We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay in Shanghai”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai
Ranked #27 of 5,147 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Stayed at the Shangri-la Pudong Shanghai as part of a tour group. The views of the river from the room were amazing both day and night. The rooms were spacious and clean. The highlight was the amazing buffet breakfast.. you know breakfast is grand when you recieve a map outlining all the food stations! The hotel is in a great location and in easy reach of the train station. Excellent experience.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oncewhileaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,251 - 1,255 of 3,224 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2012

I loved the hotel, it had a very different culture to their sister hotels in SIngapore and Taiwan, but it worked for me. The wi-Fi did not work in the limo, so situation was resolved as soon as I arrived at the hotel. My room was of a suitable standard, comfortable, great view, and the staff in the business club were welcoming and very friendly, but with limited English comprehension. Hotel food was OK, but with so many great alternatives around Shanghai, there is no need to eat in the hotel all of the time. I am told the Chinese restaurant is exceptional, but I did not get a chance to try. Without a doubt the Shangri La meets all of my requirements, and I look forward to returning to a warm welcome and a comfortable bed! Bravo Shangri La!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenjenrossco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

4 night stay-booked Horizon Club package which included among many other benefits, airport transfers--seamless service in spotless Mercedes w/ cold towels, water, newspaper, etc. Whisked directly to room in river view towe on arrival. Room pleasant, clean& all the usual bells and whistles. My package included unlimited cleaning & laundry. I needed a few things done-had been on the road, for 5 days. I mentioned it to my room guide & put the stuff on the bed. I did'nt fill out any paperwork. I went up to the Horizon Club where the staff solved a very complicated travel plan for me & had my air tickets delivered to my room! Back to the room & my dirty clothes were gone! Amazing! They came back perfectly laundered in less than 2 hours. Booked the private conference room in the Horizon Club for 3 contact meetings--all set up with beverages, notepads etc. NO EXTRA CHARGE! Excelent breakfast & evening snacks(you can make it a whole meal if you wish) in the Club. Great views of the Bund & City. Not a cheap hotel, but really worth what you pay.Flawless service for 4 nights 5 days--almost impossible to do in a big operation like the Pudong Shangrila. Will be back for more next time.

Room Tip: Take Horizon Club Package! Try the newer Grand Tower rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jmurrayolympic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

I stayed more than 100 days in Shanghai during several business trips in different hotels 2011. Finally I would always prefer Shangri La and I stayed there most of the time. Service and food is just fantastic. Don’t miss the gorges breakfast or dinner in level 2.
When you are on business you can use several locations in the hotel to meet some guests, just ask!
I hope they will adopt or improve a little how to maintain and clean their SPA and fitness area, then it is almost perfect. For sure it is not the cheapest place but it is the money worth!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sos_cutie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Upgraded to the Executive Floor for a 3-night stay. That was the right move. The Lounge is the best ever! The staff were fantastic...able to think on their feet, and come up the just the right advice. Everywhere we've been since out stay there is compared to their most excellent experience.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skyhoosier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
#32 of 5,147 in Shanghai
2,416 reviews
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
Lujiazui
Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Lujiazui
Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai at Pudong
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Shanghai

Been to Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai

Address: No.33 Fucheng Road, Pudongxin District, Shanghai 200120, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Lujiazui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#17 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#23 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#27 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#185 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $274 - $567 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 952
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Shanghai's preeminent hotel, Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai offers business and leisure travellers the perfect combination of comfort, service and convenience. Located on the Huangpu River in Shanghai's vibrant Lujiazui financial district, directly opposite the historic Bund, the hotel enjoys easy access to the city's most famous sites. Hongqiao Airport can be reached in just 35 minutes and Pudong Airport in 45 minutes.The hotel comprises a luxurious collection of well-appointed guestrooms and suites in two distinctive wings: the 577-room classic River Wing and the 375-room contemporary and exclusive Grand Tower. All rooms feature panoramic views of the Bund, the Huangpu River or Pudong's spectacular skyline.The prestigious Grand Tower provides some of Shanghai's most luxurious and spacious accommodation. It is also home to the Horizon Club, which offers guests the highest level of personalised service and attention. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pudong Shangri-La Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Pudong Shangri La Hotel Shanghai
Shangri La Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing