We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Been here, done that, I'm ready to stay somewhere else in Shanghai”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Shanghai Pudong
Ranked #45 of 5,161 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 January 2012

I have stayed here several times. Previously I've been upgraded to a nice big room on an upper floor. This time I got a well-appointed but small room with twin beds, with a higher room rate than before. I asked to change to a king room, and did, but got an even smaller room by the elevator. In the restaurant, the dinner and breakfast buffets are edible, but many items sit out too long and get stale or cold and the food preparation quality is declining. Cigarette smoke drifts into the non smoking area. Cough. The pre-formed breakfast fake-bacon is just plain scary. There is a lot of traffic noise and every time you go outside, prostitutes and pimps are pestering you (if you are male). The bar is always deserted and is a waste of space. On the plus side, there is a convenience store and some shopping within sight of the hotel (huge electronics market.) The staff is friendly, efficient and helpful. There are endless hotel options in Pudong area and I will try something else next time.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob591977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mirandali, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Pudong, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2012

Dear Sir,



Thank you very much for taking your time to share your most recent experience with us, and it’s very unfortunate to hear about that your most recent stay didn’t live up to your expectations.



We are more than happy to upgrade our returning guests to higher room categories based on availability during that period in time. Our chefs are always available during the operational hours of buffet to ensure the culinary experience is both various and fresh. The comments that you have highlighted are disappointing to hear and we have already reviewed your comments with the respective managers to ensure that these matters promptly addressed.



I am glad to hear you like our staff and you are always welcome to come back and experience our renowned InterContinental service and products.



It would be a pleasure to discuss this in further detail if you have time to do so. My contact address is Miranda.Li@ihg.com and please do feel free to contact me at anytime.



Once again, thank you for your comments as that are truly valued and we do hope that you will once again patron our hotel in the not too distant future.





Best regards,



Miranda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

511 - 515 of 1,218 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2011

I have spend very fantastic Xmas in Intercontinental Shanghai Pudong
Dinner buffet was so great and performance was super.
everytime back just back home and always have the happy time here.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2011

we came back here for the deal with friend reunion.suprisingly found the same lady in receiptant recognize us, it's been half year since our last time stayed.
The same satisfied experience as expected especially the bedroom.I am alert to feather pillow and they offer the optional pillow even before I asked.
Recommand the Expresso in cafe, taste list hand made.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoralDa_Lian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Stayed here in November with Family in November for two days. Very impressed with the front desk staff and loaction of the Hotel.

Rooms are a bit old in places, but the staff more than make up for this..

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwiawayMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2011

Star hotel with excellent service. All the hotel staff since restaurant to bedroom are professional, friendly and work with high quality and efficiency. Our company held a seminar here, which received great evaluation from our participants. What worth mentioning is the bedroom, the bed of which is so comfortable that our staff really had good night.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yu L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Shanghai Railway Station
InterContinental Shanghai Puxi
InterContinental Shanghai Puxi
#33 of 5,161 in Shanghai
831 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao
Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao
#94 of 5,161 in Shanghai
778 reviews
Courtyard Shanghai-Pudong
#40 of 5,161 in Shanghai
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Lujiazui
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
#35 of 5,161 in Shanghai
2,449 reviews
World Expo
InterContinental Shanghai Expo
InterContinental Shanghai Expo
#37 of 5,161 in Shanghai
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Shanghai

Been to InterContinental Shanghai Pudong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Shanghai Pudong

Address: No.777 Zhangyang Road, Pudong District | Plaza 96, Century Avenue, Times Square, Next Age Department Store, Shanghai 200120, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#45 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#50 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#51 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#53 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#91 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $153 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Shanghai Pudong 4.5*
Number of rooms: 418
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Shanghai Pudong is located in the heart of Pudong’s Lujiazui Finance and Trade Zone, It is within a five-minute walk to Century Avenue station(line 2,4,6 and 9) and Fuxing tunnel is at our doorstep which allows you to reach Puxi Xintiandi within 10 minutes by taxi. Next Age and 96 Plaza are just next door. Oriental Pearl Tower, Shanghai Aquarium, Century Park and IFC Mall are two kilometers away. With 418 stylish rooms, over 2,850 square meters of meeting facilities, two restaurants and a bar, as well as a chic club lounge, the hotel offers both business and leisure travelers various chances to discover the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, Ctrip TA, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, Expedia APAC, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your InterContinental Shanghai Pudong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Shanghai Pudong Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing