We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai
Ranked #22 of 5,035 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Great hotel, good location, would love to be back...
Four seasons will never disappoint ...

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schumpi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FourSeasons_Shanghai, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Thank you very much for your comments and feedback . We are delighted that you have a nice experience at Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai. We look forward to welcoming you back to Shanghai very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    612
    297
    92
    27
    18
See reviews for
92
119
55
445
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

very clean, friendly staff and very good location.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patricia_lpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FourSeasons_Shanghai, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
We are glad that you enjoyed staying with us. We are honored to be part your trip. Sincerely look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

I arrived on a warm December day. The lobby was surprisingly warm, smoky and humid which I didn't appreciate. I'm just not used to having to smell cigarettes any more living in the US. I'd just come from the US and stopped in to the Chinese restaurant off the lobby. It was tasty with impeccable service and few customers but the air was the same. I headed off to Beijing the next day but then returned for several more days of business. Fortunately the weather took a turn colder and the lobby was much more comfortable for the rest of my stay. I had breakfast in the lobby restaurant every day. Service was pretty good although refills on coffee could have been prompter. Food was plentiful and varied. The room was very attractive and unlike my other Chinese hotels it was at ground level and I enjoyed watching the street life as I ate breakfast. Location seemed decent and it was easy enough to get taxis. I did walk around the neighborhood several times and there is a nice mix of old and new China. The bedroom and bathroom were nicely appointed with the typical amenities you would expect from this level hotel. I did find that some of the public areas like the hallways outside my room were showing a bit of wear and tear. Not a lot but some. I didn't end up using the spa or gym. I had trouble VPNing into work for some reason. I haven't had that issue elsewhere. I did have internet access so not sure if it related somehow to hotel network or not. I've stayed at a couple other 5 star hotels on other visits and would visit them again before returning to this one especially with the lobby smoke although I'll still try Four Seasons elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bktw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FourSeasons_Shanghai, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
Dear bktw, thank you for your valuable comments. We naturally are concerned to read your feedback relating to restaurant air environment and service, and apologize for any inconveniences caused. We really appreciate your suggestion on smoking issue. It has got the management attention with action plan implementation. We will also convery your precious feedback to the manager of Cafe Studio. Please come back and see our improvement. Should you have any other questions and concerns, please contact us directly through pr.shg@fourseasons.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Stayed 2 nights in a whirlwind trip to China. A 5-star hotel was our christmas treat to ourselves. Smooth checkin and once we were up in our room, we had a fabulous welcome pot of authentic chinese tea and snacks - which after our flight - was a welcome we thoroughly needed. A very comfortable and big room (love the pillow) with exceptional service.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meg71brisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FourSeasons_Shanghai, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
We are glad that you enjoyed staying with us. We are honored to be part of your trip. Sincerely look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 29 December 2011

The hotel itself is beautiful and in a great location to walk to Westgate Mall, Nanjing Road or The People's Square, among many other Shangai landmarks.

As for dining, the Four Seasons Shanghai - seven days a week - breakfast, lunch and dinner buffets are unparalleled.

It's a shame that U.S. Four Seasons properties don't mimic this property at their lounges and cafes... (note to The Bristol Lounge in Boston, which has gone down hill, and ceased to offer a proper Sunday brunch, save for Christmas, Easter, Thanksgiving and Mother's Day.)

The concierge staff, (Clarke, among others); the Executive Lounge staff (Tiffany and Walter included); and entire staff at the hotel, from the top (GM Peter Weber) down, are worthy of their jobs and make each stay a pleasure beyond words.

Only complaint: the smell of cigarette smoke the room, whenever neighbors are smoking. (ick).

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wildaboutmovies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FourSeasons_Shanghai, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
Thank you very much for your valuable comment! So glad that you enjoyed our concierge, executive club and F&B outlet. We sincerely look forward to your next visit in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
Lujiazui
Four Seasons Shanghai Pudong
Four Seasons Shanghai Pudong
#3 of 5,035 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
Xintiandi
The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jing'an
Jing An Shangri-La, West Shanghai
Jing'an
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
#6 of 5,035 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,418 reviews
The Bund
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai

Property: Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai
Address: 500 Weihai Road, Shanghai 200041, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an , Nanjing West Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#22 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#27 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#32 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#46 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#166 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price range (per night): $235 - $481
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 422
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Expedia APAC, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Shanghai
Four Seasons Shanghai
Shanghai Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing