We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good”
Review of Nene's Restaurant

Nene's Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Costa Rican, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed 6 April 2018

We were told to go here by our taxi driver. Not good. It was our first dinner meal when we arrived in the area so we were ready to eat. I got the filet steak and it was the worst steak I've ever had. I gave it to my 11 year old, who loves steak, and she wouldn't eat it was so bad. I ended up sharing dinner with my 6 year old, chicken and rice. Way over priced and not good. My husband speaks Spanish, and as the taxi driver recommended it, he then proceeded to call and tell them were coming, because taxi drives and hotel staff get kick-backs if they bring you in. The driver also told us another place wasn't good at all and that place was one of the best meals we had in Costa Rica!

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ashley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Restaurante N, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Nene's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you for your review. We take your opinion seriously, and of couse we'll do some adjustments in order to satisfy all of our costumers. We truly understand you, but also know that we have been getting hundreds of happy clients for years. Thanks a lot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,382)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

66 - 70 of 1,383 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

When visiting La Fortuna, we had several locals recommend we visit Nenes for a great meal, and it didn't disappoint! Great food and service, highly recommend!

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank MMG654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Restaurante N, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Nene's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you for such a wonderful review, my friend. Hope to see you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Good food and service. We had chicken fried rice and shrimp fried rice. Portion size was plenty. The tres leches cake was fantastic!

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank lkkizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Restaurante N, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Nene's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Your opinion about Restaurante Nenes make us really happy. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

The ceviche was top notch. Even my picky eater 10yo are it!! As per the other reviews, hearts of palm salad was very fresh and worth it. For the dinner entrees, the portions are extremely generous, especially the tilapia (excellent. must love garlic!) and the surf and turf.... consider splitting. We had a lot of leftover food in our party of 9. Kids loved the special drinks, especially the chocolate one with the Oreo on top. Service was friendly, attentive and fun. Thanks Jaime!

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank cpreede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Restaurante N, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Nene's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Special food for special costumers. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

Our family ordered two ribeye steaks, both of which were tasty by a charred taste. The seafood spaghetti was decent for its $10 price tag, but the scallops were tough and the mussels had a saltwater tang to them.

Date of visit: March 2018
1  Thank Mao M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Restaurante N, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Nene's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you for your feedback. Next time you visit us, you'll get to taste the best meal in your life. Greetings!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nene's Restaurant also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Nene's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing