We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 179
USD 144
CachetHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
USD 259
USD 210
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 180
USD 134
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
USD 103
USD 93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 259
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
USD 176
USD 133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 143
USD 116
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 113
USD 86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 96/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 103
USD 96
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 29/07
USD 145
USD 130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,072)
Filter reviews
1,072 results
Traveller rating
374
521
140
25
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
374
521
140
25
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshoward johnsonnanjing roadgreat locationbusiness suitepedestrian mallpeople's squareminute walkcentral locationwalking distancesuperior roomeasy accesssteam roomthe air conditioninghotel staffstar hotelbreakfast buffetmini bar
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 1,072 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018

I have been in Shanghai several times and this hotel was a mistake. Other then the people in the reception no hardly speaks any English so if you need any kind of assistance, you are on your own. Staff wasn't very nice or tried very hard to show hospitality, In addition the hotel hosts a Chinese restaurant, to make a long story short.. the food wasn't eatable. We tried to return the food or explain but NO ONE spoke English, The kind gentleman (Manager on Duty) was kind enough to tell me he can't do anything as it is not his responsibility, GREAT service.

Rooms:

The rooms are pretty big buy very poorly planned so you end up with very little space and a shower that suites a 3 star hotel.

Room Tip: Book the Marriott, a bit more expensive but much better
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eran H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

Stayed one short of a week and overall it was very satisfactory!

Location does not get any better in Shanghai- across middle of Nanjing east pedestrian road about 3 minutes walk, 10-12 minutes on foot to the Bund, 10 minutes to the People's Square, 5 &10 minutes to two stations for subway route-2, metered taxi is available any time on Jiu Jiang road.

Relatively older hotel, but being maintained in mint condition. Big Lobby, a deli and a bar on either side of the lobby, prompt reception staff- check-in, check-out is quick. Concierge, bellhop helpful. Big lift lobby with 6 elevators in group. Never waited more than a couple of minute for lift during my stay.

Stayed in one of the Suites in executive floors. They also have Club floors- you can check that out too! My suite had a sitting room which also accommodates closet, mini-bar, coffee/tea making arrangement and a smaller TV. The iron-press is handy for business travelers like myself.

The bedroom is spacious with clean and comfortable queen bed, linen, pillows, blanket. They also offer choices of pillow and guests can ask housekeeping about their preference. Air-conditioning in both rooms work good and are low-noise. Overall, a good night's sleep should not be a problem. Have a work table and another TV in this room. Large window with a view of the vibrant Nanjing East road. Housekeeping is reasonably good.

Bathroom is spacious than many other hotels in Shanghai. There is separate shower enclosure and a comparatively large bathtub. Basin with a large dressing counter. Commode flush works pretty good.

Did not take breakfast with room. But again you can have it for RMB115 if want to.

Did not have a chance to use their spa, gym, indoor swimming pool, etc so can't comment. :|

Now a few smaller issues which refrained me from awarding them a perfect score!
1. Housekeeping is very miserly about soap- usually you'll find only one on the basin counter. None for the bathtub and shower enclosure! The first day I asked and they duly supplied me a couple more. But again they never replenish until the last bit of a soap is vanished! Were generous with the other bathroom supplies though :O

2. On the TripAdvisor listing they mention there shall be a in-room safe. Did not find one in my business suite!

3. The mixers in the bathroom are old and inconvenient. Mixer for water tap on bathtub worked alright but same mixture does not work well when I switched to hand shower! It seems hand shower is kinda directly connected to the hot water line. May be it can be attributed to my room alone - room number is 1619 if anyone from management is reading this. Also its about time you replace the faucets!

4. Instead of blocking credit card for room tariff and security deposit like many hotels do; they actually charged my card (about 50% more for the security deposit)! During checkout, they cancelled the earlier charge and debited for the actual bill. My card declined twice and the clerk did not have a clue! That particular card did not have much limit left for the new charging of the actual bill. Since cancelled charge usually need a lead time to be credited to card account, it kept declining. I figured that out and made the payment using another card. They should actually block as per their hotel policy without actually charging the card during check in. Might become problematic in case someone runs out of limit of his card and does not have any backup card either!

The above shortfalls could not deter me from liking this hotel by any means. Shall definitely look forward to future stays.

Room Tip: High floor, Nanjing east view- you can do people watch if bored :P
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank hasska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2018

Stayed for two nights. Nice hotel nice rooms very clean and modern. Good food and drink at reasonable prices. Close to everything including the Bund. Breakfast very good and service excellent. Great city views and well presented rooms.

Stayed: February 2018
Thank Ozmovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2018 via mobile

Howard Johnson Hotel in Shanghai is old brand hotel, near nine Gang Road, facing Nanjing Road, very convenient, room facing the Nanjing Road and the room is very spacious, very convenient.
But this time, the service of the dining Chinese restaurant was poor. No waiter came to serve me. The food was not as good as the last year. I was very disappointed when I visited it. This time I was very disappointed with the service and the quality of food.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank Fanny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2018 via mobile

I stayed for one week in this hotel for business trip. Strongest points of the hotel are central location close to Nanjing road as well as the breakfast service that I enjoyed the most. Rooms are confortable and clean even if not huge. Bathroom with marbles and bathtub looks a bit dated. Room lights control unit it was not easy to use and needs definitely either additional instructions or a device change. All in all is good.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
Thank Luca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews
<