We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excellent hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel
Ranked #74 of 4,998 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario. Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“An excellent hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

This is a modern, high quality hotel. The room was spacious, and very well appointed. The front desk was most courteous, and had good English. They provided a useful card in English & Chinese with the hotel address & phone number - this is so useful in event of getting lost, and I would have appreciated it from other hotels in China! It even had a list of possible destinations & a small neighbourhood map. The breakfast buffet was almost too long to get around - it had Western and Chinese food. The hotel is well located close to the city centre and just across from a subway station.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisOntario.Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton_Hongkou, Manager at Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Dear ChrisOntario.Canada,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on tripadvisor.com. Our rooms are spacious and the modern design definitely gives the room a special touch.

Please contact me whenever you plan to visit us again, so that I could personally take care of your room allocation.

Kind regards

Nitin Abbi

Guest Service Manager
Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou
nitin.abbi@sheraton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    447
    246
    67
    21
    16
See reviews for
89
123
63
340
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surabaya, Jawa Timur, Indonesia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Big thanks to sheraton hongkou team. Excellent service. Thanks to the small dutch guy in the restaurant who have given me outstanding service. Other staff very polite and friendly. A great escape from my hectic life. I felt so welcome here. Fabulous fabulous will definitely come again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton_Hongkou, Manager at Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Dear Richard K,

Thank you for sharing your experiences during your recent stay at our property. It is really good to see that you had a wonderful stay and that we were able to go the extra mile.

Please contact me whenever you plan to visit us again.

Kind regards

Nitin Abbi

Guest Service Manager
Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel
nitin.abbi@sheraton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Never having been to China before, this was a wonderful first experience. The hotel itself was very good. I felt very welcome there and there service was great, I had a lovely stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mai b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton_Hongkou, Manager at Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Dear mai b,

Thank you for the comment and we all are glad that we were able to impress you.

Please contact me whenever you plan to visit us again.

Kind regards

Nitin Abbi

Guest Service Manager
Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel
nitin.abbi@sheraton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cebu City
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

Our group of four including my wife and my brother in law and his wife, had a great time in Shanghai. We were warmly welcomed by the office manager, Raymond Xu. We had a great room overlooking the river and the city. The windows open up to a spectacular view where you can see several people doing tai-chi early in the morning amid the runs of the subway trains nearby. The concierge comes up to you everytime you walk up to the lobby and asks if there is anything they can do for you. They are very helpful especially if you want to find an address or just a place to shop. The breakfast menu, though needs to be improved. The bed is cozy and makes me want to stay longer in bed. When I go back to Shanghai, I will definitely go back to Sheraton Hongkou.

Room Tip: We had a corner premium room on the 15th floor. Its got a very nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JunOfCebuPhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton_Hongkou, Manager at Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Dear JunOfCebuPhl,

Thank you for your review and I have passed your great comments to Raymond as well! Raymond is well known for going the extra mile and he is really setting an example for others.

Please let me know whenever you plan to visit us again.

Kind regards

Nitin Abbi

Guest Service Manager
Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel
nitin.abbi@sheraton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

In connection with a group touring several cities in China my wife and I recently had an enjoyable four night stay at the Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou. The hotel can be considered luxurious, possessing typical high quality amenities one might expect of many Sheraton properties.

Included with our reservation was an extensive daily buffet breakfast offering both Western and Chinese fare. The large guest room was equipped with a flat paneled HD screen offering numerous foreign language stations. The English language channels included CNN Int’l, BBC, HBO, ESPN to list just a few. A separate bath area provided privacy as desired.

A well equipped gym area, large size pool and jacuzzi are located in the basement level. The lobby area includes a section with several computer stations allowing for complimentary internet access. A conveniently located subway station is across the street from the hotel entrance and has inter-connecting stops for two of Shanghai’s current eleven lines. This gave us inexpensive access to just about all city neighborhoods a visitor may wish to reach both within and outside Shanghai city limits – including the two international airports. As others have noted we also received much appreciated hotel services extended by the personable Mr. Nitin Abbi, hotel Guest Service Manager. The friendly hotel staff was accommodating and happily assisted us with any questions.

Thank you to those on the staff who personally helped make our stay in Shanghai a memorable one.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton_Hongkou, Manager at Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Dear M B,

Thank you for your detailed review on tripadvisor.com. It is good to see that you had a wonderful stay and please be so kind and contact me whenever you plan to visit us again.

Kind regards

Nitin Abbi

Guest Service Manager
Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel
nitin.abbi@sheraton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Waigaoqiao
Sheraton Shanghai Waigaoqiao Hotel
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Hongqiao Jin Jiang Hotel
Hongqiao Jin Jiang Hotel
#108 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#37 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
World Expo
Sheraton Grand Shanghai Pudong Hotel & Residences
Shanghai Railway Station
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel

Property: Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel
Address: No.59 Siping Road, Shanghai 200086, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Hongkou , Sichuan North Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 4,998 Hotels in Shanghai
Price range (per night): $162 - $305
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 471
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel.Our local neighborhood has it all. Our hotel is close to the Bund, considered the city’s symbol since the 1920s, and the People’s Square. We are also near the Nanjing Road, Lujiazui, and Huaihai Zhong Road central business districts, as well as the North Sichuan Road shopping area and historic Duolun Road.Enjoy your stay in one of our 471 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites, featuring river, city, and Bund skyline views. Relax completely in our famous Sheraton Sweet Sleeper™ Bed, with a pillow-top mattress, cozy duvet, and goose down blanket. Our hotel’s unique outdoor garden and riverside setting make it the perfect place to get away from the fast pace of Shanghai.Complimentary wireless High Speed Internet Access is now available in all of the hotel’s public areas and guest rooms to meet the needs of business and leisure travelers alike. When you need a retreat from fast-paced city life, we have many options. Indulge yourself with a treatment at the Shine Spa. Sheraton Fitness Programmed by Core® Performance features state-of-the-art cardio and strength-training equipment, and our 30-meter swimming pool is illuminated by natural light through the ceiling.We offer a variety of event facilities that are ideal for weddings, dinners, product launches, and meetings. Our dedicated professionals are ready to assist you with any requirements or requests.Let the Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel be your home base when visiting Shanghai, one of Asia’s most vibrant cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, Agoda, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing