We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The most exciting and exhilarating experience of our vacation!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Wave Expeditions

Wave Expeditions
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 110.00*
and up
Full Day Class II-III Rafting and Zipline Tour from La Fortuna-Arenal
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Best One-stop Destination for Outdoor Adventure! WAVE Expeditions Adventure Company invites you to explore the famous northern zone of Costa Rica. WAVE Expeditions is BEST option for all your favorite outdoor activites in one location. Arenal is the one stop destination for Rafting, Canyoning, Hiking, Wildlife, Canopy, Biking and much more! WAVE Expeditions has earned a reputation for professionalism, organization, and high quality trips.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Glen Haven WI
1 review
“The most exciting and exhilarating experience of our vacation!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

Gerald was so interesting to hear on the ride to the sarapiquin river and an EXCELLENT guide getting our family of 6 down through the rapids!!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank 565rafter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,593 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,469
    88
    17
    8
    11
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
rainham kent
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“EXHILARATING EXPERIANCE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

we are a group of four 50+ year olds reliving our youth on a 3 week trip around Costa Rica. Cant overstate what a great day we had with Waves, rafting on the Balsa river. The fun started the minute we got on the bus with the very informative and funny Luis. Our raft guide was Jonny, who really made our day. The whole experiance was great from start to finish, we didnt stop laughing the whole way. We thought that Level 2-3 was exiting enough, fun and not too demanding for us novices. Half way along the 9 Km trip we stopped and had a fresh fruit snack. At the end we all had a celebratery beer, followed by a typical lunch at a Soda. We booked the trip through Anywhere Costa Rica, in La Fortuna at a cost of US$64 each. Worth every penny. We highly recommend buying the CD of photos that are taken of you along the way.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank potbellypig26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved our rafting trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

Wave Expeditions is a great company to do a rafting trip with! We booked through a very helpful seperature vendor (Carla I think is her name, and she is on the West side of the park one block up at a booth that shares a space with a small spa), and she gave us an amazing deal on the class 3-4 all day rafting trip. We had Girard as a guide, and he was clearly one of the best (and very funny). No one in my boat fell out but we still ran into some close calls, which made it a very fun trip. We met some great people, laughed a lot, and ate a delicious lunch. Would highly recommend, especially if you can get a little discount (again, go see Carla) on the normal price of the trip ($85 pp). Just go see Carla in general, as she is full of life and has some great restaurant recommendations too.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank osflynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“So much fun!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

This was our first whitewater rafting trip, and it was awesome!! All the guides were great. We got all our safety instructions from Gerald, he was great. Our river guide was Jonny and then Edgar, had a blast with both! Jose was great too!! The guys do a good job keeping us safe and entertaining! I would for sure do this again. I think the guides really make the experience all the more enjoyable! I felt safe leaving our stuff on the bus, wallet, camera and all! I highly recommend this tour!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sarah Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
2 reviews
“Great guides!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

We went on the 1/2 inflatable kayak trip. We had our own rental car and went straight to their office to meet the guides. Gerald rode with us in the car to the put-in place and was very friendly, knowledgeable, and professional. On the way, he pointed out toucans, a sloth, and a white eagle in addition to freely answering our questions about La Fortuna. Our kayaking group consisted of two guides (Luis and Gerald), myself and my wife, and a woman from the office on her first kayak trip. The route was more than half rapids and we had a great experience with the kayaks and the equipment. Halfway through, the guides prepared a pineapple and watermelon snake and offered more environmental insight. At the end of the trip, they gave us a beer and took us on a tour of a wildlife refuge close to "The Springs" where we saw sheltered ocelots, monkeys, and a jaguar. Finally, Gerald toured us through the facilities offered at The Springs which had a day pass in the trip.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wave Expeditions also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Wave Expeditions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing