We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Salvo Hotel Shanghai
Ranked #392 of 5,146 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in a suite that was excellent value at a last-minute rate. the bed was comfortable, the bathroom was great although the shower controls on the wall were quite baffling at first. We had 2 TVs and a lovely view over the city. The position is wonderful, it is a 10 minute walk to the Bund or Nanking Rd. There are many places to eat in those areas. Breakfast on the top floor was wonderful, lots of variety, fresh food, omelettes cooked for you etc. The view from here is also spectacular. There was WiFi in the lobby also. Thoroughly recommeded, great value for money.

Room Tip: We had a room high up facing the Bund which was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Burradoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (834)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

274 - 278 of 834 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2012

this hotel was perfect for what i wanted. i went to shanghai on a sightseeing trip, and the location of this hotel certainly made my time easier. you are a 5 minute walk from nanjing road on one side, 5 minutes from the bund on another and maybe ten minutes from yu gardens on another. also you are a couple of minutes walk from a few metro stations - so getting around is not a problem at all. the staff are very friendly and will help you get legitimate taxis and useful directions etc. the room is large and came with free internet, so i can have absolutely no complaints. we had room service on a few occasions and it was excellent. they have burgers, pasta etc so there is a decent choice. the top floor has a buffet breakfast every morning, with asian, continental and english breakfast options. if i do ever return to shanghai i will still in this hotel again - and really that is the biggest compliment i can give the salvo hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LiamGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Overall the hotel was o.k. It is adequate for the price paid and ammenities available. However the hotel location is GREAT. Close to the subway and within a good walking distance to the pedestrian mall. The Salvo is located near to both the new pedestrian mall but within a block are some local restaurants and shops. You get a feel for both the old and new of Shanghai. The breakfast buffet was good. Both Western ahd Chinese cuisine choices are available and if you can get window seat a great view of the city. Remember to bring your camera along! The bathroom was quite a modern one with more gagets and contraptions of water control than needed but alright. It has a business/seating area that is separate from the sleeping area divided by a sliding wooden door. The furniture was the sad part. Very old and heavy. Old world feel. It needs some refreshening. The chair to use with the desk (and to plug into the internet) is not practical as it is too big and too deep to sit in and work comfortably. I was grateful for the internet but it is a slow connection. Bed was comfortable and clean. For the price paid it is not bad but don't expect a 5 star.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YVRTravelGirl_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

We stayd 3 nights in business executive suite. The room was quite old fashion and dark. The televisions were old and if you open the tv in the living room, tv will open in the bedroom as well. The computer which was free in the room, was so slow that it is very hard to do anything with it. The bathroom was small and uncomfortable, aircondition was poor, the breakfast was average. The breakfast room is all too small and the staff didn't clean the tables fast nor filled the food.
I would not pay the rack price for this hotel, but if you get it with half price as we did, I would consider it again because of the great location.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank metteling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Hotel is big. Room's large, we had bus.room, nice decorated with all accesories and internet.
Breakfast place is too small , we could not found a table.
Staff are pourly informed, we got wrong information two times (about post office location and city sightseiing tour).

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 7elpida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Manhattan Jinling Hotel
Manhattan Jinling Hotel
#405 of 5,146 in Shanghai
63 reviews
The Bund
Baron Business Hotel
Baron Business Hotel
#513 of 5,146 in Shanghai
294 reviews
People’s Square
The Bund Hotel
The Bund Hotel
#129 of 5,146 in Shanghai
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Central Hotel Shanghai
Central Hotel Shanghai
#49 of 5,146 in Shanghai
848 reviews
People’s Square
Charms Hotel
Charms Hotel
#1,213 of 5,146 in Shanghai
548 reviews
The Bund Riverside Hotel
#161 of 5,146 in Shanghai
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Shanghai

Been to Salvo Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salvo Hotel Shanghai

Address: No.339 Guangdong Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200001, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#221 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#268 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $79 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Salvo Hotel Shanghai 4*
Number of rooms: 594
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Salvo Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salvo Hotel Zhongfu Shifuhui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing