We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Jin Jiang Hotel
Nearby Hotels
USD 178
USD 109
NewWorldHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 102
USD 84
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 171
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 235
USD 152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 124
USD 106
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 149
USD 122
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 252
USD 138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 187
USD 156
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 276
USD 264
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi(Shanghai)
USD 267
USD 232
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (745)
Filter reviews
745 results
Traveller rating
241
354
102
32
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
241
354
102
32
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscathay gardengrosvenor housefrench concessionrichard nixonhotel complexshanghai moonjinjiang hotelfrench districtclassic hotelbreakfast buffetchinese hotelschinese foodchina tourstayed here for two nightsexcellent locationspacious roomcomfortable hotel
Filter
Updating list...
196 - 201 of 745 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2012

This hotel was prebooked as a part of a roundtrip. I really liked my beautiful room. It was also a quit room. Only some noise of the elevators.

My room was 469 on the 4th floor (Cathay Building). The hotel has 3 different buildings. A little bit difficult the first time.

Pro
+ Great room (nearly perfect for me)
+ Good bathroom with walk-in shower.
+ Quit room (only some noise from the elevators)
+ Really good breakfast (very good bread and pain au chocolat) I also liked the cheese sausage. Breakfast service was friendly.
+ Normal TV (no LCD) with some English TV channel.

+/- Location (I would had prefer a location nearer to the bund. Ok, taxis are cheap, but sometimes you don’t want a taxi. The location is not bad. For me a safe area, even at night. Some restaurants are near the hotel. )

Cons
- 90 RMB a day for Wi-Fi (Ok, I also had a hotel that charge 120 RMB a day. But this is still too expensive)

It’s a really good hotel. One of the best on my roundtrip in China. Maybe the best. I really enjoyed my stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LTobias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Loved our 2 night stay this past April. Quiet setting. Buffet breakfast was excellent. Room was spacious and clean except for the carpet which badly needed a shampoo.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UtahPeeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

This is a wonderful hotel just outside the French Concession, walking distance to there and to Huaihai Lu (Road), actually the best shopping street in Shanghai..

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaiWeiShi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

I travel to shanghai 3-4 times each year, Jinjiang is my favorite hotel. For authentic Shanghai experience, you are not going to find a better one.
This is one of the best located hotels in shanghai, probably the best. It is at the center of shanghai puxi, right next to 淮海 road, the Shanghai version of 5th avenue. The address is as prestigious as The Bund, but much less spoiled by tourists. You can explore the best of Shanghai by foot from this hotel.
The hotel consists of a group of buildings and a central garden that is very rare to find in this crowded city. The buildings were built from 20's to 60's of the last century with various of heights but a consistent style. I always stay in south building, the least expensive one. The room is relatively small compare to other two buildings', but is sufficient for myself. It is well furnitured and decorated in the classic shanghai style. The cleanness is very good by local standards. The lobby has a library, which is quite unique among Shanghai hotels. The breakfast provides an extensive selection of Chinese and western food as well as some limited choice of Japanese dishes. Its pastry and cold cut is quite good but, the Chinese food is disappointing.
An noticeable difference from other upscale hotels and restaurants of Shanghai is that instead of young migration workers, majority of jin jiang service staff, from doormen, receptionists, restaurant staff to lobby managers are middle aged shanghai local residents. They inherit service tradition of old shanghai, which combines western professionalism with eastern hospitality. The hotel serves as a state house until very recent and hosted some famous figures from Ronald Reagan to Vladimir Putin. It is still a state run hotel. But its staff have largely avoided the characters of ignorance and laziness typically found in a state owned business.
There are several expensive restaurants inside the hotel buildings including a Japanese steak house, an Indian one and an excellent Chinese one called Jin-lu (锦庐). Those restaurants do not seem like to be operated by the hotel. The Chinese restaurant Jin-Lu is particularly worth to recommend. It locates at a corner of the north building (do not confuse it with another Chinese restaurant inside of the compound). It servers modern Shanghai food. I rank it as a top Chinese restaurant overall in Shanghai based on its food quality and atmosphere. Unfortunately, like most other Shanghai restaurants, it's service staff are young migration workers who are obviously not professionally trained. This is why I believe the restaurant is independently run from the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Walk_in_snow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

After not having much luck finding 5 star hotels offering many internet discounts, we decided to book this hotel through Chinatours. We paid 2-3 star prices and felt the accomodations in the Cathay gardens was better than we expected. Good location in a great part of town. breakfast buffet included in our rate, offered many food options and varied each morning.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smallgroupsonly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews