We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Great Brunch in Shanghai”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Ranked #36 of 5,206 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We used to go to another Brunch location in Shanghai but have in the past few months been drawn to a fresher experience.
The food is great and for me the roasted meats are the best. The choice is wide and the drinks, cocktails, champagne and shots delivered in a unique way ! are all part of the experience. The music is mixed fresh by the DJ and very different. I am looking forward to warmer weather and sitting outside on the terrace.
But as always its only as good a the company you keep....

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leroyalmeridien_sh, Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2012

Dear Guest,

Thanks for sharing your experience with us.
We are really happy to know you enjoyed our award-winning “la Vie en Rose” Sunday Brunch.We’d like to welcome you back soon to continue your journey at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai!

E. Yan
Hotel Manager
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,833)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,382 - 1,386 of 2,833 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2012

I lived in this hotel for 30 days at a time during 2010 and 2011. The staff remember you, remember what you like and don't, and remember your name. While most 4 star plus hotels in Asia deliver on amazing, personalized service, this one stands out as a total package.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SatoriInShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leroyalmeridien_sh, Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2012

Dear Guest,

We are so pleased to hear that you speak so highly of our hotel. Your comments are very encouraging and we are thankful for your post. Le Royal Meridien Shanghai looks forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

E. Yan
Hotel Manager
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

I stayed in this hotel in October 2011 for 5 days. It was my first trip to Shanghai, alone, and I was a little apprehensive. However, this was a great choice and a great experience. The room was extremely pleasant and comfortable. The bed was very comfortable and so was the duvet experience. Service Impeccable and everybody was extremely courteous and professional. Breakfast buffet was a great experience and overall food in room service was very very good. Loved it, loved location which allowed for great walks and will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fatimarandolph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leroyalmeridien_sh, Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2012

Dear Guest

It’s great to hear you had a comfortable stay with us and it’s always encouraging to receive such positive feedback.
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai is located on Nanjing Rd which is very close to all tourist destinations. This is ideal for anyone wanting to stay in Shanghai.

We hope to see your return in the near future.

E. Yan
Hotel Manager
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

I have stayed here maybe more than 10 times now and its always been on business trips. The building is only 2 years old and its the tallest one in the whole area. The rooms are very nice and the location obviously is the best thing. The club lounge on 44th floor (or is it 40th?) is very nice and I've had some meetings there as well. Its my first choice without fail whenever I go to China. I love this hotel :)

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saltheman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leroyalmeridien_sh, Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2012

Dear Guest,

Thanks for being such a loyal guest to us and taking time to post such nice comments about your stay.
It's really encouraging reading your review and we are proud that you have such high recommendations for our hotel facilities and services.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

E. Yan
Hotel Manager
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Hotel: What makes this hotel stand out is of course the location which is frankly unbeatable! I never understand why anyone would want to stay in the hotels on the bund since there's not a decent metro station nearby. The Royal Meridien however is just next to one of the biggest metro stations in Shanghai and right on Nanjing Road so most places are nearby or easy to get to.
Rooms: All the rooms have wonderful views, whether it's facing people's square of the bund. The rooms are well equipped and comfortable, my only complaint would be that two sinks would be more convenient. The bed is heavenly, probably the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in.
Restaurants: The breakfast is quite good but it does tend to be quite busy so there's quite a bit of noise. I haven't tried any of the other restaurants since this is Shanghai and you can eat well just about anywhere. Hotel restaurants in Shanghai tend to be severely overpriced so I always avoid them.
Service: The staff were all very helpful and polite.
Facilities: The pool's great and there's also a steam room and sauna. I also really like the Jacuzzi since you have a great view of people's square from it. Everything's well maintained and clean.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shanghainese8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
Hongkou
Hyatt on the Bund
Hyatt on the Bund
#53 of 5,206 in Shanghai
2,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Royal Meridien Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Royal Meridien Shanghai

Address: No.789 Nanjing East Road, Shanghai 200001, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#26 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#29 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#29 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#36 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#136 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $171 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Royal Meridien Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 761
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish and sophisticated with an ultra-modern design, Le Royal Meridien Shanghai is one of Shanghai's tallest landmarks, and its location at the centre of Shanghai on the historic Nanjing Road East, opposite the People's Square and overlooking the Shanghai Museum and Shanghai Grand Theater, puts guests at the heart of one of the world's most exciting cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Le Royal Meridien Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Meridien Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing