We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“What a wonderful experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Norma's Villas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Province of Alajuela
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Norma's Villas
Fort Worth, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a wonderful experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2010

Norma's Villas were quiet, beautiful and clean. The scenery is beautiful. The location of the villas made it easy to travel in any direction and was close to the airport. Norma was always available to answer any questions we had and was an absolute gem. The full kitchen was a plus and we were even able to do laundry in our villa! This was our first trip to Costa Rica and we are looking forward to returning with our younger daughter. We will without a doubt stay at Norma's Villas again.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FortWorth13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
8
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2010

We used Norma's Villas as our base to tour the central valley and the Pacific coast. The Villa was perfect for relaxing and enjoying the company of others who were staying there. Norma is fantastic! We loved the parrots and the grounds are gorgeous. We liked having the kitchen to make breakfast everyday and even some dinners. Very convenient location, surround by lovely homes and nurseries. We're hoping to be back soon!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lorien32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2010

My husband and I traveled with another couple to take a break from the hustle and bustle. Norma's Villas provided us with the PERFECT getaway. The villas are spacious, nicely appointed, and very comfortable. The 3 pools on site were immaculately kept...with plenty of hammocks for nature watching, reading, or napping. The grounds were beautifully kept...with so much for a nature lover to see. The owners were so accomodating, friendly, helpful, and kind. If there is anything that you need to know...they can help you. The location is perfect - both coasts and the big city of San Jose are easily accessible. We highly recommend Norma's Villas! In fact, we're thinking about returning this year...and there is no question as to where we will stay!

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2010

My vacation in late 2008-early 2009 marked my 5th trip to Costa Rica as well as my 5th stay at Norma's Villas. I have stayed anywhere from 4 days to 2 months at Norma's and consider it the perfect place to stay if you are looking for a quiet, peaceful, and beautiful location.
As a single female traveler, I felt safe and comfortable and the owners made me feel at home. Norma speaks English very well and her husband Carlos, although he does not speak English, is a wonderfully friendly and helpful man.
This quaint and clean little resort boasts 3 swimming pools, always beautifully kept. There is a tennis court and plently of natural landscape to explore. Indigineous species of iguana, birds, butterflies, and other animals are at home at Norma's. I loved to sit out by the "picnic tree" and just admire the beauty of the place. There are orchids growing from the picnic tree, as well as all over the grounds.
All villas are fully equipped for a short or long-term stay. I especially liked having a kitchen where I could cook my own meals, especially on longer visits. There is a small grocery store in walking distance from the villas and the larger town of Alajuela is only 20 minutes away, with plenty of shopping opportunities.
Local or day -trip "attractions" include the country's zoo (Zoo Ave), a butterfly farm, Volcan Poas, and many bars/restaurants, to name a few. The Pacific Ocean and its beautiful beaches are less than 2 hours away. While I prefer staying in the quiet town of La Garita, for a change of pace, the city life in San Jose is only 40 minutes away.
Only 20 minutes from the International Airport, Norma's makes a perfect spot to stay at the beginning or end of a vacation. I WILL be returning to CR and Normas in the very near future and highly recommend it to families, singles, girlfriend retreats, and retired persons. The only people I wouldn't recommend for Norma's would be those looking for a non-stop wild party!
Pura Vida!

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bella929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Ana, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
235 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2009

I just spent a month at Norma's during the off season. Absolutely a great place to stay. Cooking facilities and stand alone homes. Mine was a one bedroom with a combination living room kitchen. Perfect for one or two. The grounds are perfectly maintained as are the units... No heat-- no air-- NONE NEEDED. Perfect weather.

Conveniently located to San Jose, the mountain sites, volcanoes, and the beaches. Use this place to see the country by day trips in cars... or conveniently arranged tours, massages, etc. Ask Norma... she can help with everything. If you speak a little Spanish, the staff is always cordial and nice. especially Carlos.. Laundry care available also.. Very secure with some very good restaurants near by.

Basketball, tennis courts, pavilion, three pools, lots of fresh fruit on the on site trees.. and beautiful tropical flowers with mountains surrounding...

Enjoy..

Jerry Myers

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank islandjerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Province of Alajuela hotels
5.7 km away
Hotel Colinas del Sol
Hotel Colinas del Sol
#1 of 2 in Atenas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
1.2 km away
Quinta Don Fernando
Quinta Don Fernando
#13 of 59 in Alajuela
5.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
5.8 km away
No photo provided
Casa Verde Atenas
#6 of 8 in Atenas
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Dos Palmas Country Inn La Garita
5.6 km away
Villa Margarita
Villa Margarita
#1 of 2 in La Garita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
8.4 km away
Apartamentos Atenas
Apartamentos Atenas
#3 of 8 in Atenas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norma's Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norma's Villas

Property: Norma's Villas
Address: 200 Mtrs Oeste de La Plaza de Futbo | La Garita, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 203 Speciality Lodging in Province of Alajuela
Price range (per night): $65 - $104
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Normas Villas is located in La Garita, Alajuela. This community of 14 individual villas is located on 5 acres includes 2 swimming pools, Hammock Hut, Sunbathing pool, BBQ pit, Open patios, bar and Rest exclusive to our guests. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing