We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this hotel - it sucks”
Review of Zhongxiang Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Zhongxiang Hotel
Ranked #1,159 of 5,138 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed 31 August 2009

Lets start with the negatives: 1) Horrible Location - construction all around the area, noise and disgusting people walking around, smells bad outside, solid 10 minute walk to the train station, food options are crap (just a McDonalds) 2) Beds - Awful, unless you like sleeping on a rock 3) Internet - crap 4) Food - breakfast selection was small and not good 5) Amenities - No pool or gym. 6) Room service - seems to be closed after 11pm...they told us to try McDonalds. Positives: The customer service was excellent, after we complained about the room they upgraded us to a suite, which was marginally tolerable. I advise you not to stay here, look for a hotel closer to the city centre near the bund/TV tower area.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellingbuddy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

25 - 29 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2008

We stayed at the Days Hotel Shanghai in November 2008. A really good hotel, very comfortable and the staff are great. The rooms are really spacious, and the bathrooms are just great - with a bath and a separate shower.

We found the glass wall between the bedroom and the bathroom quite funny. We would not have been able to afford this hotel had we booked directly but I do know that the tour agency that we booked through got a really fabulous deal.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to couples who want a comfortable stay. There is also a hair and beauty salon in the hotel which was very useful.

My only problem with this hotel was the location. I would definitely not recommend walking around the neighbourhood at night even though it is right next door to the railway station. It is about a 15 minute taxi ride to the main shopping and tourist spots. Taxis are quite inexpensive though.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank EvaSA08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2008

Part of the Days Inn chain, the Days Hotel in Shanghai is possibly a bit more modern and upscale than its North American counterpart; however, the location of the hotel left very little to be desired. Located just north of the main Shanghai attractions (the Bund, Nanjing Road, etc), the Days Hotel sticks out like a sore thumb amongst construction rubble. The closest subway station is the Shanghai Railway Station but the walk towards the subway was down an alleyway lined with vomit and reeking of a heavy urine smell.

Our room had two double beds, both firm but comfortable. Bedding was white cotton duvets and the room came with two free bottles of water per day. On our first night, we discovered a huge brown, sticky substance on the sheets at the top of the bed by the headboard. The next morning, imagine our embarrassment when our room attendant discovered the stain and looked at us accusingly! We tried our best in broken Chinese to tell her it wasn’t our fault and that it was there when we arrived. She changed the sheets and later that day, we found the same brown, sticky stain on it in exactly the same location! We discovered that the stain was actually battery acid that had been leaking from a flashlight located just above the bed. We brought the flashlight down to the lobby manager and explained to him what had happened. He said he would call housekeeping to get the soiled sheets changed but no one came that night. The next day, new sheets appeared along with a non-leaking flashlight.

Breakfast buffet was served on the 3rd floor and it offered both North American and Chinese selections. We had an early departure (5:30am) and the hotel was kind enough to package up a breakfast on the go for us which included a container with two cakes, a bottle of water, a yogurt and an orange.

I wouldn’t choose to stay at this hotel again just because we didn’t enjoy the location. It was dank and desolate. The street on the other side of the railway station looked to be more modern and brightly lit but we never ventured there.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank TravellerGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2008

This Hotel is quite close to Shanghai Station but you cannot hear the trains in fact it was very quiet up on th 12th floor.The rooms are superb with every facility available (Razors toothbrushes combs etc.etc.)The in house Restaurants were superb and excellent value.The Concierge were extremely helpful with booking tours,Taxi's,and an evening show which was superb.
The surrounding area is about to be redeveloped like a lot of Shanghai but don't be put off by this.This is an excellent Hotel at a very reasonable price.
Mick & Jean
London

Stayed: April 2008
1  Thank Golfnut08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2008

Days Hotel is a relatively new and modern hotel located in a mixed residential/commercial area that is some distance to Shanghai's tourist spots like the Bund and the Museum. We stayed there for 3 nights in late February as part of a Smartours group from San Francisco. This hotel is part of the Days Inn franchise.

The areas on both sides of the hotel appeared to have recently been cleared so the views from some rooms including ours were not that good. All we saw were plenty of debris but in 3-5 years these areas will have new high rises (same is true in many sections of Shanghai where they are clearing old neighborhoods for redevelopment.) There were restaurants and shops across the hotel including a McDonalds a block away. We felt safe walking around the neighborhood even though some residential areas looked blighted.

Our room was standard with 2 full beds. Bathroom was large with a tub (some rooms have see-through baths.) All furnishings were modern including the 27 inch LCD TV and a sophisticated light control switch by the bed. Room had small fridge and complementaries included 2 bottles of water, coffee and tea, slippers, free use of safe and DSL connection. There was a weighing scale (great for checking our luggage weight) plus bathrobes and full bath accessory kit (comb, toothbrush, swabs to go with the lotions and soap). Bed was very firm but OK. Heating was good. Room was comfortable and clean.

The reception area was small but functional. We did not have a chance to explore the hotel facilities as we were mostly out on tours. It was interesting that the hotel's top floor was used as storage room rather than a penthouse or a restaurant..

Our package included the daily breakfast buffets at the modern styled coffee shop on the third floor. Food was good with a wide variety of American dishes (bacon, sausage, eggs, toasts, cereals, salads, etc.) and Chinese dishes (fried rice, chow mein, pork dishes, dumplings, etc.) with the fruits and juices and an omelet station. We also ate at Ming Garden, the only restaurant in the hotel located on the second floor, and tried a variety of their dumplings and soup which were delicious and cheap ($12 for 2.) The place was empty except for our table and one other table so we have 3 waitresses waiting for us. They could not speak English (as most staff in this hotel except maybe for the clerks at the reception desk and the managers) so nobody warned me about the hot juice in one of the dumplings that squirted and scalded my upper lip (iced it and it was OK.)

Because of its location, there was no choice but take a taxi to everywhere. Taxis were cheap ($2-3) but sometimes hard to flag down unless helped by the hotel doorman. Shanghai's traffic was bad and seemed worse than Beijing so a taxi ride could cost more. Shanghai has more rainy days but the hotel provides umbrellas for free use by guests.

The hotel's ATM machine did not accept Visa/Mastercard so we had to walk 3-4 long blocks to the right of the hotel past the freeway to find one.

All in all, hotel was clean, modern and comfortable and rates are a bargain. We do not mind staying here again.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank filamblogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Shanghai Railway Station
Home Inn Shanghai Station North Square
Shanghai Railway Station
Shanghai Railway Mansion Hotel
Shanghai Railway Mansion Hotel
#394 of 5,138 in Shanghai
56 reviews
Shanghai Railway Station
Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown
Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown
#135 of 5,138 in Shanghai
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sichuan North Road
Mingde Grand Hotel Shanghai
Mingde Grand Hotel Shanghai
#1,152 of 5,138 in Shanghai
170 reviews
Starr Hotel
#136 of 5,138 in Shanghai
60 reviews
Shanghai Railway Station
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
#62 of 5,138 in Shanghai
1,747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Shanghai

Been to Zhongxiang Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zhongxiang Hotel

Address: No.1558 Zhongxing Road, Shanghai 200070, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Shanghai Railway Station
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#283 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $79 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Zhongxiang Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Expedia APAC, Ctrip TA, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Zhongxiang Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Shanghai
Shanghai Days Hotel
Days Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing