We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pura Vida Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pura Vida Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pura Vida Hotel
Ranked #1 of 60 Alajuela B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pura Vida Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

The Pura Vida Hotel was a great place to begin and/or end your trip to Costa Rica as its location is very close to San Jose airport, yet it is definitely off the beaten city path. The owner (Berni) and the staff go out of their way to make your stay comfortable. They really want you to enjoy your stay in Costa Rica and offer all kinds of valuable advice about traveling in Costa Rica. Berni even arranged our rental car for us which was brought directly to our hotel for us on the morning we were departing the hotel. The breakfast in the morning was beautiful and delicious. Stay at Pura Vida....you'll be happy you did!

Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    621
    78
    20
    6
    8
See reviews for
218
328
31
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

We stayed in this wonderful place in January on the last day before flying back to US. I've never stay in places like this! It's beautiful! Houses with very tasteful decorations, AMAZING breakfast with fruits and flower decorations from the garden, garden tour, view of the volcano - I feel like I'm in paradize! My son had so much fun with dogs! Thank you so much, Berni! This place is realy special! We love Costa Rica!
Mariya

Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank mkl000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

We spent one night at the Pura Vida Hotel at the end of a 2 1/2 week vacation in Costa Rica. The hotel is located closer to the airport than we had thought. We arrived before lunch and were delighted to be welcomed by Carlos and given a cold fruit drink. We stayed in the Volcano Suite overlooking the gardens. It was a treat to sit on the balcony and see the volcano. We had emailed the previous day to arrange for a lunch upon arrival. Carlos called to us when lunch was ready and we were so impressed with the meal. Waiting for us in the dining area was a beautiful platter of fruit, a wide assortment of cheeses and a warm loaf of bread. It was perfect. One of the large dogs, Max, joined us for lunch! Although the dogs are big, they are very friendly. The hotel helped us to select a restaurant for supper and called a taxi. In the evening, Berni gave me a kettle to take up to our room so I could make a cup of tea which was lovely. Breakfast was outstanding, especially the rum and raisin bread pudding with rum sauce. We very much enjoyed the bits of humour that were evident everywhere from the dogs' names in the phone list to the advice to stand on one leg to get coffee from the coffee maker. We will recommend this hotel to our friends. Thanks so much.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank B0bNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

What a wonderful place. In the middle of a bustling area, a walled near-paradise. Lush plants, hammocks, a great view, cool drinks, and spotless, modern, comfortable villas. Plus you get Bernie's wit and insight into Costa Rica.

The breakfast is beautifully done and delicious and tropical. Filling, too.

And, if you can get Spaulding to be your driver or guide, you'll have the best.

I know this review sounds maybe TOO positive, but it was a great start to the trip. I'd go back tomorrow.

Room Tip: The villas aren't crowded together. We stayed in Rainforest, but they all look nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JGPiano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pewaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

They don't miss a thing at this Hotel! This was such a lovely place - small & cozy, lush grounds, beautiful and delicious breakfast! Our room was Huge and by far the best value of the 4 places we stayed in Costa Rica. The information available in the room was so helpful I wish we had stayed at the beginning instead of the end of our trip. Will recommend this and I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: There are only a few and I'm sure they are all as good as the Volcano where we were.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
3.3 km away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
4.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
4.6 km away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#4 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
20.5 km away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 9 in Heredia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
4.2 km away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#5 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pura Vida Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pura Vida Hotel

Property: Pura Vida Hotel
Address: Tuetal Sur | 4km North of SJO International Airport, Alajuela 20102, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Alajuela
Price range (per night): $117 - $203
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pura Vida Hotel is located 4km north of the SJO International airport - we provide a free taxi pickup for international arrivals. Breakfast is included and an excellent dinner is available with reservations (or late meals for late arrivals). Touring services include car rentals delivered here, private vans and as much touring advice as you wish - we are experts on Costa Rica. We have arrangements with Toyota Car Rental for deals on car rentals. Our idea is simply that this is a place we would like to stay at when we travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pura Vida Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pura Vida Alajuela
Hotel Pura Vida
Pura Vida Hotel Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing