaiso.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
1.8 km away
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
#18 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,391 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Hotel Mountain Paradise
#22 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,253 reviews
1.8 km away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,364 reviews
5.3 km away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,438 reviews
8.0 km away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#21 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa

Property: Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa
Address: 7 kms from La Fortuna downtown, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 84-4417, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price range (per night): $107 - $394
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy of cozy & comfortable rooms surrounded by tropical gardens, with the best view of Arenal Volcano. Discover the wellness of our hot springs and our Mayin Spa. Taste the Costa Rica flavor, international cuisine and the best steak house in the area. Feel the adrenaline on our Canopy Tour, and take the best shots of Arenal volcano on our horseback riding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, TravelClick, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort And Spa
Arenal Paraiso Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Hotel Arenal Paraiso
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing