We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Nearby Hotels
USD 136
USD 127
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 253
USD 129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 98
USD 82
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 170
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 147
Radisson Blu
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 124
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 275
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,950)
Filter reviews
2,950 results
Traveller rating
1,587
992
245
77
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,587
992
245
77
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnanjing roadthe royal club loungepeople's squarelobby floorpeople's parkspg memberfloor to ceiling windowsexcellent locationbund view roomjunior suitehigh floorwalking streetrain showerbreakfast buffetchinese restaurantmodern hotelshopping area
Filter
Updating list...
1,367 - 1,372 of 2,950 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2012

My 53rd-floor room is pleasant, comfortable, and well-equipped. Even though it's a single room, not a suite, the unusual design cleverly separates it visually into three separate areas: bed, lounge area, and the largely open bathroom and dressing area. The furnishing includes a sofa, armchair, large coffee table, and a good work desk with a proper desk chair. The lighting is well-designed, including nightlights.

The trendy bathroom area includes a picture window between the bathroom and the lounge; a blind that can be closed and the frosted glass wall of the bathroom and WC will mostly preserve modesty if required (but watch out for the large gap around the glass doors). The design of the washbasin area is so cool and contemporary that it doesn't bother with a towel rail, and includes an unnecessary gap of several centimetres all around the perimeter, which reduces the usable area and puts the vase of flowers next to the faucet (a nice touch) in constant peril of falling on the marble floor. The adjacent glass shelves are large and useful.

Closet and drawer space is surprisingly limited for a room like this, and is largely pre-filled with bathrobes, happi coats, slippers, an umbrella, ironing equipment, a clothes brush, safe, etc etc etc.

For 1250 yuan/day (booked long ahead, non-cancellable), this room is a pretty good deal. But of course, a price like that does not include the expensive hotel breakfast or the usurious Internet fee. But I know I'll use both, so when checking in, I allow the desk clerk to upsell me to a package that combines both of these into one very expensive package (400 yuan/day) that throws in club lounge access. (Cheaper, lighter breakfasts are available on the street right outside the hotel.)

The breakfast buffet in the club lounge is largely Western in style, including eggs cooked to order, but some Chinese choices are also available. The armchairs are rather too low and, by their design, necessarily too far from the table to eat in comfort. Needing to dip my head to avoid the large potted faux ficus when getting out of my seat is a bit of an annoyance. The serving staff are polite, attentive, and surprisingly error-prone. Two days out of three, they clear away my place (including my still-half-empty coffee) and reset it ready it for new customer while I am just away getting food from the buffet. Earlier, although I am by myself, I am brought two cups of coffee, presumably destined for another table. Later, a waiter reaches right over my arm to snatch away my empty plate just as I am raising a cup of coffee.

The biggest annoyance is the music in the elevators and lobby. A plaque in the elevators extols the fact that it is highly eclectic and has been specially "curated" by some expert elevator-and-lobby music "curator". Mostly, the music is awful; every selection seems to be chosen to appeal to some narrow demographic and repel everyone else. It will offend most people most of the time and many people all of the time. Perhaps the goal is to discourage use of the elevators.

But the annoyances are all minor. Overall, my room at Le Royal Méridien Shanghai was one of the most pleasant I have stayed in (and that includes many larger multi-room suites) and I enjoyed my stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WoodlandCreature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leroyalmeridien_sh, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2012

Dear Guest,



Thank you for sharing such detailed feedback with us at Tripadvisor.com. We really appreciate your suggestions and will share with the team today to ensure improvements are made where necessary. Please do let us know when your travels bring you back through Shanghai as we look forward to being of service again in the future.




Daniel Aylmer

General Manager
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Le Royal Meridien is definetely my preferred option when in Shanghai. Stayed with my wife this last weekend, it was not the first nor the last time, and we just love it. Location is extraordinary, right next to the People Sq Tube station, 10 mins by taxi from the French Quarter and 5 mins by taxi from the bond.

Service is amazing. The staff does not stop until they feel you are confortable and have everything you need. Specialy the hostesses that are normally near the lifts. The lifts have a great collection of music, from a special Le Meridien selected DJ - love it. Executive Lounge staff know your name and on the second day they remember your coffee preference - just perfect!

The rooms - this time we stayed in a Junior Suite. Very nice design, the shower is huge and the TV is on a special stand at the end of the bed - great gimmick.

You can see that the team knows a lot about service, Food and Beverage Marketing and how to spoil a regular guest.

The only complaint is that my wife wants to come back again very soon!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TATAS5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leroyalmeridien_sh, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2012

Dear Reviewer

There are few things in life better than a full score on tripadvisor.com. Thank you for your great review on almost all aspects of Le Royal Meridien Shanghai. The team and I are truly appreciative and humbled. We are grateful that you noticed the essence of our service. We look forward to welcoming you and your wife come back soon and in being of service again.

Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Le Royal Meridien Shanghai is an excellent hotel. While in Shanghai, I have stayed here and at the Westin Shanghai Bund - prefer Le Royal Meridien Shanghai for the location benefits and breakfast buffet.

Location is fantastic - in great part of the city on the famous Nanjing road. Walking distance to restaurants, shopping (both Western and Eastern styles). If one has the time, one must try the Portugese egg custard tarts at Lillian Cake Shop that are in the lower level of the nearby shopping mall.

Rooms facing the city have excellent views - floor-to-ceiling windows provide great views of the busy streets and interesting buildings. Rooms are very clean and comfortable.

Amenities include excellent club lounge (delicious food), spacious fitness center with swiming pool, and hotel restaurant with amazing breakfast buffet!

Hotel staff exhibits top service - very polite and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1-Around-World
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 July 2012

Dear Reviewer - thank you for sharing your recent feedback with our friends at tripadvisor.com and we are pleased to have received a full score. The team and I do hope to be of service again in the future when your travels bring you back through Shanghai.

Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Location of hotel is excellent.
Check in procedure was somewhat time consuming, our rooms were not ready although we arrived in about 4 pm. The rooms were well spacious and modern with good amenities,however wardrobes were slightly small.
Rooms were clean and housekeeping was excellent. Staff were very kind and responsible. Breakfast was very complete and plenty of different foods and beverages were available.
Restaurants were nice but somewhat expensive.
Pool was clean and nice but really small sized for a such a huge hotel.
Check out procedure was OK.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beh13t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 July 2012

Dear Reviewer - thank you for sharing such a positive feedback with us on Tripadvisor.com. The team and I are truly glad to read that we were able to provide you with a comfortable and memorable stay during your travels through China.

Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

As many reviewers confirm, this is a great hotel, with excellent location and beautiful room, and friendly service. The area near People's Square might be a bit noisy and crowded, but it is close to many tourist attractions: shops, restaurants, museums, etc. It's easy to walk around and find whatever you need. We even went to a movie at the theatre nearby; unfortunately the British film was dubbed (we prefer the original language). The only issue is that the hotel price used to be quite reasonable, but it's getting higher and higher. An important tip for the traffic: It's hard to get any taxi in the Nanjing East Road around 10 PM; the only chance is at the door on the 1st floor of the hotel, where taxis come and go for the guests of the night club here.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madprofessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 July 2012

Dear Reviewer - thank you for your review and feedback related to your recent stay in our hotel. I will be sharing your suggestions and feedback with the team today to ensure improvements are made where necessary. The team and I do hope to be of service again in the near future.

Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews