We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice end of busy week”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Ranked #38 of 5,059 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Poznan, Poland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice end of busy week”
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Last 2 days after exhibition we have spent in this hotel. This was like paradise after moving from Ramada Plaza Peace Hotel.

Location: perfect - Nanjing street just over the corner, Starbucks, Subway and other coffee shops in front of entry of hotel. Walking distance to Bund (15 min),Old City ( 25 min). By taxi:
French concession ( 10 min), airport ( 1 h).

Room: large and well equipped, perfect view on city, king size bed.

Breakfast: all what you need - Chinese and European, wide choice of hot meals, cappuccino and espresso available, breakfast room crowded - but still enough place to find free table, terrace outside - with sunshine weather possible to eat outside.

Internet: available, 100 RMB per day

Taxi: in front of hotel, trip to airport ca. 200 RMB ( 1 h), limousine service available in hotel as well

Service: high quality, language skills high level, possible to have advice where to eat or to go.

Price: ca. 150 EUR per night incl. breakfast

Value for money: yes, this hotel is worth of this price

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toudi_1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leroyalmeridien_sh, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Dear Reviewer - thank you for sharing your feedback with our friends at tripadvisor.com and we are humbled with receiving an almost perfect score. the team and I do hope and look forward in being of service again in the future.

Keep Discovering!

Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,540 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,322
    893
    218
    66
    41
See reviews for
251
428
173
1,129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
103 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Very well sky lit buffet for breakfast, loads of choices, walk out the groun door to a true representation of almost all retail brands availalbe today in China (Nanjing Donglu), and not too far to walk to People's Park.

The views higher up are really spectuacular so go for it- request to reserve one before you arrive! Rooms are a bit Euro-istic, good design but not a lot of storage space, otherwise very comfortable. Great bed.

Will gladly stay here again if others I travel with choose it.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rs88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leroyalmeridien_sh, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear Reviewer - thank you for your feedback related to your recent stay and we would like to apologise for the lack of empathy of one of the team here at Le Royal Meridien. This is not usually the case and I will share your experience with the team today.

Keep Discovering and we hope to be of service again in the future.

Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012 via mobile

Being one of the preferred (and heavily utilized) hotels with my company, I stayed here for one night during my visit to Shanghai. I emailed the hotel a couple of days prior to my arrival to arrange pickup at Pudong Airport, and they nailed it. The driver, and car were pleasant with bottled water provided for the trip to the hotel. Upon arrival, the concierge and reception staff were extremely courteous. After check-in, I was escorted to the elevator- a nice touch. The room, lime the hotel, is grand. Adorned with marble and glass, it was as beautiful as it was spacious. The view from my floor was spectacular.

After the great experience thus far, the next morning was a little bit of a miss. The breakfast buffet staff was inattentive- both the cooks at the egg station as well as the servers in the dining area. The food quality was average to poor. I'm an adventurous eater with a wide palate, and didn't find much that I would regard as excellent. I found one of favorite delicacies-pidan- for breakfast, and it too was lacking in freshness and flavor. Another patron slipped due to a wet floor close to my table which was noticed by a manager. The manager did help the patron up, and the two exchanged some words about the wet floor. After the patron left, the manager just glanced at the floor and walked away, not fixing the problem. I found that in odd contrast to the excellent service I experienced during check-in the day before.

If I could give the hotel 3.5 stars, I would. It is beautiful, and the inconsistent service is a disservice to those employees that do provide, and should be commended for, a great experience.


Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank ThaFurnace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Stayed there March 2012 for a week, for a show at the Shanghai Expo Center in Pudong. First of all, the location is awesome if you do mostly work in Puxi. It is right next to NanJing walking road. As you come out of the hotel, turn left and you are on Nanjing walking road. There is a Subway and Dunken Donut right outside of the hotel. You can find just about anything on NanJing road, so the convenience of it is absolutely wonderful. And even beside NanJing road, the ShiMao building itself (where the hotel is part of) has a department store, so you can also shop there. It is not far from Xintiandi, I think about 14-16RMB ride. Not far from Bund. Also not too far from ChengHuang Temple if you want to see people and people and people. So location is great. It is just that if you want to go to Pudong everyday, as we did, it takes a while due to traffic.

Hotel is great, though not cheap. Has pretty much all the amenities you'd expect from a high end Starwood hotel. Room is good size, nicely decorated in a modern fashion. Breakfast is good, though about 240RMB. Check-in is at 11th floor. Staff was friendly, spoke good English. 66th floor has a lounge and it overlooks good part of Shanghai and has great view. Overall a good experience. If it was slightly less expensive, I would give it 5 stars. I do recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisW70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leroyalmeridien_sh, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this review, 8 April 2012
Dear Reviewer, thank you for sharing your recent experience at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai with our friends and partners at Tripadvisor.com. We are also humbled by your review and rating us with an almost perfect score. We will continue to look for ways to improve your future stays when travelling to Shanghai. thank you again.

Keep Discovering,

Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2012

First the good: The hotel is in the dead center of Shanghai and the views are spectacular. From our 42nd floor room, we saw Peoples' Square and beyond, day and night and that is really worth the price. As is usual for a Starwood property, most of the staff were friendly, helpful and efficient, making guests feel truly welcome. The room was well appointed, clean and comfortable, if a bit smallish.

However, the concierge staff were less than helpful when it came to information about public transportation. The final bill had a large mystery charge on it ("luxury package"), which in all fairness, was removed when I protested.

We ate in the hotel's Italian restaurant. Here the Meridien really fell down. Staff, while efficient, were cold and arrogant, the food was mediocre in quality and miniscule in quantity and the prices were extremely high relative to what one got. My guests and I were very disappointed.

In sum - excellent location, great views, most (but not all) of the staff very pleasant and helpful. Will I return to this hotel? No.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haifisch101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leroyalmeridien_sh, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this review, 8 April 2012
Dear Reviewer, thank you for sharing your Le Royal Meridien experience with our friends at tripadvisor. I would also like to apologise for not having performed above your expectations, to which there is no excuse. I will be personally following up with our concierge as well as team in Favola, our Italian dining venue, to seek ways to improve our guest experience in the future.

The team and I do hope to be of service again in the future and please feel free to contact me peronsally should your travels bring you back through Shanghai. I can be reached at daniel.aylmer@lemeridien.com

Keep Discovering!


Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
People’s Square
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
#40 of 5,059 in Shanghai
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
People’s Square
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
#42 of 5,059 in Shanghai
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Royal Meridien Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Royal Meridien Shanghai

Property: Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Address: No.789 Nanjing East Road, Shanghai 200001, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#29 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#29 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#33 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#38 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#118 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price range (per night): $188 - $330
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Royal Meridien Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 761
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish and sophisticated with an ultra-modern design, Le Royal Meridien Shanghai is one of Shanghai's tallest landmarks, and its location at the centre of Shanghai on the historic Nanjing Road East, opposite the People's Square and overlooking the Shanghai Museum and Shanghai Grand Theater, puts guests at the heart of one of the world's most exciting cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Le Royal Meridien Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Meridien Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing