We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Etheral”
Review of Arenal Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Arenal Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 January 2012

This is one of the neatest, most beautiful places i've ever been to. The staff is super helpful. They will come out and personally show you plants and animals native to their region. They have a free nature walk everyday, and you get a free horseback ride. The restaurant is delicious, and accomodations are exquisite. This is not a 5 star facility if you are looking for pampering, but if you want an adventure mixed with relaxation you get it here. It is about 20ish minutes away from town, but after exploring whatever it is you do during the day all you can think about is driving up that mile or so twisty road that takes you up the mountain to the lodge. Fall asleep to frogs, and wake up to Stephania the macaw. That's all i'm saying because I don't want it over crowded next time I go, and I will be back.

Room Tip: The rooms around the main area don't have ac. You do not need it since it is low 70's at ni...
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tlee8979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (828)
There are newer reviews for Arenal Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

503 - 507 of 828 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2012

My husband and I stayed at Arenal Lodge on 12/29/11 - 12/31/11, at the beginning of our trip to Costa Rica. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend the Lodge. Pros were being out in the countryside and away from the crowds at the bigger resorts or La Fortuna, beautiful grounds, plenty of birds, and great breakfasts. Cons were that our standard room was very basic and close to the lobby, so while that made it convenient for meals, it was also a bit noisy as we could hear dishes rattling in the restaurant and people nearby. We felt it was a good value for the price. Another plus was that you couldn’t miss the entrance from the main road going around the lake as they have good signs and a guard house at the turn-off from the main road.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maryschroeder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

It rained the whole time we were at Hotel Arenal but I could tell the view would have been great if it cleared up. We enjoyed the jacuzzi and the staff let us borrow nice robes to use. I thought it strange that you have to walk through the bar to get to the pool and Jacuzzi.
There was a very tame macaw that visited the property. The free breakfast was nice.
The room was just okay...we had reserved 2 rooms but our travel partner was injured before leaving the states and could not go with us. The staff didn't offer any upgrades based on the fact that due to the cancellation policy, we lost the money for the second room. The lodge was mostly empty but we got a queen size bed and walking past other rooms saw that there were king size beds available. The mattress was quite thin too. We didn't have a problem with bugs or mildew but the air conditioner didn't work properly.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissanv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2011

This place is amazing. The rooms are huge and they have a wonderful deck that overlooks the jacuzzis and eternity pool as well as a magnificent view of Arenal volcano. The stay included a delicious breakfast and horseback riding. The staff were all very nice and helpful. The only problem I had was the internet was extremely slow, but you are pretty far up. They have a blue and gold Macaw that hangs around the Lodge and will eat out of your hand. We did a walking tour of the jungle and butterfly house on the property and it was beautiful. There is a lot of wildlife to see but I suggest going with a guide as they are better at spotting smaller things. Overall it was a great experience.

Room Tip: The lake view rooms are way up on a hill and give you a much better view than the Volcano view rooms...
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darla H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2011

We stayed 4 days at the Arenal lodge. Overall it was ok. The room is fairly sized, and the balcony (with a roof) had a great view on the Vulcano. The two jacuzzi's they have are pleasent, and fit up to 4 people. We also enjoyed the two hours hiking tour that was included with our stay. There was a parrot flying around who paid our balcony every afternoon a visit.

The place was build in the eighties, and it almost seems that it hadn't received any maintenance since then. Everything could use fresh colours. Broken items were not repaired. In the reception spider web's were visible. The gym only had rusty equipment. The gardens did get maintenance however and looked good.

We had overall a good time at the Arenal lodge. If you don't mind that things look a bit oldish, it's a good spot to stay at.

Room Tip: The chalets do not have a balcony. Although they offer a view on both the lake and the vulcano, we p...
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wiebe_de_Witte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
10.9 km away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,528 reviews
12.9 km away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#11 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,341 reviews
8.6 km away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 km away
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
#18 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,444 reviews
9.7 km away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,847 reviews
8.0 km away
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Sp...
#31 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Lodge

Address: 200 meters NW from the Arenal Lake dam, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 1250, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $100 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arenal Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Lodge provides guests with the excitement of staying in an authentic rainforest lodge with breathtaking panoramic views of Costa Rica’s famous Arenal Volcano and Lake Arenal. Guests will enjoy a casual and relaxed rustic lodge setting with the added value of a complimentary breakfast daily. Located on 2000-acres of beautiful tropical rainforest, the lodge is situated near Arenal Volcano National Park. The lodge is surrounded by rainforest - housing hundreds of exotic birds, small animals and the beautiful tropical flowers and trees of Costa Rica. and is its own local tourist attraction due to its exclusive location with breathtaking panoramic views of Arenal Volcano and Lake Arenal. The lodge features a full service restaurant with local and international cuisine, gift shop, three heated outdoor Jacuzzis, an infinite edge swimming pool, walking trails, a butterfly garden, horseback riding, a game room and outdoor playground for children, fitness room, sauna, and free wireless high speed internet access. Guest rooms and suites feature cable TV, telephone, coffee maker, clock radio, and all have private baths. Complimentary crib and wheel chair are available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Arenal Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Lodge Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing