We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous new skyscraper hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Ranked #37 of 5,222 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 May 2011

Amazing views from the top floor bars and from the rooms. Location amidst upscale central city, and walking distance to the Bund, Shanghai museum, central square, and restaurants. Breakfast buffet among the best in China. Rooms are modern.

Room Tip: Get a high floor for best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzanne0814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
xiaokun, Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2011

Dear guest,

Thank you for stay with us recently and taking your time to share your feedback with us.

We are delighted to hear your praise for our hotel, we will keep going and bring every guest chic, cultured, discovery experience at our hotel. Look forward to seeing you again very soon for your next stay in Shanghai.

E. Yan
Hotel Manager
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,854)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,498 - 1,502 of 2,855 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2011

I stayed here for three nights and it was my first time in Shanghai. I chose it as the hotel is in a skyscraper so it would have a great view of the city which it did.

The check-in staff were friendly but knowledge of English was not that great for a chain.
The room was (superior) very spacious with all the amenities and a lot more. A wide choice of TV channels. Broadband/ Internet is charged at 5 Yuan per minute to a max of 100 Yuan per day. The bathroom has a glass side panel so you could watch TV but if sharing this can be covered the blind!

The room was serviced in good time and the times I called housekeeping, they came to my room quite quickly.

The breakfast was vast with a very wide range of choices. I would recommend the pork dumplings and the noodles, prepared freshly for you. There was always seating available even at the busiest of times, both inside and outside.

The bar on the 65 and 66th floors has an impressive view, but depending where you sit there is a minimum spend.

The outside surrounding area was a little disappointing. It is the equivalent of staying on London's Oxford Street. It was safe but always packed and constantly asked if I wanted a female 'companion' or fake watch, but I guess that is all over Shanghai. I felt completely safe in the hotel and there was much security inside. The hotel is located 2 minutes from the subway and is well connected from there. Cabs are cheap. The shopping street is pedestrianised so no cars to bother you. Apart from the crowds that was my only complaint about the outside.

Overall I felt there are newer hotels in Shanghai that could be tried, slightly further away and not so busy. The rise of boutique hotels in China, would make me stay at one of those next time.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank panixxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
xiaokun, Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Le Royal Meridien Shanghai and taking your time to share your feedback with us.
It is our pleasure to learn you enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments have been delivered to our team who are really inspired by your kind words. We look forward to your next visit and look forward in providing you Le Meridien's chic, cultured, discovery experience again.

E. Yan
Hotel Manager
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

We had a wonderful stay at this property in early April 2011 during a 10 night vacation in China. In addition, my husband has stayed at this property a number of times when he was in China for business. Also, we did stay in a Club Level room (breakfast and evening cocktails were included in the price of the room), so our review is based upon this service.

The Great:
-This hotel is in a wonderful location. We were steps from Nanjing Road and People's Square. We could walk to the Bund in 15 minutes and the Yuan Garden in about 30 minutes. We were also just a few minute walk from a metro stop.
-The veiws were spectacular. We had a great view of People's Square from our room. From the Club Lounge we enjoyed views of the Bund while we had our breakfast and drinks each evening.
-The food and service in the Club Lounge were great. They had a large selection of Western and Chineses breakfast options each morning. We really enjoyed venturing out for traditional Chineses dishes for lunch and dinner but we really liked being able to have our cappuccino, french toast, omletes and fruit in the morning. And each evening we had a before dinner drink-it was a nice break for the crowds and noise out on the street. After the first day they knew our names and never had to ask our room numbers as we arrived in the lounge.
-The pool was spectacular-and we had it to ourselves one evening.

The (very minor) Negatives:
-The rooms have a sleek and modern feel, but are starting to look a little worn. They were not that bad and I wouldn't let it stop me from staying here in the future, but I just think people should be aware that they are not in pristine condition (which one might expect for the price). Overall, you could see some wear in the carpet and the shower tiles. In addition, when we arrived a few items in the room were broken (light switches and lamps mainly). These items were fixed within one day, but when staying at a hotel of this price in China you would just expect that they work.
-The bathrooms in the room is open. This wouldn't be an issue for a solo traveler, however with two people we both had to get up at the same time. Also, the area with the toilet has a door, but it is not sound proof in any way, which is a bit annoying.

Other tips:
-We did not utilize the spa at the hotel-if you are willing to leave you can go to one of the many chain message places and have a message for much less (we paid about $20 USD for 1 hour).
-We inquired with the hotel about a day trip to a water village and noticed that they were very overpriced. We were able to book a private Audi AL6 for a day for less than they wanted for a half day group tour, so if you have any tours to book you may not want to do this through the hotel.

Overall had a wonderful stay and would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelingPeanut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leroyalmeridien_sh, Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2011

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Le Royal Meridien Shanghai and taking your time to share your feedback with us.
We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us. Our management team and associates are really inspired by your comments. We will take your suggestions seriously and make sure every guest arrive the room with its perfect condition. Thank you very much for your sincere words and we look forward to your next visit and look forward in providing you Le Meridien's chic, cultured, discovery experience again.

E. Yan
Hotel Manager
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2011

I just wrapped up a long weekend at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai and after 100+ Starwood hotels, this property ranks top of the list. The staff is well trained on hospitality ettiquette and was very accomodating from my arrival to my departure. The executive lounge was very functional as a spot to complete some work and relax over a drink. The staff was very helpful with dinner recommendations. The guest room and bed were very comfortable and in my opinion, were nicer than comparable Sheraton and Westin properties.

If I return to Shanghai, the Le Royal Meridien will be my choice for accomodation.

Room Tip: People's Square is the best view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iGoFarDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
xiaokun, Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Le Royal Meridien Shanghai! We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at our hotel. It was nice to hear your praise for our facilities and services, we will keep going and bring every guest unique and stimulating experiences at our hotel. Look forward to seeing you again very soon for your next stay in Shanghai.

E. Yan
Hotel Manager
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2011

The hotel is extremely busy like most properties in Shanghai with a great location downtown on People's Square. Breakfast was a zoo with a line of about 25 people lined up to get into the breakfast area at 8 AM - eat early. OK service - cold coffee. Upon check in - be sure to say you want to SEE the room they assign and demand a proper room for the reservation - as the front desk will lower the quality of what was confirmed and you will get a small, smoking room - with two beds. The bed quality is average to poor for this qualify of Hotel. The mattresses must be cheap, Chinese made, squeaky springs. Very soft - with little support. The sheets are average - the comforter is thin - not the best sleep in Shanghai for the price. They provide two very large pillow and two normal size ones on the king beds. I'm not sure what to do the two giant pillows as no one but Godzilla would use them to rest their head. The pillows have seen better days.
The carpets in the room may be soiled. Some rooms have that 1000 year old Dynasty smell (on lower floors - the ones with more turn over and little deep cleaning). The hotel offers high skyscraper level rooms with great vistas if the air is clean. At least the windows of the hotel have been washed in the past year (unlike many hotels in China). Toiletries and towels are somewhat better than average, not the best in this price range. There must be a big push on Chinese Management for this property. It is Definitely not run by the French (they want le halo without the work or sweat equity). Plumbing works and the air cond. is good. Elevators are fast (66 story building)- you have to change floors and travel to get to the front desk, some restaurants and ground level.
The hotel has flat panel TV's with an average number of channels. The maids are friendly and do a good job. The hotel CHARGES a high price for internet access - like many hotels in China - because they Can and businesses have not put their Foot down and told the Corporate hotel Management to stop (just do not book a hotel that charges for internet for a few months and let them know why). Larger rooms with separate showers have the rain style shower heads with OK water pressure. The hotel has some young, pleasant and bright, international staff from Western countries as interns. All in all - an OK hotel with flaws (not the best sleep) - that must be due to cheap owners of the property and Hotel Corporate Management not Demanding improvement (Buy new higher quality beds you cheapskates).

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nearnova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
xiaokun, Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and taking your time to share your feedback with us.
We will be sharing with our management team your valuable feedback and believe that your comments and suggestions will definitely help to improve us further on hotel facilities or services.

We do hope you will come back soon again and discover us in a new perspective.

E. Yan
Hotel Manager
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
The Bund
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
Old Town
Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Royal Meridien Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Royal Meridien Shanghai

Address: No.789 Nanjing East Road, Shanghai 200001, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#28 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#29 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#29 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#37 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#131 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $176 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Royal Meridien Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 761
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish and sophisticated with an ultra-modern design, Le Royal Meridien Shanghai is one of Shanghai's tallest landmarks, and its location at the centre of Shanghai on the historic Nanjing Road East, opposite the People's Square and overlooking the Shanghai Museum and Shanghai Grand Theater, puts guests at the heart of one of the world's most exciting cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Starwood, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Le Royal Meridien Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Meridien Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing