We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“great hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairmont Peace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Ranked #6 of 4,671 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

What a hotel, the experience of this refurbished hotel built in the 1920's is nothing but breath taking.
When in Shanghai stay here it is worth more than 5 stars.
The Cathay room for dinner is also 5 star.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nefer14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,751 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,403
    276
    46
    17
    9
See reviews for
305
541
114
423
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
104 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

I spent three nights at the Peace Hotel at the end of March. The hotel has been carefully and thoughtfully restored, and one can tell that in every hallway, stair, elevator, corridor, room, etc. It is a magnificent property, a totally icon of Shanghai, that Fairmont knew how to regain its old splendour. I stayed in a Fairmont Gold Room, and I must say that the experience was quite amazing. The room is delightfuly decorated with so many luxury details, incredible bed and linens, and overwhellming huge bathroom completely tiled in marble. The Fairmont Gold Lounge is the perfect place to be spoiled with the afternoon and happy hour services, a really nice spot to relax and enjoy the fairmont style. The Spa is a must see place, the treatment rooms and the swimingpool are spotless, and the therapist do their best to recover guest's energy. This hotel deserves number one on the list for years to come, and you deserve to experience the classic refined shanghai's glamour!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darnok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012 via mobile

Fantastic value, beautifully restored. The jazz bar is a must, obviously more popular than ever as tickets now required when none needed in the past. The newly opened Cin Cin bar is very opulent and reclusive.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Baoshaoshan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrollton, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

Flashy, new, gleaming high-rise hotels are great. And, there certainly is no shortage of modernity in the booming city of Shanghai. But, nothing compares to the elegance of an historic property that has been fully restored and brought back to its glory. The Peace Hotel, Shanghai’s legendary hotel address since 1929, is a cherished city landmark that was revived in 2010 by a team of top designers, architects, historians and management experts.

After a three-year restoration process, the Fairmont Peace Hotel was complete. During the restoration, the hotel underwent a detailed structural study to define and reinstate the original floor plan and design schematics.

Entering the hotel through one of four vintage revolving doors, guests immediately feel a sense of the style and sophistication of its 1930s heyday. Ornately carved original moldings throughout the hotel are another reminder of past glory.

Just off the lobby, the ground floor has been restored to its original function as a Retail Arcade featuring luxury brand flagships across custom-patterned stone mosaic floors. Guests can experience the same arcade interior planning and grand-scale lobby that guests did when the original hotel opened in 1929.

Fairmont has combined 1930s period flourishes along with contemporary comforts and cutting-edge technology in guest rooms. Luxury materials of the day, such as grey-vein marble, Noir St. Laurent dark limestone and walnut burl grain woods, adorn the interior surfaces. A soft buff and blue color palette, ornately coffered ceilings, polished copper balustrades and Lalique glass fixtures can be found throughout.

Vintage furnishings conceal state-of-the-art in-room technology, like a 37-inch plasma TV, Blu-ray DVD player and wireless and Broadband Internet with ‘plug-and-play’ connectivity. Marble clad bathrooms feature double vanities, a bath-side LCD screen and rainforest shower.

We enjoyed the benefits of the Concierge Lounge during our stay and highly recommend it as a good value for the evening cocktails and quaint breakfast service.

If you are looking for typical Fairmont 5-star quality in the heart of Shanghai, you will not go wrong with the Peace Hotel.

Our complete review is available at: http://www.cruisereport.com/crBlogDetail.aspx?id=1396

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bocas del Toro, Panama
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

We stayed 6 nights at this Grand Dame on the Executive Floor. What a haven in this now futuristic looking city! The history of this storied Palace is what drew me to this hotel. Being a Fairmont property, I expected a nice experience here, but the staff of this hotel elevated a simple hotel stay to a Magical Experience. Every time we stepped into this historical, perfectly restored property, we were transported back to a time when only the affluent would travel to this exotic Chinese port. But now, this beautiful art deco masterpiece can be enjoyed by most travelers. The entire hotel exudes fine taste. The restoration of the old Palace to it's former glory, which is explained in detail in the historical museum, should not be missed.

Every day, high tea was served in the Executive Lounge. We were treated like very special guests. The staff always greeted us with a smile and called us by name. After the first day, they knew exactly what we wanted not only at tea time, but at breakfast and cocktail hour too. This was also included in our room rate. We had free wireless internet. We watched the Super Bowl on their 60 inch wide screen TVs tastefully incorporated into the Executive Lounge. We just can't say enough about how special we were made to feel at this beautiful hotel.

The setting right on The Bund could not have been more convenient. The view across the river to all the fabulous, futuristic looking skyscrapers was perfect, night or day. Our meal in the restaurant was delicious and affordable.

I was first in Shanghai back in 1989, when none of the Bund river-walk or the entire district on the other side of the river even existed. Shanghai has certainly changed. It has all of the old world charm together with the most impressive architecture existing in the world today.

I highly recommend staying at the Fairmont Peace Hotel. It was nice back in 1989, but the current restoration makes it a truly Peaceful Oasis after spending the day out in the hectic city.

Room Tip: Stay on the Executive Floors and ask for a river view. You will get perks that exceed the cost of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drritarae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
The Bund
The Peninsula Shanghai
The Peninsula Shanghai
#8 of 4,671 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
Xintiandi
The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Peace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Peace Hotel

Property: Fairmont Peace Hotel
Address: 20 Nanjing Road East, Shanghai 200002, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#5 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#6 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#6 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#6 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#170 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price range (per night): $316 - $576
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Peace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shanghai's legendary landmark since 1929, the Fairmont Peace Hotel, overlooking Shanghai's Huangpu River and the world famous Bund, boasts a history that overshadows that of any other hotel in the Far East. With its origins dating back more than a century, this beloved landmark served as a glamorous playground for the elite of Shanghai, where every night was an extravagant gala event and veritable Parisian fashion show. After our three year meticulous restoration, the romantic history and social significance which made the Fairmont Peace Hotel a Shanghai legend has returned with its timeless grandeur - and a new and contemporary spirit. Each guestroom and suite has been luxuriously decorated with opulent furnishings and modern amenities - providing the guest with an experience that is both indulgent and exquisite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Agoda, Wotif.com, Ctrip TA and Odigeo so you can book your Fairmont Peace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peace Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing