We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is not a hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Salvo Hotel Shanghai
Ranked #447 of 5,222 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed 16 October 2016

This is not call a hotel. Decoration in the room out of date, dirty looks and scarry because of old stuff. Staff is not friendly, no English speaking only 3 person. Lobby has no light, no rest room, entrance rolling door is not working, no concierge. I will not come back for this hotel Horrible again, even it is close to Nanjing Road. Not recommend for foreigner tourist.

Room Tip: not recommend at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jaminjabanto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (835)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 11 of 835 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

Do not be cheated by the photos uploaded, the hotel is in a badly stage when I last saw it. Horrible, dishonest staff who double charge me. Luckily I booked through agoda, in the Long process waiting and waiting. Agoda refunded me, this salvo hotel did nothing. They are cheats! Multiple emails from me and agoda, their response was refunded done. But when I checked with bank, of course that was not the case. Dear Travellers pls do not even consider salvo hotel, this hotel is certainly one of the worst in Shanghai. If you wanted to go to Nanjing bu xing jie, cheng huang miao, there are better hotels.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank Fannie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

I was there about 10 times in last 3 years. It has a very good situation 5 minutes walk from East Nanjin Road. Near the metro station direct from the airport. Large rooms. Nice breakfast room in the 31st floor. Enough good breakfast. Chinese service. Not too professional. Cheap room prices.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled on business
Thank Jlviegad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2016

We chose this hotel mainly because of its location. The weather was cooler than normal and the hotel was very cold...except for the dining room which was extremely hot. The front desk staff wore coats. They seemed to spend most of their time on their cellphones, English was very limited. Our room was very large and had a separate sleeping area. Beds were comfortable. The furniture and carpeting were very worn. The bathroom had been updated.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank glyntor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2016

I have stayed in Salvo hotel in Dec 2015 on a business trip, I've purchased tthe room through Agoda.com, fully paid via Agoda. However the hotel reception charged me again on the amount that I've paid to Agoda with my credit card meant for refundable down payment, only realised it when the credit card statement was sent to me end of the month. I have e-mailed them my credit card statement as well as the recipt from Agoda.com, assured me will be credited back into my credit card on the following month, I have re-emailed them in Jan and Feb today is March 2016, no one bother to update me or follow up even though I have set few emails to them.

Be very careful with their carelessness. Hope someone from Salvo hotel email me or call me when seeing this.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Manhattan Jinling Hotel
Manhattan Jinling Hotel
#437 of 5,222 in Shanghai
63 reviews
Shanghai Stadium
Regal Shanghai East Asia Hotel
Regal Shanghai East Asia Hotel
#109 of 5,222 in Shanghai
463 reviews
People’s Square
The Bund Hotel
The Bund Hotel
#121 of 5,222 in Shanghai
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund Riverside Hotel
#157 of 5,222 in Shanghai
754 reviews
People’s Square
Charms Hotel
Charms Hotel
#474 of 5,222 in Shanghai
564 reviews
Zhongshan Park
Pentahotel Shanghai
Pentahotel Shanghai
#63 of 5,222 in Shanghai
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salvo Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salvo Hotel Shanghai

Address: No.339 Guangdong Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200001, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#234 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#289 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $81 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Salvo Hotel Shanghai 4*
Number of rooms: 594
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Salvo Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salvo Hotel Zhongfu Shifuhui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing