We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Executive lounge is particularly good” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel
Ranked #73 of 4,566 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Executive lounge is particularly good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

Good solid hotel in great location. Great executive lounge - chap running that takes it really seriously (never really seen that before) and makes you feel so welcome every time you come in and even facilitates a bit if informal networking amongst guests (but not in a way that is at all intrusive). Amazing bloke - worth going just for that, really (if you get the chance to upgrade, then it's so worth it). This stuff matters when you're travelling on business, which is why I'm writing this review.

Room Tip: Get into the executive lounge (see above). And get a Bund view if you can - amazing to wake up and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caloobrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton_Hongkou, Manager at Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2012
Dear Caloobrus,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a comment on tripadvisor and as well many thanks for your kind words regarding the lounge and myself!

Please contact me whenever you plan to visit us again since I would like to take care of your room allocation personally.

Kind regards

Nitin Abbi
Guest Relations Manager & Sheraton Club Lounge Manager
nitin.abbi@sheraton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    432
    234
    65
    21
    15
See reviews for
88
120
59
322
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kailua, Hawaii
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

Very large bathroom, spacious room. super comfortable bed. Breakfast in the club lounge was excellent. Great views of the city. Very convenient to the popular sightseeing spots. Concierge very helpful. My only complaint is the lighting over the sink is terrible. Taxis are cheap, but if you want to go metro it is right across the street.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dorothy96734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton_Hongkou, Manager at Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2012
Dear dorothy96734,

Thank you for your valuable comments and it is great to see that you had a wonderful stay.

Please contact me whenever you plan to visit us again!

Kind regards

Nitin Abbi
Guest Relations Manager & Sheraton Club Lounge Manager
nitin.abbi@sheraton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Decatur, Georgia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

My room at this hotel was first-rate! In fact, the room and service was outstanding. I also had an excellent meal at the Japanese restaurant on the top floor.

The location is OK. Shanghai is an extraordinarily large city and, given that fact, this is pretty central. There is no walkable night life in the area, however. The subway is just across the street with easy access to the Bund and French Concession areas.
You won't need to work out in the gym if you are eating breakfast at the hotel. The buffet selection is nice, but the food areas are spread out all over an entire floor of the hotel. It is such a hike between the eggs and breads and cereals that you can guarantee that the eggs will get cold before you get back to your table. Pity that such an obvious problem is overlooked.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidATL45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton_Hongkou, Manager at Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2012
Dear DavidATL45,

Thank you for your valuable comments and I have passed them to the related department heads who will look into this matter immediately.

It is good to see that you had an overall good stay.

Please do contact me whenever you plan to visit us again so that I could personally take care of your well being.

Kind regards

Nitin Abbi
Guest Relations Manager & Sheraton Club Lounge Manager
nitin.abbi@sheraton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

A high standard Sheraton hotel. At first sight, maybe not so near the tourist attractions, but actually yes. "Near in the sense of" : Metro/Subway just across the street (with two Metro-lines),
taxi very inexpensive and last, but not least, several areas just 100 meters/yards on either side of the hotel with genuine Chinese local residencies, including hundreds of small stores, street markets etc.
A full size Swimming Pool with Gym room - perfect to relax.
Don't bother using Metro/Maglev train to & from Pudong Airport/PVG. Taxi ride aprox 180 Yuan each way.
The Maglev/Magnetic train require two additional Metro lines to reach the Sheraton, unless one take the very long Metro (change to another line) all the way from Main International Airport - Pudong/PVG.
But do take the Maglev/Magnetic train as a Sigthseeing tour (80 Yuan round trip) with the fantastic speed of 430 km/h. Make sure you go 0900-1045 or 1500-1645 to hit the 430 km/h.
Other times the Maglev "only" travels 300 km/h...

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scandinavian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton_Hongkou, Manager at Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2012
Dear Scandinavian,

Thank you for your comment and it was really a pleasure to have met your wife and you in our club lounge.

Looking forward to welcome you back at our hotel.

Kind regards

Nitin Abbi
Guest Relations Manager & Sheraton Club Lounge Manager
nitin.abbi@sheraton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

I had an early flight to Shanghai and was at the hotel at 9.30am expecting to just drop my bags off and then head out while I waited for the normal checkin time. To my surprise they checked me straight in - I took advantage of the offer of upgrading to a club room which had free use of the club lounge (breakfast, evening meal, drinks\wine and wifi included). This proved to excellent - all the food was wonderfully cooked and a different choice each day and a great place to relax after the hussle and bussle of Shanghai during the day. The room was large by UK standards with a walk in wet room for the shower and bath. Hotel was very clean and staff were very helpful and polite. I would recommend this hotel to anyone going to Shanghai as it is across the street from a metro station so very easy to get to. Only drawback is that there is no nightlife in the hotel area but with the metro being so easy to use that didn't prove to be a problem.

Room Tip: Outside the hotel, across Siping Road, turn right and then left (1min from hotel) is a small shop li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wwwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton_Hongkou, Manager at Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2012
Dear wwwales,

Thank you for taking the time to write a comment and it is good to see that you had a great experience at our club lounge. Recently we have upgraded the service and facilities (i.e. massage chair and selection of food etc..).

Please do not hesitate to contact me whenever you plan to visit us again.

Kind regards

Nitin Abbi
Guest Relations Manager & Sheraton Club Lounge Manager
nitin.abbi@sheraton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Sheraton Shanghai Hongqiao Hotel
Sheraton Shanghai Hongqiao Hotel
#104 of 4,566 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
Waigaoqiao
Sheraton Shanghai Waigaoqiao Hotel
World Expo
Sheraton Grand Shanghai Pudong Hotel & Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shanghai Railway Station
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
Jinqiao
Shanghai Marriott Hotel Pudong East
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel

Property: Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel
Address: No.59 Siping Road, Shanghai 200086, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Hongkou , Sichuan North Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 4,566 Hotels in Shanghai
Price range (per night): $160 - $338
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 471
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel.Our local neighborhood has it all. Our hotel is close to the Bund, considered the city’s symbol since the 1920s, and the People’s Square. We are also near the Nanjing Road, Lujiazui, and Huaihai Zhong Road central business districts, as well as the North Sichuan Road shopping area and historic Duolun Road.Enjoy your stay in one of our 471 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites, featuring river, city, and Bund skyline views. Relax completely in our famous Sheraton Sweet Sleeper™ Bed, with a pillow-top mattress, cozy duvet, and goose down blanket. Our hotel’s unique outdoor garden and riverside setting make it the perfect place to get away from the fast pace of Shanghai.Complimentary wireless High Speed Internet Access is now available in all of the hotel’s public areas and guest rooms to meet the needs of business and leisure travelers alike. When you need a retreat from fast-paced city life, we have many options. Indulge yourself with a treatment at the Shine Spa. Sheraton Fitness Programmed by Core® Performance features state-of-the-art cardio and strength-training equipment, and our 30-meter swimming pool is illuminated by natural light through the ceiling.We offer a variety of event facilities that are ideal for weddings, dinners, product launches, and meetings. Our dedicated professionals are ready to assist you with any requirements or requests.Let the Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel be your home base when visiting Shanghai, one of Asia’s most vibrant cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Starwood APAC, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing