We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (637)
Filter reviews
638 results
Traveller rating
522
91
18
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
522
91
18
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews back porch front porch costa rica chocolate tour family that owns these cabins close to town mini fridge maintained grounds air conditioning each morning visiting la fortuna breakfast was delicious nice bathroom beautiful flowers a wonderful stay min drive
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 638 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2018

This was a great place to stay. Close enough to most of the attractions. The Staff was great, the rooms were clean and well appointed. Breakfast for $7 was a deal. Loved this place, would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mair302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RanchoCerroAzul, Propietario at Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Dear Mair302,

Thank you so much for leaving such a nice review. We never underestimate the power of first impressions and we believe that every single detail at the hotel should be in place to make sure our guests feel welcomed, relaxed and pampered.
Thank you for chosing Rancho Cerro Azul for your vacation, we hope to see you again in the near future.

Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2018

Room was nice and clean, staff was extremely friendly. Lots of cool animals around the hotel, and a nice private trail / hike to Arenal river. You do have to drive to get into the city, but there are some souvenir, coffee, and chocolate shops nearby that are walking distance. Private patio was great with nice hammock to relax and take in the scenery.

Stayed: February 2018
Thank Ryan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RanchoCerroAzul, Propietario at Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2018

Hola Ryan W.

Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review, it means so much to us to know that we provide our guests with a memorable experience. We are happy to hear our staff met your needs and created a special for you both.
Hope to see you again in the future.

Pura Vida,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2018

Just outside La Fortuna - 30 minutes walk - but close to the waterfall. Clean, pleasant rooms and friendly, helpful staff.

They recommended Tiquicia Restaurant, just 15 minutes walk away which was fantastic.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank chrisbaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2018 via mobile

This a a nice hotel if you are looking for something simple and cozy. We spent 3 nights here and enjoy it. The cabins are small but it’s all we needed for our stay. The beds are a little firm but comfortable. My favorite part was sitting on the hammock relaxing looking out at nature.
There was a musty smell to the room when you are gone all day coming back, I just opened both doors to let the fresh air breeze in.
Be prepared to wake up every morning around 3 AM hearing the roosters crow. There is a farm across the street that you can visit which was a nice touch for us since my son loves animals.
Staff is all very friendly, breakfast was good you have 3 choices each morning.
Be sure and take a walk to the river, it really is beautiful. There is a cabin closer to the river and away from the others, I think it was #9 if you are looking for something more private.
All and all a nice place to stay in La Fortuna, close to the waterfall-it is a hike up the hill to it, if you have a car I recommend driving up there. Chocolate tour is on the same road as hotel, easy walk.
I am sure you will enjoy it.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank 70sgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RanchoCerroAzul, Propietario at Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2018

Hola 70sgirl.

Thank you from the bottom of our hearts for not only going out of your way to leave a review, but for also the kindest comments about our resort and the staff.
We're so glad that you enjoyed your trip and that you found the service and food good. Thank you again for your visit, please think of us when planning your next trip to Costa Rica. We feel immensely flattered by your many compliments and hope that you think of us when planning your next trip to Costa Rica.

Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2018 via mobile

Great family-run, relaxed hotel. We were only staying for two nights, but the team were really helpful with suggesting activities and organising transport.

The rooms are basic and clean. Our balcony had a nice hammock where we were able to watch the hummingbirds.

Breakfast was $7 per person extra and very tasty.

The one negative was the room's proximity to the family's chickens / cockerels. We were woken up regularly from about 4am each morning...!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank SB8642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews