We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel with fantastic location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
Ranked #11 of 5,159 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Stayed there during a business trip. It's an excellent hotel with a very central location. The view from your window is absolutely breathtaking.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LewNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,595)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

984 - 988 of 1,595 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2012

Really can't find fault with the hotel: location is convenient (which is important in a congested city like Shanghai), view from room is impressive, rooms spotless and decent size, breakfast with good selection and gym adequate. Perhaps those who like to dip in the pool may find it rather inconveniently located on the roof of the adjacent building via two lift rides and down a long freezing corridor, only to find a two lane small lap pool under a greenhouse. I guess it was built as an after-thought.

Another issue was the service. It was swift and efficient, delivered with a smile. But when I checked-in and gave them my details, the receptionist asked if I had stayed there before. "Dear, this is like my fourth or fifth stay at the hotel within the last 3 years...." She could hardly hide her embarrassment while I couldn't believe the Marriott system didn't keep track of frequent customer data.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yau Baby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

My friends and I stayed at this wonderful hotel for 2 weeks in 2010 (only now did I finally found the time to write the review) and the stay was just wonderful. The staff in this hotel was very attentive and was always friendly. The best experience was with the concierge staff who took the time to make the calls to restaurants, printed maps, helped with chinese translations of brochures and marketing materials, and just going above and beyond to ensure our stay was pleasant.

the strange part of the hotel were the elevators, they only go up to a certain level and forces you to walk around the building to take another lift to go to higher floors. This is a minor issue but it gets old after a few days of going up and down the building. The hotel is located very close to the busiest shopping areas of shanghai, walkable to the bund and other tourist areas.

The food was good. The morning breakfast was excellent, it had a mix of indian, chinese, american, and continental, and if you do not see items you wish they had just request it and the chef will make it to the best of their abilities! The only issue we had during our stay with the food was a small piece of glass somehow fell into the milk jar and cut my friend's lip during breakfast. Minor issue for me but he took it quite hard.

great hotel and location A++

Room Tip: Always ask for a corner room! The corner room provides a fantastic nigh scene of the city and bathro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jinw4672rx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Great location (near expensive shops if that's important, but very walkable and safe even if you don't want to shop!). Staff was wonderful. We upgraded to the concierge floors and it was worth it since we were there for business. We the concierge lounge, we got great snacks, good advice from the staff, excellent breakfast (Asian and Chinese were both served).

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizm_60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

Above average JW Marriott. Lots of amenities. Very helpful staff.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mahdishams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lujiazui
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
#31 of 5,159 in Shanghai
2,434 reviews
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#36 of 5,159 in Shanghai
2,750 reviews
Xintiandi
The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Shanghai

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square

Address: No.399 Nanjing West Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200003, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#11 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#12 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#13 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#167 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $229 - $576 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square 5*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing at 60 stories high as one of the tallest hotels in downtown Puxi Shanghai, the international deluxe JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai overlooks People's Square and is within walking distance to the Bund, Xintiandi and the characteristic Nanjing Road Pedestrian Street. The well appointed hotel guest rooms and suites are located between the 41st to 59th floors, and offer magnificent city views. The rooms feature a flat-screen cable TV, mini bar, tea and coffee facilities, wired and wireless internet and safe deposit box. Spacious bathrooms are equipped with a separate shower cubical and power massage jets. The Executive Lounge located on the 59th floor provides a commanding city view, serving complimentary breakfast, all-day refreshments and evening cocktails.The hotel's restaurants and lounges are located from the 38th to 40th floor and offer spectacular views of the Shanghai skyline. JW's California Grill on the 40th floor captivates an inventive culinary experience that travels beyond taste. Contemporary, elegant and comfortable, Wan Hao Chinese restaurant on the 39th floor showcases fine traditional Cantonese cuisine and Shanghainese specialties. Marriott Cafe on the 38th floor features the best in international casual dining, serving elaborate buffets throughout the day, as well as an extensive a la carte menu.In addition, the hotel offers a total of 1,512 square metres of meeting and banquet space, a business centre, an executive lounge, a 24-hour health club, including an indoor and outdoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Cancelon so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Hotel Shanghai
Marriott Shanghai
Shanghai Marriott
Jw Marriott Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing