We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect hub for our La Fortuna adventuring.”
The Riverbank: An oasis of calm in the middle of everything!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Riverbank: An oasis of calm in the middle of everything!
Wide shot of large fully equipped kitchen and dining area. Master bedroom: Queen size bed, colorful artwork and yard view.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
69 reviews
The Riverbank: An oasis of calm in the middle of everything!
Wide shot of large fully equipped kitchen and dining area.
Master bedroom: Queen size bed, colorful artwork and yard view.
Bathroom with laurel wood counter.
Second bedroom: Unique full size bed with single top bunk.
Clean, elegant, fully equipped kitchen and dining room.
Spacious living room with volcano artwork and cable tv.
Very tranquil, secluded backyard full of iguanas, humming birds, exotic fruit trees and flowers!
So many different flowers, and so beautiful!
This is a Cherrie's Tanager perched in the back yard.
The view from the balcony this morning.
Volcano and Sleeping Indian, shot from balcony of The Riverbank at dusk.
'Trumpet of Angels' blooms bi-weekly, flowers a foot long fill the night wth incredible fragrance.
Huge iguanas in the trees in the backyard. Every day!
My absolute favourite flower; a rare type of Parrot Flower growing in the back yard.
An old wheelbarrow's retirement: Used during the building's construction now it holds bansai trees!
Check out this little guy who showed up in the backyard!
The Arenal Volcano makes its own weather and changes constantly.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
4 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Province of Alajuela

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 69 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jillrlev
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
“Perfect hub for our La Fortuna adventuring.”
Reviewed 17 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The space was clean and nice and well cared for. The folks who run the place are very knowledgeable and happy to help. They clearly have a passion for what they do! One thing to keep in mind is they do have an extensive booking process that requires printing and signing a lease. I imagine this helps keep them in the clear, but it was much more work than I've ever done to book a place to stay just for a couple days! The location couldn't have been better- right next to town, walking distance from many restaurants and the perfect place for us to crash after our days of adventuring out into different parts of the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuban
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stay in a little paradise close to town.”
Reviewed 22 May 2016 for a stay in January 2016

"Thank you William, Laura and Nohelia for your very warm welcome and for arranging all the tours before our arrival. Giovani was the best! He was so good with my two grandchildren, and his volcano and night tour was very informative. His sanctuary is beautiful. The Sky Trek bridge walk and zip lining was amazing! We enjoyed our stay very much. Your place is so close to town, but with your beautiful garden and view of the volcano you feel like you are in your own little paradise. I was having a hard time finding a place to stay that was close to town. I am so glad I discovered your place. It was a great way to celebrate my 65th birthday with my family. I hope we can return some day."

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: shower difficult to work
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
don s
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“La Fortuna great location quiet”
Reviewed 13 May 2016 for a stay in March 2016

This was as good as it gets if you want to spend some time in La Fortuna. Short walking distance to all amenities and the landlord, William will help you out with everything else!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winsquare
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great place, it was everything we needed”
Reviewed 11 May 2016 for a stay in February 2016

The Riverbank had an amazing view of the Volcano. I cannot stress enough how wonderful our stay was. We will definitely be staying here again when we return to Costa Rica. William, Laura and Nohelia were super helpful and very friendly. We felt welcomed at all times.

The backyard was beautiful and we were even able to see all kinds of wild life. Beautiful!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacob M
Dallas, Texas
1 review
““Comfortable and great location for walking to most attractions””
Reviewed 19 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

I would definitely stay here again! It was a great trip with a lot of memories made thanks to the wonderful owner of this place. It was the perfect space in the best location. The kitchen had everything you would need to cook. Outside is a beautiful garden and only a short walk into the heart of town. The staff was warm and polite couldn't ask for a better group of people. Thank you for having us!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing