We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Neither Magnificent nor International...Acceptably Cheap” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Magnificent International Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Magnificent International Plaza Hotel
Ranked #2,404 of 4,940 Hotels in Shanghai
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Neither Magnificent nor International...Acceptably Cheap”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

Stayed here for two nights in late August. Accomodation is certainly cheap - around GBP40.00 a night and the location is a ten minute walk from the Shanghai Museum / Peoples Park. It is also very convenient for the Metro and is about 15 mins away from the Xiantiendi eating / drinking / shopping area. I do not speak Mandarin. The front desk staff do not speak English (okay - that's not fair, maybe forty or fifty words) so you will need to come prepared for that. The rooms themselves are fairly spacious, but typical of Chinese hotels of this class the beds are rock hard and everywhere stinks of stale cigarette smoke and dirty air conditioning. The bathroom had a number of cracked tiles, a shower that barely functioned and a vertical mold garden (black, patchy green) around the bath. However, for the price and location it was okay if you are not looking for comfort or service.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Esmond_Fancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    65
    61
    30
    22
See reviews for
18
22
20
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Thought This hotel was very very average. a little dirty. Staff a little remote. Breakfast wasnt too bad but all in all there are much better hotels in Shanghai than this for the price. A very unremarkable hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank goodasgoldmark1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Shanghai hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
70 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

I stayed on my own on the 12th floor for 2 nights in a corner room that had 1 queen-sized bed and 1 twin bed. Great for me as I could use 1 bed for laying out my clothes. The feedback from previous contributors had prepared me for the hard mattress - but really, it was fine and I did not wake up with any discomfort at all. There was a kettle for you to boil water, and a fridge whose external frame doubled as a heater for my damp jeans. (Once you open the door concealing the fridge, you will be greeted with warm air. However, the fridge works, so no worries.) The water pressure was good and had hot water. Perfect for a clean quick shower without soaking in the tub, which had some blackish stuff growing at the sides.

TV Channels were okay, with CNN too. But do not expect a wide range to choose from.

Breakfast on the 2nd floor was decent and I know I enjoyed the fried noodles on one of the mornings.

The hotel lobby has 2-3 computer terminals (but 1 of them had a malfunctioning mouse during my stay) and you may just get the password from the reception counter. If you have your own laptop, smart phone or Ipad, get the separate WiFi password from the receptionist as well. Speed is good, and no lag. But of course, no Facebook =P but Skype speed was fine.

Stay if you are not a fussy traveller and just plan to sleep for the night (and if you are fine with non-cloudlike mattresses).

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank merismer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

I last stayed at this hotel in December 2007. If the reviews I read here are to be believed, it must have gone downhill since then. I had no problems. The room was perfectly adequate, with a fridge. I didn't notice any dirt or mold. There was a public room with free Internet access.
At least two or three of the clerks at the desk spoke English reasonably well. The breakfast was fine with me --- I'm not a breakfast man anyway. When I complained about the pop music they were piping in, why next day they put on Chopin! How many hotels will do that for you?
I also had dinner once. The food was good, although the dining room was rather chilly and I was the only guest! The location can't be beat. So, should I go to Shanghai again, I would give this hotel another try.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CotedesNeiges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

This place is a dump. The bathroom was the worst I'd ever experienced. The sink wasn't bad the shower was. The carpets are old, dirty and stained. It made me not want to take my socks off. Service was terrible on arrival, check in took 30 mins and I was the only person checking in and the person helping me could care less, the checkout was much smoother. People talk about the value you get for the cheap price but I stayed at a Holiday inn express in Shanghai for only a few USD more.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Al E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Xujiahui
Asset Hotel Shanghai
Asset Hotel Shanghai
#339 of 4,940 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
People’s Square
Charms Hotel
Charms Hotel
#359 of 4,940 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
The Bund
Shijia Hotel
Shijia Hotel
#2,383 of 4,940 in Shanghai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Manhattan Jinling Hotel
Manhattan Jinling Hotel
#218 of 4,940 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
The Bund
Elegance Bund Hotel Shanghai Guangdong Road
Elegance Bund Hotel Shanghai Gua...
#1,610 of 4,940 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
People’s Square
24K International Hotel Shanghai Nanjing East Road Pedestrian
24K International Hotel Shanghai...
#2,432 of 4,940 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnificent International Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnificent International Plaza Hotel

Property: Magnificent International Plaza Hotel
Address: No.381 Xizang South Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200021, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,404 of 4,940 Hotels in Shanghai
Price range (per night): $52 - $109
Hotel Class:3 star — Magnificent International Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 185
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia APAC, HostelWorld and Ctrip TA so you can book your Magnificent International Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnificent International Plaza Shanghai
Hotel Magnificent International Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing