We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Paradise in the shadow of the Arenal Volcano in...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
122 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Province of Alajuela

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 122 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
MAK54
Cypress, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Paradise in the shadow of the Arenal Volcano in Costa Rica”
Reviewed 19 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We leased this vacation rental sight unseen through a Facebook relationship and couldn't have been more pleased. Wendy, our host, was very attentive. The guest house was spotless and well furnished. The pool was beautiful and cleaned every other day. We had plenty of towels and utensils for the kitchen and grill. We weren't sure which tourist attractions we should go to, so she gave us a list to choose from and made the reservations for us. We enjoyed all of them.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The sounds of the birds in the trees and the rain on the metal roof.
Liked least: The bumpy, rutted roads getting to it.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelmvb...
Manchester, Vermont
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“most comfortable, outdoor living style in beautiful setting”
Reviewed 7 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

owner/host Wendy has really put her heart and soul in this place. A beautiful landscaped property with through outdoor Costa rica style living space. Website description and picture are surpassed by the real experience. don't expect too much sun, as this is the rain forest. We never saw the Volcano in our 4 day stay, but everything else made more than up for this. highly recommended. Wendy's detailed descriptions of directions, area, airport/travel in CR is very detailed and very helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: outdoor living and beautiful landscaped setting
Liked least: the weather (but nobody can control that)
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea M
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
“Villa Hermosa - the name says it all!”
Reviewed 6 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We already were excited about this property just from the photos and description but the reality truly exceeded our expectations. Wendy has thought of everything and so you will want for nothing. From the villa and its high-quality furnishings to the pool and magnificient surrounding gardens, everything is top-notch and maintained in perfect condition. There are so many varied and wonderful spaces to relax and enjoy that you will be hard-pressed to venture away from the property to take advantage of everything else the area has to offer. (You must make one exception, however, and enjoy the horseback riding excursion at nearby Leaves and Lizards). Whether you're looking for a quiet, restful getaway, or a home-base for an activity-packed vacation, you'll be thrilled with your time spent at Villa Hermosa.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 May 2015
Thank you so much Andrea! I am so glad you & your family enjoyed your time here. Come back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon J
jamaica77
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed 14 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Villa Hermosa and its owner, Wendy, make for an outstanding experience in Arenal and Costa Rica in general. Wendy is very responsive and insightful - my wife and I were traveling with three young kids (3,3, and 5) and her advice was helpful (and accurate)...from car rental and driving, to tours, to where to eat and what to do.

The cottage is modern, well-appointed and in a beautiful setting, about 20 minutes from town. The grounds are very well kept - the space is clean and open, with ample room for socializing and relaxing. You'll likely need an SUV to get there...but that's a good thing because of its privacy and character. There's a small, picturesque town (Monterrey) about a 5 minute drive from the Villa that has all of the supplies (groceries, gas, etc.) and a nice park for kids. Otherwise, Wendy has everything you need at the Villa for a wonderful stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Seclusion/privacy, pool and grounds
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabi E
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful and quiet place in nature”
Reviewed 8 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

The place is beautiful and quiet. The house is outdoors (kitchen, living room and dinning room) but the bedroom and bathroom, and we loved that. The pool and garden are very private and well designed, and having breakfast by the pool while listening to the all the birds in the morning was wonderful. Robert, the housekeeper, was amazing and helped us with everything we needed. Would just recommend a better mattress for it to be perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Nature, pool, outdoor kitchen, customer service
Liked least: Mattress quality and comfort
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Apr 2015
Thank you so much for staying with us Gabriele! And thank you for letting us know about the mattress, you are the first to mention it so I very much appreciate you letting me know, I want everyone to have the best stay possible. :-) Happy Easter!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing