We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ghost Tour - It will make you believe...”

Newman Tours-Day Tour
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 42.42*
and up
Private Shanghai Gangster Tour
Ranked #12 of 116 Tours in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The only company to have won 2015 TripAdvisor Certificates Of Excellence in both Shanghai and Beijing, Newman Tours' native English speaking guides use iPads, and Chinese cultural activities to ensure your tour is informative and memorable. We have more than five years' experience leading historical and interactive tours in Beijing, Hangzhou, Suzhou, Nanjing, Xi'an, Tianjin, and of course Chengdu.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Ghost Tour - It will make you believe...”
Reviewed 5 February 2012

..it is hard to explain, but nice to understand if you take the time to open your imagination.

You know how it is, you live in shanghai for quiet a long time, your best friend is visiting you - what to do? - Besides everything cool in shanghai you wanne do something everybody does, but in a remarkable way. So I read about this ghost tour thing - sounds cool I thought - this must be something different...

And indeed it was. Finding out about secrets behind the curtain of shanghai, getting told some really good stories (your believe will depend on how far you keep your imagination going) We did! And we really enjoyed it. Still hard to discribe, but easy to enjoy and let yourself go, forget about stress at work.

Not only for ghost fans. More and more for people who like to exlplore shanghai on a different way.

We highly appreciated this kind of new experience.
Thanks to Daniel and his Team

Cheers Mawen

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Mawen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    333
    26
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Superb Tour! learned a lot and took in the history and sights of a great city.”
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Newman tours did a terrific job for a tour I arranged with some friends. They make it their point to be sociable and very knowledgeable of the sights and places encountered on their tours. We did the French Concession and the ghost tours, and loved both of them.
Would definitely do tours with them again on next trip, and their prices were super reasonable and the pace of the tour was perfect way to spend a few hours hoping around the city.

Thanks Newman Tours,

Wayne

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Dru_888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
“Educational and fun for everyone!”
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Newman Tours offers an entertaining twist to conventional tours and I found both the French Concession and Ghost Tours to be thoroughly stimulating. Thanks for the wonderful experience and I look forward to the next tour!

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
Thank JohnM248_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
“An Awesome Introduction To Shanghai”
Reviewed 28 January 2012

The Best of Shanghai Tour I did was one of my favourite China experiences. In just four hours I was taken round a beautiful ancient Chinese garden, the old Fench area and the Bund, and given real insight and understanding of how the city developed. My guide was personable and really knew his stuff, so I would definitely recommend this experience as a great way of really getting to better understand China.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank CounterfeitCabbage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A friendly, entertaining, highly informative introduction to China and Shang Hai”
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Newman Tours are good value and good fun - Shanghai is full of fascinating places, and it makes such a difference when you know something of the history and culture of what you are visiting. Newman Tours aren't the usual man with microhone and umbrella held high - they are small groups, and the Newman Tours person walks with you, giving you a fascinating commentary on the museum or building or very Chinese activity you might be looking at. Mr Newman himself was with us on one tour - a mine of fascinating information and humourous stories. We were in Shanghai for about one week, and went on four tours - wonderful!

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank RichardW110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Newman Tours-Day Tour also viewed

Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Newman Tours-Day Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing