We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,071)
Filter reviews
3,071 results
Traveller rating
1,650
1,028
259
83
51
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,650
1,028
259
83
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nanjing road the royal club lounge people's square lobby floor people's park spg member floor to ceiling windows excellent location bund view room junior suite high floor walking street breakfast buffet rain shower chinese restaurant modern hotel shopping area
Filter
Updating list...
1,519 - 1,524 of 3,071 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2012

I lived in this hotel for 30 days at a time during 2010 and 2011. The staff remember you, remember what you like and don't, and remember your name. While most 4 star plus hotels in Asia deliver on amazing, personalized service, this one stands out as a total package.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SatoriInShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leroyalmeridien_sh, Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2012

Dear Guest,

We are so pleased to hear that you speak so highly of our hotel. Your comments are very encouraging and we are thankful for your post. Le Royal Meridien Shanghai looks forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

E. Yan
Hotel Manager
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

I stayed in this hotel in October 2011 for 5 days. It was my first trip to Shanghai, alone, and I was a little apprehensive. However, this was a great choice and a great experience. The room was extremely pleasant and comfortable. The bed was very comfortable and so was the duvet experience. Service Impeccable and everybody was extremely courteous and professional. Breakfast buffet was a great experience and overall food in room service was very very good. Loved it, loved location which allowed for great walks and will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fatimarandolph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leroyalmeridien_sh, Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2012

Dear Guest

It’s great to hear you had a comfortable stay with us and it’s always encouraging to receive such positive feedback.
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai is located on Nanjing Rd which is very close to all tourist destinations. This is ideal for anyone wanting to stay in Shanghai.

We hope to see your return in the near future.

E. Yan
Hotel Manager
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

I have stayed here maybe more than 10 times now and its always been on business trips. The building is only 2 years old and its the tallest one in the whole area. The rooms are very nice and the location obviously is the best thing. The club lounge on 44th floor (or is it 40th?) is very nice and I've had some meetings there as well. Its my first choice without fail whenever I go to China. I love this hotel :)

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saltheman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leroyalmeridien_sh, Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2012

Dear Guest,

Thanks for being such a loyal guest to us and taking time to post such nice comments about your stay.
It's really encouraging reading your review and we are proud that you have such high recommendations for our hotel facilities and services.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

E. Yan
Hotel Manager
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Hotel: What makes this hotel stand out is of course the location which is frankly unbeatable! I never understand why anyone would want to stay in the hotels on the bund since there's not a decent metro station nearby. The Royal Meridien however is just next to one of the biggest metro stations in Shanghai and right on Nanjing Road so most places are nearby or easy to get to.
Rooms: All the rooms have wonderful views, whether it's facing people's square of the bund. The rooms are well equipped and comfortable, my only complaint would be that two sinks would be more convenient. The bed is heavenly, probably the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in.
Restaurants: The breakfast is quite good but it does tend to be quite busy so there's quite a bit of noise. I haven't tried any of the other restaurants since this is Shanghai and you can eat well just about anywhere. Hotel restaurants in Shanghai tend to be severely overpriced so I always avoid them.
Service: The staff were all very helpful and polite.
Facilities: The pool's great and there's also a steam room and sauna. I also really like the Jacuzzi since you have a great view of people's square from it. Everything's well maintained and clean.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shanghainese8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Stayed for 4 nights on a business trip. This is a fairly new hotel - but then again most of Shanghai is fairly new. Check in was smooth and I asked for a room with a view and got one - although the view on the other side of the hotel was even better looking down over the river.

The room was very large with a good sized seating area. The bathroom was also very large and was a full wet room so plenty of room to shower. Bed was very large and comfortable and there was a plentiful supply of bottled water.

The service in the hotel was excellent but not "in your face". The food in the restaurant on the lobby floor was very good for breakfast and lunch. On the 65th floor there is a bar with a great view - the drinks are very expensive but worth it for a good table with a great view.

Cost was very reasonable given the quality. Overall couldn't fault it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as high up as possible and with a view of the bund.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ARH51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leroyalmeridien_sh, Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great feedback, its rewarding to hear your stay was pleasant.
We are glad to hear our service was excellent and you were happy with the dinning facilities and your room. We are really inspired by receiving feedback like this. We hope to see you in the near future.

E. Yan
Hotel Manager
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews