We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mansion Hotel
Nearby Hotels
USD 170
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 188
USD 145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 186
USD 155
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 252
USD 129
Sofitel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 149
USD 122
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 129
USD 85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 102
USD 82
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 353
USD 262
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 177
USD 114
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi(Shanghai)
USD 277
USD 231
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (109)
Filter reviews
109 results
Traveller rating
49
29
16
7
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
49
29
16
7
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop restaurantformer french concessionhuge bathsmall hotelshanghai experiencestreet foodrooms are spaciousopiumglamourbundenglish
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 109 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2012

I went to visit my daughter who was living in Shanghai, and i asked her to look for an interesting, characterful hotel in the city which was central, convenient and which would not completely break the bank! the rooms also needed to have a good bath to lie back and relax in. The latter condition proved quite demanding but finally she found the Mansion Hotel. It more than fulfilled our requirements - the reception and all the rooms are filled with quirky antique finds - old Remington typewriters and art deco radios. The doors to the individual rooms are enormously tall, and the rooms themselves correspondingly high-ceilinged with luxurious, high, soft (by Chinese standards) beds, and wonderful white-marbelled bathrooms (some with jacuzzis). The rooftop breakfast is also a pleasure, and the reception staff are unfailingly polite and helpful.- we had some rather unusual requests - they were up for the challenge and didn't even raise an eyebrow.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AubynCarus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evelyn L, Manager at Mansion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Thanks for staying with Mansion Hotel Shanghai. I am the new Marketing Communication Manager of Mansion Hotel. Mansion Hotel located in the center of Shanghai, with great view of former French Concession. We are so pleased to know that you did enjoy your stay here. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Great location in the French Concession... nice staff and good service... breakfast is OK... but the place needs some updating - air conditioner is terrible in the rooms; a bit dusty and carpets need replacment; charming location for a couple of days.

Room Tip: Old world charm and good location... but it is NOT for everyone.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JAR103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evelyn L, Manager at Mansion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Thanks for staying with Mansion Hotel Shanghai. I am the new Marketing Communication Manager of Mansion Hotel. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay. We appreciate your comments and will use them constructively. Our hotel has recently been renovated, the carpet has been all changed, the wallpapers as well. We are hoping to see you again on your next trip to Shanghai.Thanks again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

I stayed there twice, as i do like the antique and art deco, i found it quite interesting. The old type of phone, record, foot stands.. the concept is pretty good. I was also recommended to friends who are in design and art busines to stay there/
However, the service is really bad, the waiters and waiteress not trainned as a luxury hotel it should be.. and the restaurant.. they really should do something about it... way too old..

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chiara_Corelone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evelyn L, Manager at Mansion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Thanks for staying with Mansion Hotel Shanghai. I am the new Marketing Communication Manager of Mansion Hotel. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay. We appreciate your comments and will use them constructively, to continue to train our team members and strive to improve our service levels. Please accept my apologies for the let down in service levels and if there is anything we can do to assist, we would encourage you to liase directly with the hotel, as we would be delighted to help in any way we can. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Shanghai.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

We stayed in the hotel twice during our trip to China & found the hotel a great retreat from the normal hecktic China.
The rooms are spacious and beautifuly furnished, we found all the staff helpful & plesant.
With the garden providing a buffer between the hotel & the Husssel of the streets.
It is located just one block back from a main shopping street, with resturants and bars just a few metres from the entrance.
Would allways stay in this Hotel on any future visits to Shanghai.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ozbraids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evelyn L, Manager at Mansion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Thanks for staying with Mansion Hotel Shanghai. Mansion Hotel located in the center of Shanghai, with great view of former French Concession. We are so pleased to know that you did enjoy your stay here. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Shanghai。

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Strange place. Evokes old Shanghai, spacioys lobby, nice change from business hotels but service is a disaster. Concierge sent me to wrong addresses, they hardlyt spoke English behind the desk, they do try hard but for a 5-Star hotel that is not enough. Have had better breakfasts in youth hostels! If you have a sense of humour, are travelling for leisure, or speak Chinese it is maybe worth a shot. Basically, they need professional management - badly.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ursa387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evelyn L, Manager at Mansion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Thanks for staying with Mansion Hotel Shanghai. I am the new Marketing Communication Manager of Mansion Hotel. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay. We appreciate your comments and will use them constructively, to continue to train our team members and strive to improve our service levels. Please accept my apologies for the let down in service levels and if there is anything we can do to assist, we would encourage you to liase directly with the hotel, as we would be delighted to help in any way we can. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Shanghai.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews