We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elizabeth from Australia”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
URBN Boutique Shanghai
Ranked #38 of 5,082 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Elizabeth from Australia”
Reviewed 24 May 2012

urbn is a completeyl different experience from most hotels i have stayed at whilst travelling. The look of the hotel is in the latest mode with a hint of old Shanghai with the collage of old leather suitcases at the reception .the staff cant do enought for you to the restaurant surprised in its scope and quality.Will always stay here when visiting Shanghai .Thanks to all ther staff at urbn for a top vbisit .ill be back.Have already stayed 6 times

Room Tip: All rooms spacious with the latest mod cons
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elizabeth k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    380
    144
    34
    12
    13
See reviews for
27
171
78
217
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 24 May 2012

When you are in a city where no one seems to speak english you want as much help as you can get to make your stay comfortable and easy.
At Urbn help was always available with patience and with ease.
The hotel's staff were also helpful with useful suggestions to assist in making the most of our stay in Shanghai.
The hotel itself was extremely comfortable and spacious. A relaxed environment without compromising courtesy and service.
The hotel had a wonderful international buzz.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thomasjkwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
Reviewed 23 May 2012

I have been to Urbn twice - most recently in early May, and before that, in January.
Both times I stayed in the studio room. I think it's the smallest room, but still i found it quite spacious. I loved the decor, the vibe, and the layout is interesting (there is a sunken seating area, and the bathtub is not in bathroom but in the room - for easy tv viewing while relaxing in bath). The beds are comfy and the rooms are quiet, perfect for a good night's sleep. We had breakfast in the garden and it was very nice and relaxing, especially when the weather was nice and sunny. You forget that you're in the middle of a very busy part of town.
I have yet to see the rooftop - which I will do next time I visit.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ji k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong kong
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Service is not something that immediately springs to mind when staying in Shanghai, but Urbn's staff are on it. Very friendly and helpful and i just love the atmosphere on the ground floor - not your usual sterile, bland reception in a Shang or a Hyatt - you immediately feel like you are integrating into the heart of Shanghai. Edgy and cool. The bedrooms are well designed and elegant and there has been no messing around when it comes to the beds - just extremely comfortable.

Room Tip: Get one with a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankHK888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2012

I relocated to Shanghai for work in April 2012, should have found an apartment, but 6 weeks later I am still in Urbn. This is actually the 5th time in 2 years I have stayed at Urbn, including over Chinese New Year when it was a good refuge from the fireworks.

The area, Jing'an, is eclectic, and the setting of the hotel takes it back from the street into old world Shanghai with great modern design. The rooms are very comfortable and unique. The whole place is unique. The people are friendly and helpful.

I have found an apartment and am moving down the road, yet shall be back for drinks and food at the Downstairs restaurant.

For trip sort: it was all of the options combined. I did like the couple time though.

Room Tip: The rooms on the "half levels"; ie mezzanine levels, have a great design with a sunken bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Jing'an
Cachet Boutique Shanghai
Cachet Boutique Shanghai
#59 of 5,082 in Shanghai
218 reviews
Jing'an
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
#5 of 5,082 in Shanghai
1,450 reviews
Jing'an
Swissotel Grand Shanghai
Swissotel Grand Shanghai
#51 of 5,082 in Shanghai
1,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
#41 of 5,082 in Shanghai
772 reviews
Jing'an
THE ONE Executive Suites managed by Kempinski-Shanghai
South Bund
Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to URBN Boutique Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about URBN Boutique Shanghai

Property: URBN Boutique Shanghai
Address: No.183 Jiaozhou Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200040, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#38 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#42 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#148 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price range (per night): $197 - $305
Hotel Class:4 star — URBN Boutique Shanghai 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
URBN Boutique Shanghai, the award-winning design-meets-sustainable boutique hotel, is ideally located in Shanghai's bustling downtown.  A former warehouse, the redesigned hotel is located on a quiet tree-lined street in Jing'an District with an abundance of independent bars and cafes in the surrounding streets and is only minutes away from the commercial shopping district and subway lines 2 and 7. URBN Boutique Shanghai offers sleek rooms and suites over 4 floors with a blend of contemporary, minimalist aesthetics and modern day comforts such as the COCO-MAT Renewal Bed, free wifi, a DVD home theater unit, high-definition television, an in-room safe, a selection of New York fashion designer Jay Godfrey's paraben-free bathroom amenities, a well-stocked mini bar and one-of-a-kind artwork. The hotel also features a 24-hour gym and an on-property restaurant which serves a selection of cuisine with a wide selection of craft beers, artisanal cocktails, and wine in a casual atmosphere both inside and under the tented courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your URBN Boutique Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Urbn Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing