We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite hotel in Shanghai”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
URBN Boutique Shanghai
Ranked #32 of 5,105 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“My favourite hotel in Shanghai”
Reviewed 18 September 2012

I travel to Shanghai regularly for work, and have stayed in a number of different four- and five-star hotels. I love staying at URBN because the staff are incredibly kind and helpful, the setting and rooms are beautiful and the restaurant and bar are ideal for entertaining. The location of the hotel is convenient, especially if you are relying on taxis/walking as your major form of transport as opposed to the subway. I also love that the hotel is carbon- neutral. It's pretty rare to find environmentally conscious accommodation in China, so in my view that's just one more thing that makes this place special.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    384
    144
    34
    12
    13
See reviews for
29
171
79
218
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Great boutique hotel. The staff was very courteous, friendly, and helpful. This is true of the front desk staff and the doorman. One of the doorman went out of his way each time to catch me a cab crossing streets and at times I feared for his life. :) There was a feeling of personal service as the staff was able to call me by name after my 2nd day. A small gesture but a nod to service. I have had the pleasure to stay in many top name hotels but decided to stay at the Urbn and I'm happy that I did. The room was lovely, big (I'm from New York). My room was # 18 which was set in a quiet alcove...gave me privacy to come and go. The design of the room was lovely and very modern. I loved the big desk since I was staying there for business. Unfortunately, the wifi in the room wasn't consistent so this could be a problem for business travel. It was always consistent in the lobby so I wasn't out of options. I also enjoyed the restaurant. There was a nice range of international options. My food was delicious each morning. I can't wait to return! I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Staid at URBN several times! The rooms are huge compared to Europe or HK standards. They are very well appointed and you get all the goodies that you normally get in international 5* hotels. The bathrooms are spacious and the working area is smartly set-up.
Service is friendly and efficient. The overall design of the hotel and rooms is "eco-friendly" which is interesting specially in Shanghai.
The quality of the coffee shop/restaurant is good even if I only had lunch and coffee there. On evening time it seems to be very popular.
Will go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eolopinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

I loved my stay at URBN hotel. The design is very beautiful and the atmosphere is better than in the photos.Management and people in general are very kind and extremely helpful.Location is perfect for visiting the city and also for businnes.The bathroom of room 5 is amazing.
Take advantage of the massage service: very good quality!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilariaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Spent 3 nights at URBN and was not disappointed. Rooms were immaculate & beautifully designed, although the bathroom could offer more space for toiletries and the dry toilet should remain... well, dry (water escapes from the shower area).

Loved the breakfast menu, almost all items we ordered were delicious. The decor of the hotel is gorgeous, the suitcase wall behind the front desk is rather unique.

Location was great, within a few blocks away from the former French Concession, walking distance to Dragonfly massage (few doors away from URBN), Wagas cafe, convenience stores and a stall across the street selling man tou (buns) & dumplings.

Front desk staff were friendly and assisted us in each of our queries and requests, special thanks to Clark and Selina.

Overall, a pleasant experience and we look forward to return on our next trip.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Jing'an
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
#4 of 5,105 in Shanghai
1,464 reviews
Jing'an
Cachet Boutique Shanghai
Cachet Boutique Shanghai
#59 of 5,105 in Shanghai
225 reviews
Jing'an
Swissotel Grand Shanghai
Swissotel Grand Shanghai
#51 of 5,105 in Shanghai
1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Bund
Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund
Jing'an
THE ONE Executive Suites managed by Kempinski-Shanghai
Xintiandi
Andaz Xintiandi Shanghai
Andaz Xintiandi Shanghai
#29 of 5,105 in Shanghai
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Shanghai

Been to URBN Boutique Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about URBN Boutique Shanghai

Property: URBN Boutique Shanghai
Address: No.183 Jiaozhou Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200040, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#32 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#42 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#147 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price range (per night): $193 - $318
Hotel Class:4 star — URBN Boutique Shanghai 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
URBN Boutique Shanghai, the award-winning design-meets-sustainable boutique hotel, is ideally located in Shanghai's bustling downtown.  A former warehouse, the redesigned hotel is located on a quiet tree-lined street in Jing'an District with an abundance of independent bars and cafes in the surrounding streets and is only minutes away from the commercial shopping district and subway lines 2 and 7. URBN Boutique Shanghai offers sleek rooms and suites over 4 floors with a blend of contemporary, minimalist aesthetics and modern day comforts such as the COCO-MAT Renewal Bed, free wifi, a DVD home theater unit, high-definition television, an in-room safe, a selection of New York fashion designer Jay Godfrey's paraben-free bathroom amenities, a well-stocked mini bar and one-of-a-kind artwork. The hotel also features a 24-hour gym and an on-property restaurant which serves a selection of cuisine with a wide selection of craft beers, artisanal cocktails, and wine in a casual atmosphere both inside and under the tented courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your URBN Boutique Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Urbn Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing