We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (268)
Filter reviews
268 results
Traveller rating
148
96
17
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
148
96
17
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews costa rica san jose close to the airport next morning leaving early private bathroom great place to start rice and beans hot shower international airport stayed one night pollo sylvia taxi country luggage flight
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 268 reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2018

We stayed the night we arrived in Costa Rica and again the night before leaving a few weeks later. As many others have posted, Randy is a very welcoming and helpful host. He was waiting to meet us both times, very helpful with our questions, directions and advice.

The breakfast are hearty and best of all is the location to the airport, depending on traffic, approxiamtely 15 minutes.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2018

We had a private room (one double bed and two singles) with a private bathroom. It was clean and basic. Randy is a great host, very friendly and helpful. The hostel is within walking distance to central Alajuela. The water is potable. Laundry can be done at the hostel for $5/load

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank johnnyfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2018

Randy waited up for us after a delayed arrival and made us feel at home. After a leisurely morning, he then helped us on our way with recommendations on itinerary and logistics. A real personal touch that we received again at the end of our trip, when we stayed again before our flight home. The rooms are simple, clean and comfortable and Sylvia prepares a tasty and hearty breakfast overlooking a colourful courtyard. The hotel is very convenient to the airport for international and domestic flights and Randy helps to get you there. In fact he went out of his way to help with everything as if we'd known him for years.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YYZ08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2017 via mobile

We found here the best value for money of our whole trip! The rooms and the place is much nicer than on the pictures. We had a clean room, a private bathroom and a comfy bed. The breakfast is included and outstanding, you even can pick your choice from a menu!
Randy, the host, is highly service oriented and gave us great advices on how to get around. I was allowed to hang all my cloths in the garden to dry. However, the best thing was that he even let us use a shower again in the evening when picking up the luggage for the flight after our check-out in the morning. Luggage storage and shower was free!
PS: don't miss the home-made peanut butter, it's delicious!

Stayed: December 2017
1  Thank LauraPoppins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2017 via mobile

I stayed one night at Vida Tropical before continuing my journey. It’s very close to the airport but very quiet. My room was spacious and clean and Randy the best host! He even got up at 4 in the morning to provide me with breakfast and the taxi to the airport. 100% recommendation!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank Flummi710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews