We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yearly company meeting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Eton Hotel Shanghai
Ranked #99 of 5,161 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 March 2017

I have been coming here the past 3 years. My company has an office in the tower next door. We have our yearly conference here for a week with about 40 some folks from around the world. Several of us stay here which is always set up by our Shanghai office. I have always enjoyed my stay. I have been fortunate to have been put up in BEAUTIFUL corner rooms with awesome amenities. This hotel definitely has a 5 star feel and the hotel staff treat you that way. I will be flying in for our 2017 conference this Thursday and look forward to my week and a half stay.

Room Tip: Corner suites have awesome views of the river and Pudong area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jessca_zhao, Public Relations Manager at The Eton Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2017

Dear John P, Thank you very much for choosing The Eton Hotel for your visit to Shanghai. We really appreciate you taking the time to give us your valuable feedback on Tripadvisor.We are looking forward to seeing you again soon in the future. Best wishes, Jessica Zhao Assistant Marketing & Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (767)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

34 - 38 of 767 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2017 via mobile

This hotel overlooks the river in Shanghai. It's about an hour from the International airport. The room I was allocated was on the 40th (top) floor and was clean, spacious and very comfortable. Everything necessary was provided and was in great condition. I had supper in the Eton Cafe on the 3rd floor. The spread of food in the buffet was extensive and very good quality. Highly recommended.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jessca_zhao, Public Relations Manager at The Eton Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2017

Dear James W, Thank you very much for choosing The Eton Hotel for your visit to Shanghai. We really appreciate you taking the time to give us your valuable feedback on Tripadvisor.We are looking forward to seeing you again soon in the future. Best wishes, Jessica Zhao Assistant Marketing & Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2017

Pro's:
1. Location: convenient. Subway station is just across the street.
2. Overall: Pretty clean and tidy
3. House keeping: Fast and efficient (we asked for a replacement box of tissue. The minute we hung up the phone, the minute the house keeping staff knocked on our door.)
4. Hotel quality - hard ware: not bad.

Con's:
1. Check in: Horrible. The staff (including the manager) at the check in counter were rude, arrogant and helpless.
2. Buffet breakfast: Terrible. The receptionist asked for our room number and checked off from her list, and asked us to find our own table. It was during CNY, hence, it was super crowded and we couldn't even find a table. The spaces between tables was about the length of 1.5 iPhone 6 plus, basically you can't squeeze through without squeezing your butt up to walk through. Needless to say, people's butt or their clothes could easily 'swing across" your plate of food or cup of tea. After a long long hunt of a vacant table, finally we got one, but it took forever to get someone to come clean the table up.
I would think a 2 star hotel might offer better service or table layout and settings. At least, they should have made enough space between tables to let people walk through.

3. Lift lobby on ground floor: during peak hours, they should have a staff to help organize people to take the lifts - first comes first served or to wait in line. People don't line up, they all rush to the 1st elevator arrived and fight their way into the lift. Hence, for 'stupid' people like me who don't like to be rude, I found it took me forever to get into a lift.

4. Air conditioning in the room was bad. The temperature was too warm, however, it was the same if you put the temperature up or down, or to put the fan up or down.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank W0ngJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jessca_zhao, Public Relations Manager at The Eton Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2017

Dear W0ngJ, Thank you very much for choosing The Eton Hotel for your visit to Shanghai. We really appreciate you taking the time to give us your valuable feedback on Tripadvisor.We are looking forward to seeing you again soon in the future. Best wishes, Jessica Zhao Assistant Marketing & Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2017 via mobile

Just an average hotel for me. Did not meet my expectation considering the brand and the rate. I guess the hotel itself is very good. I think it's the service that put Eton not the best hotel for me. Some were excellent but some were rude. But most staff we encountered are not welcoming. Not the best location also but atleast it's accessible. The food quality was good though. My room was great and clean.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled on business
Thank whenwhen12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jessca_zhao, Public Relations Manager at The Eton Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2017

Dear whenwhen12, Thank you very much for choosing The Eton Hotel for your visit to Shanghai. We really appreciate you taking the time to give us your valuable feedback on Tripadvisor.We are looking forward to seeing you again soon in the future. Best wishes, Jessica Zhao Assistant Marketing & Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2017 via mobile

Had a great experience at this hotel. Breakfast was fantastic. All the room facilities were great. Even the health club, locker rooms, swimming pool were all very good. Only thing was the hot tub was not hot, but that seemed minor compared to how great everything else was.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
Thank MichaelJamesCole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jessca_zhao, Public Relations Manager at The Eton Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2017

Dear MichaelJamesCole, Thank you very much for choosing The Eton Hotel for your visit to Shanghai. We really appreciate you taking the time to give us your valuable feedback on Tripadvisor.We are looking forward to seeing you again soon in the future. Best wishes, Jessica Zhao Assistant Marketing & Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Novotel Shanghai Atlantis
#49 of 5,161 in Shanghai
902 reviews
Waigaoqiao
Sheraton Shanghai Waigaoqiao Hotel
Century Park
Dorsett Shanghai
Dorsett Shanghai
#75 of 5,161 in Shanghai
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shanghai Railway Station
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
#63 of 5,161 in Shanghai
1,789 reviews
Shanghai Railway Station
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
World Expo
Sheraton Grand Shanghai Pudong Hotel & Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Eton Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Eton Hotel Shanghai

Address: No.535 Pudong Avenue, Pudong New Area, Shanghai 200120, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#49 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#51 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#55 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#94 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $120 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Eton Hotel Shanghai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 460
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis of refined luxury and contemporary style in the heart of the bustling metropolis, five-star The Eton Hotel Shanghai is ideally located in the Lujiazui Finance and Trade Zone of Shanghai's Pudong district. Rises 40 storeys above the Huangpu River, The Eton Hotel Shanghai had its grand opening on March 1, 2007.460 rooms that offer spectacular city views of Shanghai and the Bund from different perspectives are exquisitely appointed with original artwork and impeccable design. The unique & spacious atrium between every other floor adds an extra dimension to hotel’s peaceful and comfortable environment.With superb service, attentive personnel and outstanding facilities which include four excellent international restaurants, one lounge and one bar, thirteen function rooms for meetings and events, health club with a spa and a full-length indoor swimming pool - The Eton Hotel Shanghai sets the benchmark in exclusive staying experience for the discerning travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Ctrip TA, Wotif.com, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, lastminute.com.au and getaroom.com so you can book your The Eton Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eton Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing