We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hidden treasure in Shanghai”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pudi Boutique Hotel
Ranked #216 of 5,059 Hotels in Shanghai
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful hidden treasure in Shanghai”
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Hotel within walking distance of Shanghai's stylish Xin Tian Di. Several restraurants and shopping within walking distance, very safe area. Dragon Spa down the street, very reasonable and a welcome respite from the rigors of travel.

Room Tip: Construction going on in buiding so mornings, daytime were pretty noisy on my floor but the room was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KerriW62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    73
    32
    17
    4
See reviews for
25
62
28
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

After going back and forth about staying in The French Concession vs. staying near The Bund, we choose the Pudi in order to attempt to experience less touristy Shanghai. The hotel is sort of in a strange but safe location, but in order to get to restaurants or nightlife, it was necessary to take a cab. The first night we arrived the cab driver charged us way more than he should have (make sure the cab pulls into the valet when getting dropped off) and Peter, one of the efficient staff members went above and beyond to investigate the situation and did his best to rectify it. If you are visiting on business, it was nice to have a printer and fully-equipped in the room. The rooms are spacious although a bit dark. We never went to the bar or restaurant, but checked out the roof which had nice views. Note that some of the front desk were more helpful/friendly than others and the lobby is quite unimpressive and not a good representation of the room quality. Seemed as though the noisy club many people talk about was under construction and closed during our visit.

Room Tip: We were on a high floor which was very quiet so I'd recommend it. It also seemed brighter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kaykaysd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

I had the opportunity to stay in during my business travel and many of my experienced business travellers recommended me to experience this and i did...I loved it. absolutely unique experience, not commercial, very calming, as soon as you walk in the hotel and the room, your tiredness disappear. rooms are unbelievable, expensive of cause however you have experience this if you are a business traveller. everthing you see and touch in this hotel is unique. restaurant is small however again this is not commercial hotel, you feel like somewhere you fimiliar and instantly you love thisd place. you can see topend Shanghai shopping streets from the hotel windows. Hotel rooms consists of your own bar, office table, bathrooms are massive and fittings are very unique. Business travelers try this....get this experience, believe me !!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shiran A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay in the Pudi Boutique. The hotel is very charming. It is in a great location--close to the subway and shopping. We also loved the free happy hour, internet and the very friendly staff.

Will definitely happily return!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank balt_more
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

This is a really cool sexy hotel.
The hotel has beautiful designer features- there is a fishtank between every room door, the bathroom is luxurious, the bedroom is spacious. I loved this hotel- I could have spent all day in my room it was just beautiful.
The staff are very helpful.
Rooms are very clean.
Location is good.
You will not be disappointed if you stay here.
Only drawback is there is not restaurant- so you need to go out for all meals- but really it is so cool & beautiful that you really don't mind this.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IAmAGlobalNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Former French Concession
Fenyang Garden Boutique Hotel
Fenyang Garden Boutique Hotel
#141 of 5,059 in Shanghai
97 reviews
Former French Concession
Hengshan Moller Villa Hotel
Hengshan Moller Villa Hotel
#152 of 5,059 in Shanghai
207 reviews
People’s Square
Ascott Huai Hai Road Shanghai
Ascott Huai Hai Road Shanghai
#134 of 5,059 in Shanghai
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Xintiandi
Andaz Xintiandi Shanghai
Andaz Xintiandi Shanghai
#27 of 5,059 in Shanghai
851 reviews
Former French Concession
Howard Johnson Huaihai Hotel Shanghai
Former French Concession
Mason Hotel Shanghai
Mason Hotel Shanghai
#180 of 5,059 in Shanghai
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pudi Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pudi Boutique Hotel

Property: Pudi Boutique Hotel
Address: No.99 Yandang Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200020, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Former French Concession , Huaihai Road
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#181 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#210 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price range (per night): $157 - $305
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pudi Boutique Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pudi Boutique Hotel Shanghai is located near Fuxing Park, in the heart of the former French Concession area. The deluxe 8-storey hotel features 52 spacious European-style rooms, an executive lounge, cigar bar, meeting room and business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pudi Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pudi Boutique Shanghai
Shanghai Pudi Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing