We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weird hotel, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Salvo Hotel Shanghai
Ranked #447 of 5,222 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed 6 October 2012

The hotel on first glance appears very grand. It is a high rise building with a large lobby. All of the rooms are suites, with a bedroom with window and tv, then a living room with wardrobes, tv, sofa, and desk, and a bathroom with bath and shower. Breakfast in on the 31st floor so the view is good. The general location of the hotel is great, next to East Nanjing station, which links with both airports, within easy reach of Pudong, and a short walk from the Bund.

It is upon closer inspection however when the hotel starts to fall down. The staff are unfriendly andthere is only a tiny part of the lobby where you can sit without having to buy something for the priviledge. Wifi is apparently available in the lobby but logging on was very difficult and we never managed it. Our room also smelled horrible (the smell seemed on and off so I don't know where it was coming from), but it was on the side of the hotel that looked over the Bund and I didn't want to lose that if we complained and had to move rooms. The decor is a little shabby and random, and to be honest I would have preferred the option of a bigger room rather than a suite, as we never had any use for a living room. The bathroom has a very strange shower in the corner of a sectioned off part of the bathroom, that is mainly taken with a large corner bath. Like I said - random. The breakfast also isn;t anything to write home about.

Given the weirdness of the place though, the rooms are quite comfortable and the price and location mean that it's probably worth it and I certainly wouldn't rule out staying there again.

Room Tip: Higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lifesashow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (835)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

224 - 228 of 835 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2012

it was an excellent experience for me. I got a room on the 15th floor facing the River with wonderful views. The room was very large – actually divided into a bedroom and a working/living room, very convenient, and with the most comfortable beds.Breakfast is adequate but a little tough getting sit to eat. the location is great just 10 minute walk from the bund and subway and river area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmitK06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

recently stayed at the salvo for five nights and had a great time..

the location is great just 10 minute walk from the bund and subway ..

there are great eateries nearby and the hotel breakfast is fantastic , I really enjoyed it..

the room was out dated though
with old tv and the bed was to hard for me...

an only wi-fi in the lobby

but overall the staff where great and will stay again

Room Tip: get an upper level room as the views are great..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mermaidgem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

We spent our first night in China at this hotel, and it was an excellent experience for us. We got a room on the 20th floor facing the Bund with wonderful views. The room was very large – actually divided into a bedroom and a working/living room, very convenient, and with the most comfortable beds we had in China. Bathroom was clean with separate Jacuzzi and shower.
The hotel is located right in the middle and with walking distance to the Bund, East Nanjing Road, People’s Square, and the Old Town with the Yuyan Garden. This was very convenient.

Breakfast was excellent with lots of Chinese and western items. We also had one dinner at the hotel, and we liked it very much. The service at the restaurant was good, however the people at the front desk were not so friendly. However, if we ever get back to Shanghai no doubt we will stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 20th floor facing the Bund, and had wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank To123er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights, the room suite very comfortable with big Chinese modern bathroom... Clean, comfort bedding, 2 LCD tv, no wifi. The location just along canton street, plenty of Canton food speaks cantonese, just 10mins walk to Nanjing pedestrian shopping...the price for this suite room very reasonable....very busy with universal tourists...the helpful concierge arrange and guided us very well.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Manhattan Jinling Hotel
Manhattan Jinling Hotel
#437 of 5,222 in Shanghai
63 reviews
Shanghai Stadium
Regal Shanghai East Asia Hotel
Regal Shanghai East Asia Hotel
#109 of 5,222 in Shanghai
463 reviews
People’s Square
The Bund Hotel
The Bund Hotel
#121 of 5,222 in Shanghai
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund Riverside Hotel
#157 of 5,222 in Shanghai
754 reviews
People’s Square
Charms Hotel
Charms Hotel
#474 of 5,222 in Shanghai
564 reviews
Zhongshan Park
Pentahotel Shanghai
Pentahotel Shanghai
#63 of 5,222 in Shanghai
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salvo Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salvo Hotel Shanghai

Address: No.339 Guangdong Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200001, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#234 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#289 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: AU$81 - AU$159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Salvo Hotel Shanghai 4*
Number of rooms: 594
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Salvo Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salvo Hotel Zhongfu Shifuhui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing