We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (962)
Filter reviews
962 results
Traveller rating
426
432
72
23
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
426
432
72
23
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nanjing road great location people's square sister hotel minute walk walking street pedestrian mall people's park comfortable beds buffet breakfast stayed for nights great room speak english chinese food metro station excellent hotel shopping area
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 962 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2018

Our room was really good, large and clean and comfortable. The shower and bathroom were good. Housekeeping did a nice job. The lobby was scented, not by people wearing too much perfume but quite deliberately with a strong scent that was off putting. My observation is that hotels in China see the function of a lobby differently than Westerners do. There is virtually no where to sit (except one small uncomfortable coach) in an enormous lobby. If one of you gets downstairs early, you sort of stand around waiting for your partner. The breakfast offerings were the least successful we had in China. On a bright note, the Peninsula Hotel was about a 17 minute walk away on the Bund.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank saipanlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018

This is our second stay at Central Hotel Shanghai and we were not disappointed! Our room was readily available, large and clean, although the decor is a little dated. The space and layout more than made up for the slightly dated decor though. We had a fantastic view out over the Pedestrian Mall, watching the early morning locals doing their exercises there before the hustle and bustle of the business day started. Breakfast at the buffet was lovely and more than adequate. The staff at the Concierge Desk deserve a special mention as they went above and beyond chasing up our transfer to the cruise terminal when our driver was a little late arriving. All in all, we would definitely recommend the Central Hotel, very conveniently located for all Shanghai attractions, in a large comfortable room with all amenities that you need for a terrific stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a view over the pedestrian mall and up high if possible
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rebecca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018

Clean, modern and central with a decent bed and good air conditioning as we were there in July. Breakfast is well worth the extra, so I'd include it if you have that option. Front staff were helpful and friendly and their english was not to bad either. Easy walking distance to Nanjing Road Pedestrian Street which is a safe shared pedestrian and cycle way for all sorts of shopping and food which leads up to the river, which is well worth the look. I'd stay there again.

Stayed: July 2018
Thank montykirkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018

While the decor looks outdated, the hotel room was spacious and sooooo comfortable. I was especially happy with the size of the bathroom (definitely good for a vain woman). The hotel is conveniently located - minutes from the Nanjing East Road subway station and walking distance to the Bund. Would love to return when I visit Shanghai again.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank letsseetheworldnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2018

This hotel is in a fabulous location. It is adjacent to a lovely pedestrian mall on Nanjing Road. It is also within walking distance of the Bund. It is also near the Metro. The hotel is clean and well maintained traditional hotel.
As a guest at the hotel you have access to a lovely pool at the hotel across the road. I happily walked over the road in my Hotel robe, through the lobby of the adjacent hotel and to the pool.
It is a popular and busy hotel.
The hotel does not tolerate smoking - which is fantastic. I found that in some of the other Chinese hotels, smoking was tolerated - which is horrible.
I found the staff to be friendly and helpful. The staff also spoke English well - which was much appreciated.
The breakfasts are nice with a huge range of both Chinese and Western options.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank IBenevolentDictatorI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews