We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,539)
Filter reviews
4,539 results
Traveller rating
3,177
1,051
208
65
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,177
1,051
208
65
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviews horizon club grand tower yi cafe river wing jade bar new tower old wing super brand mall across the river bund view room ifc mall huangpu river the pearl tv tower breakfast buffet business trip excellent hotel
Filter
Updating list...
179 - 184 of 4,539 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

As said before, I am a big fan of Shangri-La. Staying at the new wing with room facing Ping-An Financial Bldg, IFC and Shanghai Tower.

Friendly and helpful staff always ..... And the “best” breakfast buffet in Pudong.

Only thing I would like to suggest is adding an electric socket by the night table so that I can charge the phone next to bed.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank vivtsang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iris Z, Public Relations Manager at Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2018

Dear Vivian,

Firstly, thank you for staying with us and for the positive feedback about our location and service. We have taken note of the areas which did not meet your expectations and will continue to make improvements. We still look forward to welcoming you to our hotel during your next trip to Shanghai.

Yours sincerely,
Iris Zhao
Director of Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

Stayed five nights in this hotel with a reasonable rate though without breakfast. Due to this rate, i was also given a room in the older wing which was spacious with traditional decoration. The hotel was near the IFC mall for high end shopping and next to a more reasonably price super brand mall. while there are plenty of choices for dinner, breakfast is a struggle around the area.
In any case, the service provided by the hotel is exemplary from the time you check-in, through assistance with the luggage and hailing cabs, What stood out for me is housekeeping where one housekeeper(by the name of Yuki Zhang) noticed that i have a sore throat from the medication i have in the room left very nice local cough drops for me which was very soothing for my throat. Unfortunately i couldn't find the same cough drops at the airport when departing.
I had a great experience with this stay especially with the excellent service i received.. I certainly will come back!

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank AlbusD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stella G, Manager at Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear AlbusD,

Thank you for spending your time to review the hotel on TripAdvisor. I appreciate you highlighting the quality of service you received during your stay and for you taking time to share it with readers of Trip Advisor. I will make sure that your feedback is shared with the team as your lovely feedback will certainly motivate them to continue the great job they do. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel should your travels bring you back to this beautiful city.

Warm regards,


Stella Gu
Director of Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

What an amazing hotel. From the 35 floor the city views are quite remarkable. We will never forget this experience. Worth upgrading for the executive level and the lounge. Easy access to Super Brand Mall and the new IFC mall, both 1 minute walking distance from the hotel. Staff as wonderful. 5 star experience all along.

Room tip: High floor with river view is a must
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank FrequentFlyerMiles22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stella G, Manager at Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear FrequentFlyerMiles22,

Thank you for choosing Pudong Shangri-La. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and thank you for recommending the Grand Tower. I appreciate you highlighting our amazing location and the city view from the room. Your lovely feedback will be shared with the team as it will certainly motivate them to continue the great job they do.

Warm regards,


Stella Gu
Director of Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

Spent few days in this hotel and enjoyed very much the stay. Great service, great location right in the center of events and shopping across the street. The room are spacious and comfortable, great bathroom and tab and a welcome plate of fruits were waiting as I arrived. The lobby is huge and offers many sitting locations including a nice 5 o'clock service. If one can afford, one should enroll to the Horizon Club lounge on the 21st floor – offering almost around the clock service, the staff is very welcoming and available to help in everything you need. At the same time, their English speaking level is not high and one should be patient with them in an English speaking dialogue.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Eficoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stella G, Manager at Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear Eficoa,

Thank you for choosing Pudong Shangri-La East Shanghai for your visit to Shanghai and reviewing the hotel on TripAdvisor. Your feedback means a lot to the team and encourages them to provide excellent services. Hopefully if your travels bring you back to Shanghai we will be your first choice when choosing where to stay.

Warmest regards,

Stella Gu
Director of Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018

We spent a Saturday afternoon doing the tea service at this hotel. The food was okay for each of the three tiers, but we were left hungry at the end of the service. Their blender was broken, so we couldn't get a matcha milkshake and the latte was average. It was advertised as 325 RMB but ended up costing 380 RMB. I would say, if you want a good tea service, I would recommend going to the Waldorf Astoria or Peace Hotel instead of Shangri-La. Slightly overpriced and the service/food underperform.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank DSHBOLDLY007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stella G, Manager at Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear DSHBOLDLY007,

Thank you very much for your review. We are very disappointed that we were not able to meet your expectations during your afternoon tea. We have taken note about the comments. We will discuss the comments among the team and corrective actions might been taken to prevent recurrence. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Yours sincerely

Stella Gu
Director of Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews