We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (134)
Filter reviews
134 results
Traveller rating
74
28
16
7
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
74
28
16
7
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews black warrior river rooftop bar nice walking great place for drinks front desk the river walk great lighting ve stayed here hotel parking modern hotel close to the hotel no refrigerator or microwave sized bed bars and restaurants great shower early check beautiful property
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 134 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2018

Very Nice, clean hotel, the beds were Great! Had corner room #230 with big window and a smaller skinny window that you could see the river from. There is a riverwalk just beside the river and behind the hotel to walk on. Unfortunately, the Lookout rooftop bar was closed as we were there on Sunday night. Still in the Bible Belt. They do have bicycles but we didn't have time to use them. Check in / out was a breeze and would stay there again.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seafoam_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel I, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Tuscaloosa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2018

Thanks for staying with us Seafoam_10. We look forward to having you back with us again soon at Hotel Indigo Tuscaloosa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2018 via mobile

This is a super cool, unique hotel right on the river. The rooftop bar is awesome and bicycles in the lobby for guest to use is a cool concept. The hotel is within walking distance of downtown bars and restaurants and very convenient to access the main campus.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank dougozz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel I, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Tuscaloosa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2018

Thanks for staying with us. We look forward to having you back with us again soon at Hotel Indigo Tuscaloosa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2018

We arrived and they could not find our booking in the system (we booked through the IHG app and had a confirmation number)
The frontdesk people where friendly and checked us in, we got a room above the gym on the front side of the hotel (above the entrance)
The room was spacious but not very clean, nice view over a park and the hill.
Parking is free in the evening (weekend) but on monday you have to move early.
Bar had no expresso or capucino during the evening because the Jura machine was out of order (i think they did not know how it worked)
In the morning during breakfast still no coffee from the Jura machine.
Breakfast was so/so, waitress not very friendly.
They need a strong manager to life up to the standards of Indigo, the facility is nice but the staff needs training.

Room tip: Hope they will send the staff for training
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Willem C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Tuscaloosa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2018

Hi Willem C,

Thank you for your stay and for taking the time to share your experience with us. It is nice to see that you appreciated our room accommodation, cleanliness, and facilities.

I am sorry to learn about the issues you had with the coffee supply and staff service that prevented you from fully enjoying your stay. As a valued guest, I know this is not the kind of experience you expect and I am very sorry that we fell short. I've shared this with the management team for improvements.

Thank you for being our guest and hope to get another chance to give you a more pleasurable stay should you be in the area again.

See you soon,

Christian C.
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2018

Nice, modern hotel, with wonderful bed (best hotel bed my wife and I have slept on in a long time). The staff were very nice, but, sadly, we'll remember most the poor breakfast experience. The hotel restaurant was very understaffed both mornings we were there, and we had to wait quite a while to get our meal. There were a number of other people who, like us, had early morning meetings, but who were forced to "wolf" down our (lukewarm) food to make the meetings on time. Strong suggestion: open the restaurant at 6:00 a.m. rather than 6:30 a.m., and either have a nice buffet or hire more wait staff. On the first morning, the waitress was literally running from guest to guest to take orders, etc., and was doing the best she could. On the second morning, a different waitress was complaining "It's only 6:28" as she walked in and several people were waiting to order. Then the manager came and attempted to help, but wound up spilling coffee on the guy sitting next to me at the bar. The guy on the other side just walked away after his breakfast was brought to him, saying "I specifically said no gravy; I can't eat gravy; but there it is."

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RandyKathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Tuscaloosa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2018

Hi RandyKathy,

Thank you for your review, highlighting not only the bad but also the good points of your stay. We are delighted to hear that the highlights of your stay were our staff and the comfortable bed. On the other hand, we are disappointed to learn your stay was marred by the poor breakfast service. Your comments and suggestion have been documented and forwarded to the restaurant management for improvement on their service.

Again, thanks for your feedback. We hope to see you again and make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2018

Pleasantly surprised to see a more modern styled hotel in Tuscaloosa that doesn't look like it was designed by football fans. Check-in was almost pleasant. The desk was vacant but the Alabama v Ole Miss game was on. A helpful customer alerted them and I was quickly attended to. After the check-in process began the helpful customer got a phone call on speaker and proceeded to unleash a profanity-laced tirade which drowned out the hotel information being relayed. Not the fault of the hotel per se but worth noting the atmosphere you might encounter. Room was clean and comfortable, breakfast was tasty with good portion size. Not the typical gut bomb. The best feature is the rooftop bar which was lively well into the wee hours. Signs indicate non-smoking but two customers were smoking outside the main serving area without any word from staff present. Drinks were good quality and priced as one would expect for the venue. The rooftop bar was closed all day Sunday. Parking was fine over the weekend but apparently parking police descend on the place bright and early on weekdays so take care to park in hotel designated areas.

Room tip: Stay on 3 or lower to avoid rooftop bar noise
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jeff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel I, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Tuscaloosa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2018

Thanks for staying with us Jeff T. We look forward to having you back with us again soon at Hotel Indigo Tuscaloosa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews