We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable bed and all .....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Shanghai Fudan
Ranked #88 of 5,159 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 December 2011

Its location is great, just out of traffic jams as all over the downtown Shanghai. Out from the middle ring road tunnel and a u-turn and you are home of sort. Surrounded by Fudan Univercity and to the right side a short distance away are shops with delicious food and things to browse at night. The manager, the reception staffs were very efficient and even the friendly porters speak english. The coffee house staffs were very attendant and immediately served whatever we asked. Pleasant surroundings at the lobby and the nice washrooms there as well.Wish I had more time to make use of the other amenities.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yesujin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (491)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

203 - 207 of 491 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2011

I was surprised by some of the negatives reviews. On my 11 day Chinese tour my family and I stayed at 4 "five star" hotels and this hotel was the best one. It had the largest rooms, most comfortable beds, best bathroom and nicest swimming pool. The location seemed far away from anything but since we were on a tour and we got picked up everyday by our tour bus it wasn't a big deal for us. If I was traveling independently I would probably find something closer to all the action and downtown Shanghai.

The swimming pool was very large and comfortable. Enjoyed the breakfast buffet which was included in our tour. I did receive prompt service and did not have a problem with service at breakfast as mentioned in previous posts. I got plently of hot tea and found the many choices delightful. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mirandium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Stayed here in September. Not the easiest hotel to find, location not really convenient, but not hotel's fault. The room was fine, but felt like the service area lacked. The breakfast service was just not good enough...breakfast should feel relaxed and serviced, not trying to hunt and yell for refills on tea. I have stayed in Crown Plaza's for a good part of the past 15 years in China, but feel like they have slipped and now try to stay at their sister chain Intercontinental...price is a small increase, but the service and room standards are significantly better. Maybe the best Crowne Plaza managers are moving to take over new Intercontinentals...sure feels like it.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travel_LTE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2011

Pro's: it's roomy, clean, staff is nice.

Con's: the cooking smells from the kitchen reached parts they shouldn't have.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jhwh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

We stayed here for two nights as part of a tour. Very pleased with the large bathroom with tub and shower. Beds were comfortable and room is nice size. The included breakfast was extensive with Eastern and Western dishes, fresh fruits and pastries. Did not use the restaurants otherwise. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RERD09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christophe Jean... L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Shanghai Fudan, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience in our hotel. we do value your comments and do hope to welcome you back in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Waigaoqiao
Crowne Plaza Shanghai Pudong
Crowne Plaza Shanghai Pudong
#81 of 5,159 in Shanghai
346 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Crowne Plaza Shanghai
Crowne Plaza Shanghai
#102 of 5,159 in Shanghai
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Caoyang / Zhenru
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai Hong Quan
Jiangwan / Wujiaochang
Howard Johnson Caida Plaza Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Shanghai

Been to Crowne Plaza Shanghai Fudan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Shanghai Fudan

Address: No.199 Handan Road, Shanghai, China, Shanghai 200433, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jiangwan / Wujiaochang
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#49 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#65 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#84 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#117 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $145 - $369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Shanghai Fudan 4.5*
Number of rooms: 309
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Fudan Shanghai officially opened on the 12th June 2006Crowne Plaza Fudan is situated in the Yangpu district, opposite the prestigious Fudan University on Handan Road, the new opened Wanda commercial centre with Shopping Mall and Wal-Mart; easy access to Shanghai's CBD district, the Bund, Pudong and tourist attractions.At the Crowne Plaza Fudan, you'll enjoy a comfortable stay with attentive, courteous service and an impressive offering of business facilities and leisure venues. Crowne Plaza Fudan offers 309 elegantly appointed guest rooms with 34 suites each designed in a contemporary style. From our Standard, Premier and Crowne Plaza Club rooms to our spacious suites, each selection is sure to meet your needs.Committed to meeting the needs of the business traveler, Crowne Plaza Fudan offers an extended range of business services. From meeting venues featuring state-of-the-art audio-visual and communications systems to our Meeting Success program, we've got all your needs covered. What's more, we offer a host of leisure venues and concierge-arranged tours, adding additional enjoyment to your stay In bustling Shanghai, you'll agree The Place to Meet is Crowne Plaza Fudan Shanghai ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Ctrip TA, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hooroo Pty Ltd so you can book your Crowne Plaza Shanghai Fudan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Shanghai Fudan Hotel Shanghai
Shanghai Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing